Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 2513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1845)

4 Star

(444)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

An Intriguing Read

I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended ...
I have not read an intriguing and interesting book in a while. So, I was in search of ¿one of those books that you can hardly put down¿. As I skimmed through a list of various best-selling novels, I came across My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, which was recommended to me. Immediately I picked up the book and began to read. Sure enough, this book was nearly impossible for me to stop reading. After reading this book, I gleaned that Picoult is a fascinating writer, and this was definitely no banal story. If you are in search of a brilliantly written novel with a very interesting story line, then I would definitely recommend My Sister¿s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
My Sister¿s Keeper is the story of a thirteen-year-old girl, Anna Fitzgerald, who was conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister, Kate, who has leukemia. Anna has been a donor for Kate her entire life, and this story revolves around her sudden opposition and dilemmas regarding this situation. The reader is immediately enthralled to the plot the moment Anna makes an astonishing decision in one of the beginning chapters, which the rest of the story revolves around. My Sister¿s Keeper is also the story of family life and revolves around the family¿s struggle to maintain their love and support for each other. It describes how no family is perfect, and forces you to love the Fitzgerald family and feel their pain through their many hardships. It was very difficult for me to put the book down and stop reading because I was so anxious to discover the ending result of this predicament that takes place throughout the entire novel. I was shocked by the unwonted resolution, however was very satisfied. I believe this is an ideal ending because the reader cannot even predict how the story will conclude, and it is a summation to all of the present conflicts. Picoult does an excellent job at writing this end result.
The author of My Sister¿s Keeper, Jodi Picoult has a very unique and compelling writing style that gets readers hooked to her books instantaneously. Her use of description is extremely skillful, and I felt as if I were present in the plot of the story. A component of her writing that I liked was her use of numerous flashbacks. I enjoyed reading them when they appeared because it helps the reader to understand the current situation or feeling she is writing about. They were often very interesting to read, and they gave me great insight to future events in the book. Another characteristic that I am pleased by is the fact that each chapter in the novel is told by a different significant character. I value this because it is interesting to see each person¿s perspective and feelings on a certain event or circumstance. By doing this, Picoult also creates a sense of unbiased feeling. It restricts the reader from having an unfair opinion about a specific character, and allows them to create their own opinions about each character.
If you enjoy reading novels about everyday life and the complications that arise in it, then I would recommend My Sister¿s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Especially if you enjoy an intriguing storyline that is exceptionally well written, be sure to pick up a copy of this book. Picoult is an exceptionally fascinating writer, and after reading this masmasterpiece I will be sure to read one her other novels in the near future. It is a book of emotion, attachment, and suffering that keeps the reader interested for the entire story.

posted by 452157 on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Second Picoult novel with implausible ending

I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or dama...
I read this book after reading and enjoying Perfect Match. The subject matter and presentation of the story line in this book was more interesting. There are several overlaps though: mother is lawyer who thinks she's unbeatable, mother neglects everyone but sick or damaged child, blue collar husband who is emotional anchor, drawn out legal battle, etc. I guess what bothers me most is as a reader I appreciate good characterization so I don't want to be duped at the end by a surprise, implausible ending which occurred in both books.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Real, Unique, and Touching

    Once in a while you come across a book like this. It draws you in.

    The characters seem so real and are very developed. Each of them have their own voice and are different from all the others. I liked how the author wrote in first person from each person's point of view, helping the reader's get to know what the character is really feeling. (She also does a great job with the male characters). My Sister's Keeper makes you think about how the kinds of things in the book happen in real life to real people, all the time. It brought me to tears and made me realize how nothing is guranteed and how lucky some of us are.

    No matter what kinds of books you like or stick to, read this. It's a page turner; you have to get more. And after I finished reading, I wanted to re-read it all over again, something that rarely happens. This is an extraordinary book written by an even more extraordinary author. This is also my first time reading a piece of literature from Picoult. I have to say, I love her writing and will read more she had to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    Okay

    Good plot, but slightly unrealistic and poorly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Jordan R., HTHS, 3rd

    I chose to read My Sisters Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. There are a few reasons why I chose this novel. First, I have read another book of Picoults, which I absolutely loved, so I figured her other ones would be just as good.The other reason is that it was recomended to me by many other students and teachers who loved it. The last reason is because we are learning about cloning and many controversal topics in scienec and this book relates to it. Overall, most everyone that has read it recomended it to me as a great novel.<BR/>There are many reasons why I like My Sisters Keeper. The begining of each chapter has a different narrartor, which i like because you get to see each side of the story. This novel is about a girl who was born just for the sole reason of helping her sister with lukemia. Throughout her life she must under go surgeries, and she must give blood, and marrow, and much more. She does not mind helping her sister, but she does not like the fact that she has no choice or say so in the matter.No one ever asks her if she wants to do this or even for her permission. And i agree with her on that, it is her body and she is able to do what she pleases with it. But, as the girl becomes older she decides that this is not fair for so she starts to fight back!<BR/>I would recomend this book to just about anyone. I believe that mostly girls would enjoy it, though. the characters are so real and you really learn to hate and love them through their own thoughts and personalities.My Sisters Keeper has an amazing story in it and I think everyone would just love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Bummer

    Not as great as I thought it would be. Horrid ending, kinda felt like a waste of time. I thought it would be a really great read but the ending really blew me off and it wasn't a real attention grabber for me. :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Great Story, Horrible Ending

    I really enjoyed the book, espically since we get to hear from more then one character's point of view. Also there is more then one story line that keeps the book refeshing. However, as the book comes to a close, the ending is horrible. The author claims that this was the only way to end the book but i whole-heartedly disagree. I could not have been more disappointed. I was left in tears not only because of what happens but because that was how the story ends. Read and judge for yourself...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Born to be Used

    I couldn't believe how a mother could consume her life without thinking what she has done to her others.A 13-year old teenager makes a decison that for most would be unthinkable, making a drastic decision that will tear her family apart,Anna thinking who she truly is, and confuse becouse she doesnt know what she realy want in her life.I will agree with Anna for making this decison that sued her parents i think that in our live we should atleast be ourself,i know that we do anything to save our siblings but theres a limited that we have,and Anna had hers,it hurts when you realize that a reason that your parents have you is becouse you were going to a save a life.how would you feel? i was amaze how a 13-year old fought for her rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book My Sisters Keeper, by JOdi Picoult was a very interesting book that i enjoyed reading. i liked this book because i like to read about people who stand up and fight for what they think is right. i think that the characters in My Sisters Keeper were both interesting and believable. Out of all of the characters in My Sisters Keeper, I would have to say my favorite character is Anna. Anna is my favorite character because she fights for what she feels is right and she is sarcastic at the same time. If I had the choice or had to change one thing in this book, I would change the point of view the story is being told from. I would change the point from Annna's view to her mother Sarah's view. I would change the point of view because I feel that it would be better to hear the story from both sides. I would recommend this book to my friends because I thought it was an interesting book and they would probably too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Ok--it looks interesting and in parts is very intriguing but COME ON--get on with the story. The story jumps from one decade to the next and back again. The author has a way of using words and description as if you were right there-that is what keeps you reading chapter to chapter but after a while its compared to the two steps foward one step back description. It drug on for me for days before I finished it. I will try this author again as she does catch my interest. But this book was not over the top for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    sane

    400 pages of sickness, disease, and heart wrenching happenings. It is too much. Enough is enough. If a high school student would have written this book, the teacher would send her to the guidance counselor to see if she was suicidal. Rather than getting into this book, I kept thinking why would anyone write such a book. It seems like the author went out of her way to write a book to make people think about life, death and family. It is like going to an ethics class and the professor giving you the scenario in the book and then asking the students what they would do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Ok, I admit it, I did cry but....

    This is my first JP book. I loved the first few chapters then I became bored with the characters. I can't imagine any judge allowing a mother in that situation to represent herself. I thought Jesse's being an arsonist and Dad being a firefighter was a little too much. And why wasn't he brought to trial again??? It got old fast. The end of the book had me in tears, though. I think I might try another JP book, just to check it out. Hopefully I'll be more interested in those charactes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Good ethical questions raised in an Average book

    The ironies were too easy (Example, the father is a fire fighter, the son is an arsonist). I truly did not like this book but I give it 3 stars because the story raises worthy ethical questions. Yes, I did cry at the end, but the overall read does not inspire me to pick up another another Jodi Picoult book any time soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    A Decent Book

    When I first started reading My Sister's Keeper, I recommended it to everyone. The style of which Jodi Piccoult uses to express all the different characters was captivationg, for I've never come across a book set up in this manner. She writes from each person's point of view which helps the reader gain a perfect perspective on the situation. The premis of the novel was also unique. A baby girl brought into the world solely to harvest cells for her leukemic sister, is not a topic you come across on a day to day basis. The ending of My Sister's Keeper became way too sentimental. It was at the end that I decided the book wasn't that great. It was too sentimental and a little cheesy. However through reading this book I have discovered Jodi Piccoult and her writing, which I now really love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Promising, but a drag with a poor ending.

    The book started off well Picoult's metaphors and vivid descriptions clinch the reader early on, but she tends to be a little cliché and annoying towards the end while trying to evoke emotion with lame phrases that are a bit of a reach (How can I save my sister when I can¿t even save myself? - Jesse). It was an emotional book, but she was definitely trying way too hard to make it that way. The ending, too, was very disappointing, ruining a potentially satisfactory novel. I would only recommend this novel for people who have enough time on their hands to read a 423-page novel that ends in sheer disappointment. It had a promising start, but the story line was not well developed. No wonder Lifetime made it into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    enough is enough

    Okay so I went through a Jodi Picoult phase that ended when I read this book. It drew me in, I couldn't put it down, but then ended in what I would consider the ultimate author cop-out. I really did like it until the end. But the end is what you remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Really enjoyed but did not love

    This book is written really well. I loved the characters but felt like the story as a whole wasn't as compelling as it could have been. A little too predictable at times. It was an easy read and I enjoyed it but I was hoping it would have left more of an impression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Wonderful, but a shoddy ending!

    Until the end, Picoult did a great job of exploring the ambiguities involved in a sticky medical situation. However, the end seems all too simple, quick and easy - incongruent with the complexity examined by the rest of the novel! I would have preferred an 'open-end' for the story that satisfies the reader with choice details yet still acknowledges ambiguity (i.e., in Atwood's 'Handmaid's Tale') OR for Picuolt to show us Anna's final decision along with some (not necessarily all) of its consequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Sadly, can't recommend

    I can't recommend. Couldn't put book down through first 3/4 of book, but after a while, I skipped all of Campbell and his love when it wasn't related to Anna and family. Can't recommend due to ending-- didn't like!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    good, but disappointing ending

    if you are looking for a good book to read, read this. If you are looking for a GREAT book to read, then don't. I thought this book was very good throughout most of it. Some parts were a bit repetitive, but I liked how well the character's were developed and the points of views were presented. The topic was very interesting and original, but it was a bit melodramatic. I wish it would have been presented with some more factual information. However, the ending of the book completely ruined it for me. I spent the last few pages thinking 'Are you SERIOUS?' It was very unrealistic and had a heavy soap opera air. I wish it could have ended the way the rest of the book was written--in a way that was realistic and thought-provoking, not just a cliche way to get a few tears from the readers. Still, this book was mostly enjoyable and Picoult has divine talent for choice of words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Hated the Ending

    For the most part, I though this book was well written and suspenseful. I did enjoy reading the story from the point of view of all the different characters. However, I was extremely dissappointed (and disturbed) at the end and felt that the incident was completely unneccessary. I think that there were much more interesting ways to end the book without taking an easy way out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Too wordy

    I gave 3 stars as an average of 5 stars for the story idea and 1 star for the writing style. No doubt Picoult writes beautifully, but I feel she overdescribe everything to the extent it makes the reader bored and a bit impatient. Yes, I agree that vivid description is important for visualization. However, too much of it is simply too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7