Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 2528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1858)

4 Star

(445)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

An Intriguing Read

I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended ...
I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended to me. Immediately I picked up the book and began to read. Sure enough, this book was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. After reading this book, I gleaned that Picoult is a fascinating writer, and this was definitely no banal story. If you are in search of a brilliantly written novel with a very interesting story line, then I would definitely recommend My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
My Sister¿s Keeper is the story of a thirteen-year-old girl, Anna Fitzgerald, who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister, Kate, who has leukemia. Anna has been a donor for Kate her entire life, and this story revolves around her sudden opposition and dilemmas regarding this situation. The reader is immediately enthralled to the plot the moment Anna makes an astonishing decision in one of the beginning chapters, which the rest of the story revolves around. My Sister¿s Keeper is also the story of family life and revolves around the family¿s struggle to maintain their love and support for each other. It describes how no family is perfect, and forces you to love the Fitzgerald family and feel their pain through their many hardships. It was very difficult for me to put the book down and stop reading because I was so anxious to discover the ending result of this predicament that takes place throughout the entire novel. I was shocked by the unwonted resolution, however was very satisfied. I believe this is an ideal ending because the reader cannot even predict how the story will conclude, and it is a summation to all of the present conflicts. Picoult does an excellent job at writing this end result.
The author of My Sister¿s Keeper, Jodi Picoult has a very unique and compelling writing style that gets readers hooked to her books instantaneously. Her use of description is extremely skillful, and I felt as if I were present in the plot of the story. A component of her writing that I liked was her use of numerous flashbacks. I enjoyed reading them when they appeared because it helps the reader to understand the current situation or feeling she is writing about. They were often very interesting to read, and they gave me great insight to future events in the book. Another characteristic that I am pleased by is the fact that each chapter in the novel is told by a different significant character. I value this because it is interesting to see each person¿s perspective and feelings on a certain event or circumstance. By doing this, Picoult also creates a sense of unbiased feeling. It restricts the reader from having an unfair opinion about a specific character, and allows them to create their own opinions about each character.
If you enjoy reading novels about everyday life and the complications that arise in it, then I would recommend My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Especially if you enjoy an intriguing storyline that is exceptionally well written, be sure to pick up a copy of this book. Picoult is an exceptionally fascinating writer, and after reading this masmasterpiece I will be sure to read one her other novels in the near future. It is a book of emotion, attachment, and suffering that keeps the reader interested for the entire story.

posted by 452157 on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or dama...
I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2532 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 127
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    An Intriguing Read

    I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended to me. Immediately I picked up the book and began to read. Sure enough, this book was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. After reading this book, I gleaned that Picoult is a fascinating writer, and this was definitely no banal story. If you are in search of a brilliantly written novel with a very interesting story line, then I would definitely recommend My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. <BR/> My Sister¿s Keeper is the story of a thirteen-year-old girl, Anna Fitzgerald, who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister, Kate, who has leukemia. Anna has been a donor for Kate her entire life, and this story revolves around her sudden opposition and dilemmas regarding this situation. The reader is immediately enthralled to the plot the moment Anna makes an astonishing decision in one of the beginning chapters, which the rest of the story revolves around. My Sister¿s Keeper is also the story of family life and revolves around the family¿s struggle to maintain their love and support for each other. It describes how no family is perfect, and forces you to love the Fitzgerald family and feel their pain through their many hardships. It was very difficult for me to put the book down and stop reading because I was so anxious to discover the ending result of this predicament that takes place throughout the entire novel. I was shocked by the unwonted resolution, however was very satisfied. I believe this is an ideal ending because the reader cannot even predict how the story will conclude, and it is a summation to all of the present conflicts. Picoult does an excellent job at writing this end result.<BR/> The author of My Sister¿s Keeper, Jodi Picoult has a very unique and compelling writing style that gets readers hooked to her books instantaneously. Her use of description is extremely skillful, and I felt as if I were present in the plot of the story. A component of her writing that I liked was her use of numerous flashbacks. I enjoyed reading them when they appeared because it helps the reader to understand the current situation or feeling she is writing about. They were often very interesting to read, and they gave me great insight to future events in the book. Another characteristic that I am pleased by is the fact that each chapter in the novel is told by a different significant character. I value this because it is interesting to see each person¿s perspective and feelings on a certain event or circumstance. By doing this, Picoult also creates a sense of unbiased feeling. It restricts the reader from having an unfair opinion about a specific character, and allows them to create their own opinions about each character. <BR/> If you enjoy reading novels about everyday life and the complications that arise in it, then I would recommend My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Especially if you enjoy an intriguing storyline that is exceptionally well written, be sure to pick up a copy of this book. Picoult is an exceptionally fascinating writer, and after reading this masmasterpiece I will be sure to read one her other novels in the near future. It is a book of emotion, attachment, and suffering that keeps the reader interested for the entire story.

    34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Tear Jerker

    Anna Fitzgerald is the thirteen year old protagonist of My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. She was brought into this world for one reason and one reason only. She was conceived to save her older sister Kate, who at age two was diagnosed with acute promyelocytic leukemia. With the help of advanced medical science, Sara and Brian Fitzgerald, Kate¿s parents, had the opportunity to conceive a baby who was an exact donor match for Kate. So began Anna Fitzgerald¿s life of self sacrifice. <BR/>From the time she was born, Anna has been helping her sister Kate. Immediately after birth, her blood was drawn to donate to Kate. There was not time to waste; Kate¿s life was at stake. In the years that followed Anna donated lymphocytes three times, then a bone marrow, and then blood stem cells. She became disheartened with her role in life. Although Kate was her best friend, Anna wanted her parents to love her for who she was. Not because she was saving her sister. When Anna¿s parents tell her she has to donate a kidney to keep Kate alive, she breaks down. She has spent as much time in the hospital as Kate and just wants to be free of obligation. To that end, Anna seeks out the services of a highly driven attorney, Campbell Alexander. His job is to help Anna get medical emancipation from her parents. <BR/>Along with the medical drama, Picoult infuses humor, romance, family troubles and intriguing subplots throughout the novel. This book is tear-jerking, uplifting, emotional, heart-wrenching and an extremely powerful story about the Fitzgerald family. The author clearly illustrates how this family is united by their love for each other, but divided on where the boundaries of family obligations should be. This confession leads to Anna and her father Brian moving out to stay at the fire station where Brian works. They leave their depart home, leaving behind Sara, the overpowering mother, Kate, the dying sister, and Jesse, the helpless older brother. <BR/>Jodi Picoult has an incredible capability of captivating her readers as they struggle to find answers to the moral questions she presents. She presents both sides of the conflict with such compassion and sympathy that your beliefs may change. The authors writing style is creative, as each chapter is narrated by a different character. The reader gets to know each character and understand their point of view in the ongoing struggle. <BR/>When finished with the novel you will realize there are no easy or even right answers. One person can not be judged for what they believe is moral or ethical, or even tenable. Picoult has done an outstanding job of presenting the issue in this novel. She takes this conflicting topic and handles it with an infinite amount of insight to each characters needs. My Sister¿s Keeper examines what it means to be good parents, a good sister and a good person. The novel engages the reader from the first page until the very last. It is a heart-wrenching novel with an unexpected plot twist at the book¿s conclusion. This book is an absolute must read!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    GREAT GREAT GREAT BOOK! READ READ READ IT!

    If you like well length books that will keep you intrigued until the end and is completely awesome, this is your type of book. If you watched the movie YOU WILL ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE BOOK! READ READ READ!!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finished my first book on Nook

    My wife had told me to read this book for a long time because she knows I enjoy multiperspective stories. It was a really good but heartbreaking story. As a parent of two healthy children I know I am very lucky.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written story. Very touching.

    Well written story. Very touching.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was really good... with an exception

    I thought the book was really good. I hated Sara, I thought Brian was a great father, and as mean as it sounds... I really wanted Kate to die. Now, don't think I'm an evil person. It is just that I wanted her to die so Anna could be free, so Sara would notice her other kids, so Jesse would stop doing those bad things, etc. I hated Sara becuse even though she said she loved her kids... she definetly had favorites and her other kids went unnoticed. I admire Brian because he realized what he was doing was wrong and then he changed. That is, he took time with his other kids. The one reason I didn't like this book was because I thought it should have been a little more... I don't know...exciting. There wasn't really much suspense. However, over all I loved the book I finished it in a day... yeah, I liked it that much.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    My sister's keeper, WONDERFUL!

    My Sister's Keeper is a powerful novel about a strong willed thirteen year old filing a lawsuit against her own family. The independent teen, Anna Fitzgerald, has decided to seek legal help when she decides that she no longer wants to be the life support of her sick sister Kate. Providing blood transfusions, injections, and countless surgeries, she decides that she no longer wants to be known only in relation to Kate. Now thirteen, Anna puts her foot down and fights for the right to medical emancipation. Aware the brutal consequences of this act, Anna battles with her mother with her decisions and with finding herself individually along the way. In and out of court, Anna has to deal with the guilt and expectations of her family to save her sisters life. This novel is filled with humor, romance, and tear jerking words when Kate meets a boy with Cancer and falls in love. Throughout a few chapters, Kate is doing well when suddenly the unexpected happens and her dear friend dies from his disease. This goes to show how the author (Jodi Picoult) can really use the element of surprise, and really throw you for a loop; this is one of the books many strengths, you never know what is going to happen next! The book is written from a perspective that I have never read from before. Jodi writes from all the main character's perspectives, to give you the best idea of all that is going on. The writing is not always proper, and I personally found that this made it more interesting when Picoult occasionally used the slang and slander of a common teenager. My Sister's Keeper is the story of a struggling family, which teaches the wonderful lesson of being thankful for all that you have in your life. I personally will take away from this book, that I should always be gracious for health of my family." You can stay up all night and still not count the ways to lose people you love." This is a great book, I strongly would suggest it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Fantastic, Touching-- Potentially too close to home

    JodiÊPicoult has done it again, written a moving novel based on a controversial subject, and done so with grace, sensitivity and aplomb. Touching on many of the issues concerning the genetic conception and the use of cord blood, and it's potential for misuse, this novel reads like a story ripped from the headlines, and then successfully pulls you into the Fitzgerald home, lives and hearts. You too, find your self faced with the dilemas of 'How far is too far.' And then, just when you are sure you have made your decision, the foundation crumbles beneath you. Hard to put down... I highly reccomend, 'My Sister's Keeper.'

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    True sisters

    No movie will compare to the book. Heart warming and heart wrenching all at once.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Amazing

    When I read this book, I felt for the charaters because they were quite belivable and when the end came I cried because it was very unexpected... This book is a must read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent Book

    This book kept me captivated the entire time I was reading it. I never expected the ending....sad ending....

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

    I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    This book > air

    This book had me in tears. It made me cry and cry, laugh,smile, scream so loud people around me thought I was crazy, dance around in public and sob in my pillow for half an hour. This book is the definition of amazing, brilliant, fantastic, and beautiful. The characters touched my heart so much. And the ending. To me. Was perfect. And though it wasnt happy. This book isnt for peoplr who want a "they all lived happily ever after" story. Its for people who want to know real life. What acctualy happens. And how unfair it is. This book was so beautiful. I didnt want it to end. Thank you Judi. You have taught me a lesson. And you are truly perfect. And you have created a flawless story. Thank you. So much.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    So good

    I love Jodi's approach of each chapter being narrated by a different character. And the ending couldn't be better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Interesting, yet disappointing

    This book was enjoyable and had a great topic, but not as well written as Ms. Picoult's other novels. The development of relationships was disappointing, particularly that of Kate and Anna. There was no strong sense of sisterhood. Campbell's attitude toward his personal and mysterious situation was outdated and perpetuating of myth. The book left me with a feeling that it had been published too soon and needed more work to keep it up to the standards of this author's previous novels. However, it is with great anticipation that I look forward to more of Jodi Picoult's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    LOVED IT

    Absolutely well written- there wasn't a moment where I became bored with it at all. I stayed up til 4am just to finish it! I recommended it to all of my friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    My sisters Keeper

    This BOOK was very good and very intersting. It makes you want to keep on reading till you are finished with it. And when you get to the end you are so surpised and so confused on why the little girl went to court.i think this book was absolutely fantastic! The movies ending on the other hand i was very, very, disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I really wasn't sure if I was going to even like this book. This is not usually the type of book that I read. I was surprised once I started reading I that I could not put it down. I finished it in two days. The subject behind the plot was so interesting. I found myself wondering what I would do in a similar situation. I even asked my friends what they would do if it was happening to them. The characters were so involving. I could relate to each and every character, on some level. Jodi Picoult is an amazing writer I would definately read another one of her books. The emotion just seeps off the page. I cried, laughed, and was even angry at one point or another throughout the book. The ending was a complete surprise for me. Just when you think you have everything figured out a new twist reveals itself. A great book for a long weekend because once you start you won't be able to wait to see what happens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    My Sisters Keeper is a very powerful and captivating story for any reader to love.

    The charecters were extremely easy to relate to and I found myself easily involved in the story. Jodi Picoult draws you in and leaves the reader wanting more and more! What amazing story about the joy and love of not only an extraordinary sisterly bond, but also the adaptation that families endure when such a tragedy as cancer is present in one they love! I would recommend this wonderful story to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    This book is a keeper! I loved My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoul

    This book is a keeper! I loved My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult and think it deserves five stars. Thirteen-year-old Anna Fitzgerald is her leukemic sister Kate’s blood and possible-kidney donor.  She is faced with a decision that could leave many people unhappy. Should she donate one of her genetically-matched kidneys to Kate when she doesn’t want to? 
    Sara, Anna’s mother, does everything she can to keep Kate alive, even at the expense of her other children. The author uses multiple perspectives to bring Sara’s motivations to light. Campbell can make you laugh, while you sympathize for the neglected Jesse.
    Ms. Picoult also displayed a deep understanding of leukemia treatment and legal processions. I was pleased with the decision Judge DeSalvo made in Anna’s case. 
    The figurative language is like chocolate chip cookies. Brian and Anna use the most metaphors and symbolisms. 
    The end is shocking, but satisfactory enough to bring closure to the Fitzgerald household. All in all, I recommend this five-star worthy book to you.
    SaumyaCHMS14

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2532 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 127