Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 2528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1858)

4 Star

(445)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

An Intriguing Read

I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended ...
I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended to me. Immediately I picked up the book and began to read. Sure enough, this book was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. After reading this book, I gleaned that Picoult is a fascinating writer, and this was definitely no banal story. If you are in search of a brilliantly written novel with a very interesting story line, then I would definitely recommend My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
My Sister¿s Keeper is the story of a thirteen-year-old girl, Anna Fitzgerald, who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister, Kate, who has leukemia. Anna has been a donor for Kate her entire life, and this story revolves around her sudden opposition and dilemmas regarding this situation. The reader is immediately enthralled to the plot the moment Anna makes an astonishing decision in one of the beginning chapters, which the rest of the story revolves around. My Sister¿s Keeper is also the story of family life and revolves around the family¿s struggle to maintain their love and support for each other. It describes how no family is perfect, and forces you to love the Fitzgerald family and feel their pain through their many hardships. It was very difficult for me to put the book down and stop reading because I was so anxious to discover the ending result of this predicament that takes place throughout the entire novel. I was shocked by the unwonted resolution, however was very satisfied. I believe this is an ideal ending because the reader cannot even predict how the story will conclude, and it is a summation to all of the present conflicts. Picoult does an excellent job at writing this end result.
The author of My Sister¿s Keeper, Jodi Picoult has a very unique and compelling writing style that gets readers hooked to her books instantaneously. Her use of description is extremely skillful, and I felt as if I were present in the plot of the story. A component of her writing that I liked was her use of numerous flashbacks. I enjoyed reading them when they appeared because it helps the reader to understand the current situation or feeling she is writing about. They were often very interesting to read, and they gave me great insight to future events in the book. Another characteristic that I am pleased by is the fact that each chapter in the novel is told by a different significant character. I value this because it is interesting to see each person¿s perspective and feelings on a certain event or circumstance. By doing this, Picoult also creates a sense of unbiased feeling. It restricts the reader from having an unfair opinion about a specific character, and allows them to create their own opinions about each character.
If you enjoy reading novels about everyday life and the complications that arise in it, then I would recommend My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Especially if you enjoy an intriguing storyline that is exceptionally well written, be sure to pick up a copy of this book. Picoult is an exceptionally fascinating writer, and after reading this masmasterpiece I will be sure to read one her other novels in the near future. It is a book of emotion, attachment, and suffering that keeps the reader interested for the entire story.

posted by 452157 on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or dama...
I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

    I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Interesting, yet disappointing

    This book was enjoyable and had a great topic, but not as well written as Ms. Picoult's other novels. The development of relationships was disappointing, particularly that of Kate and Anna. There was no strong sense of sisterhood. Campbell's attitude toward his personal and mysterious situation was outdated and perpetuating of myth. The book left me with a feeling that it had been published too soon and needed more work to keep it up to the standards of this author's previous novels. However, it is with great anticipation that I look forward to more of Jodi Picoult's work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Good Story, with a few downers...

    On my bookshelf there are books that I can read again, and again, and the rest are just books I've read. Although a very good story, My Sister's Keeper is probably a book I'll never read again. The story was great, heartwarming in some areas, heartbreaking in others. Funny, with a good love story intertwined. A small degree of mystery regarding the service dog, and Anna's motives. But there are two things that turned me off about this book. First was the writing: Ok Ms. Picoult, we get it. You did your homework. But listing every single medication this girl is taking, including their doses, as well as every technical term for most procedures and diagnosis's got really old after a while. I am an avid reader, and I couldn't even pronounce half those words. I did like how she wrote the story from all the different characters perspectives, but she sidetracks a lot within their stories, i.e. going from a conversation with someone, skipping to an irrelevant conversation with a man named Seven, back to the original conversation, same thing with Brain going on and on about his astrology, etc.it just dragged the story, which I felt dragged to begin with, on and on even further. The second, which is actually what led me to write my first book review, was the ending: I would probably have overlooked my qualms with her writing if the ending wasn't what it was. All thru the book you are already dealing with one child that is going to die, having to deal with another so abruptly was a little too much. That all being said, again, it was a very good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Jodi Picoult has covered a very controversial topic in My Sister

    Jodi Picoult has covered a very controversial topic in My Sisters Keeper. The story is about a young girl named Kate who is diagnosed with a severe form of Leukemia. With no donors for Kate’s survival, the parents decide to genetically engineer a child to mirror Kate’s genes and be a perfect donor. The created child, Anna, is used for variations of procedures. The procedures range from painful bone marrow transplants to deadly white blood cell transplants. When enough is enough, Anna turns to a popular lawyer and files a lawsuit on her parents.
    My Sisters Keeper is a heartwarming novel that kept me on my feet the entire length of the book. The topic really gives you different views throughout the book. Also, the way Picoult changes perspective throughout the book and the flashbacks used creates suspense and major story line twists.
    The most important thing I took away from this book was the feelings Anna must have had to gone through to file a lawsuit against her own parents, especially at such a young age. Also, Anna must have felt horrible for Kate because in a way, she could be killing her sister.
    In conclusion, this is a very heartwarming and controversial topic. The way the author uses different perspectives and flashbacks create suspense and major story line twists. This book kept me on my feet and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Capitivating premise

    However the ending was a real let down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Ok

    This was a good book. Kinda slow and hard to read with a suprising ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    poor ending

    I liked all the books I have read by Jodi Picoult. Really didn't like the ending to this one. I've never seen the movie so I had no idea how this was going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Great Thought Provoking Book

    My book club picked this to read and I had seen some clips of the movie but I was surprised at the ending. If you like a thought provoking book and asks hard questions you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Recommend

    I applaud the author for tacking such a sensitive topic. Although the language was a bit harsh at times, overall the book put you on an emotional rollercoaster that lasted to the end. Characters were liked and hated. I wanted to strangle the parents at times and hug them at others. It was a good peek into stress and how it affects our lives and decision making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    What the...

    Horrible parents. Mother escpecially. I kept thinking if i were in that situaion and condition kate was in i would never let my little ster go through that. I would accept the fact that i probably wasnt going to make it anyway. I would let my baby sister live the life i never got to. Ugh! I hated this family! Three cheers to anna for living her own life. Kate im unimpressed but unsurprised. Brian i simply dislike. I hate that mother so much i forgot her name. Jesse i felt bad for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    OMG OMG OMG OMG WHAT CAN I SAY BUT A FIVE STAR ALL THE WAY

    IF U ARE LOOKING FOR A BOOK THAT U WILL NOT PUT DOWN GO FOR THIS ONE/OMG I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK BY JODI/I STAYED UP TILL 4:00 IN THE MORNING BECAUSE THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS GOING TO BED TILL I GOT TO THE END. IT IS A PAGE TURNER ALL THE WAY TO THE END!!!!!!!!!GO FOR THIS BOOK I PROMISE U WILL LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On the fence

    Im on the fence as far as this book is concerned. Dont get me wrong i think that its a good book i just didnt like the way it was written. The way she has every chapter showing a different characters point of view wasnt something i really enjoyed. It made the book drag at times. However once i pushed through those parts it was worth it. I definitely think this book is better than the movie and would recommend the book to anyone who liked the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Guess I'm Damning this through Faint Praise

    The only book by Jodi Picoult that I actually liked. . . . But it does drive me nuts that the author seems to make all her characters have the same "voice", even if they are a kid, an old guy, or a stay-at-home mom. It annoys the heck out of me.
    This book kept my interest in spite of its flaws. Although the 13 year old main character, Anna, is Picoult's "Every Universal Character," with the exact same incredibly wise, slightly anti-authoritarian, dramatically confused but very insightful, character that seems to be central to many of her books, I found that I really wanted to know how it would end. Most of what I had to wade through to get to the end was somewhat interesting, although not as convincing a character as Anna. Another flaw of this book (and a flaw that seems to be plentiful in Picoult's book) is her treatment of "the mother." In her books, "the mother" is often an unusually insensitive character who, while intelligent and often a professional woman, is outrageously dense when it comes to her (usually) daughter's needs. The daughter often seems to be more astute than the mother, who is not a true villain in her novels, but ultimately emotionally unavailable. I found the ending to be somewhat satisfying, but most likely I'll avoid reading any other of Jodi Picoult's novels int he future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    Couldn't Get Into It

    I've heard a lot of hype about how good this book is, so I decided to give it a shot. I'm usually a pretty fast reader, as long as I'm into the book. I read the first hundred pages or so and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't get into it. This book simply bored me, which disappoints me because I know this book would be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    Okay...

    This book was alright, I did have a hard time getting through it. I actually forced myself to read it, but in the end it wasn't that bad. Not the best but certainly not the worst.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book was great until the end...

    I loved this book until I got to the end of it, and now it just leaves a sour taste in my mouth.. The end was too unbelievable. It seemed like it was merely to cater to literary critics who wanted some sort of an ironic twist, it didn't fit the rest of the book to me. I don't like when books put some sort of "you didn't expect that!?!?" ending in when it isn't a thriller type book - the rest of the book is all about capturing your heart and emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great story but...

    Jodi comes up with great story lines and always knows how to surprise you with a twist! But I have to say that I do not enjoy her writing style. Her chapters not only change characters but often change time periods. Just as you are getting into one characters frame of mind, you turn the page and have to concentrate on another. This book was easier to follow than others she has written, but if you put it down in the middle of a chapter, you often have to go back a few pages to see where you left off. I loved the characters in this book and the surprises that came along. Although the ending was heartbreaking and I wasn't expecting it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    an okay book.

    i read this book because a friend recommended it to me, and i had wanted to go see the movie, so might as well read the book first. i disliked reading from all the character's point of views. some got very annoying, like anna's mother. the book was also a bit too long for my tastes. i can read long books but this one dragged on a bit. however, the huge plot twist at the end made the book worthwhile to read. some parts were incredibly sad too, i cried at those parts which is pretty rare for me. a few of the characters were unrealistic though, which bothered me. i think i'll throw in that the movie based book cover is tacky, since when you see it you think, oh, cameron diaz and the girl from little miss sunshine, not oh, anna and sara. overall, i thought my sister's keeper was a decent book, but i dont think i would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    Great start, good in the middle, disappointing ending

    I could not put this book away. The caracters became real and I felt all the pain they went trough but what happend at the end? It didn't make any sense. I was very disappointed. Even though I loved the writing style of Jodi Picoult I will probably not by another of her books if she can't end a story well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Shocked....

    Ok so i started this book actually confused and didnt really like the way the characters swtiched as the chapters were new. I kept on with the book which usually I wouldnt have. I enjoyed the book after all. BUT HATE THE ENDING!!!!!! Totally not what i set myself up to be reading and was totally shocked. Would i recommend this book?? Yeah.. But dont set yourself up for how YOU may think it will end Because it will not end the way you expect! This is my first Jodi novel... I may pick up another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7