Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Voice

Average Rating 3.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book

I loved this story especially with the unexpected outcomes. Just wish the few 'sex' scenes had been left out; they were just unnecessary

posted by ReneeSuz on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hours I will never get back

The Deaf culture was well done but as a whole I look back at this book as hours I can never get back. The plot was if-y at best and the dialouge was confusing.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    great book

    I loved this story especially with the unexpected outcomes. Just wish the few 'sex' scenes had been left out; they were just unnecessary

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    I'd love to a read a sequel to this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    As a Deaf person, I loved this book. I think this book would be enjoyed by anybody, even those who do not know a lot about the Deaf culture. I was pleased to see a lot of accurate informationa regarding the Deaf culture and what it is like being Deaf. The story is exciting! I did not want to put the book down as I was reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    I had trouble putting it down!

    This was a great unconventional story of sisterhood. Both girls learned so much about themselves and each other. It

    This was a great easy weekend read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2015

    Looks good!!

    This book looks very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Pretty good!

    I enjoyed this book. At first I didn't care for Lacey because I thought she was kind of selfish and self-centered. However once Monica appeared the story really took off and got interesting. Once the truth started coming out the book was extremely interesting. The ending could have had one more chapter or epilogue but otherwise a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great read!!!!!

    I couldn't stop reading it.....never wanted to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Nice

    It pretty good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Good read

    Some surprisibg twists kept it interestibg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    The first 20 pages in I was regretting that I started reading this book but since I never stop a book that I start I kept going. I am glad I did because I would have missed out on a very interesting story. I loved that just when I thought I knew where the book was going there was an unexpected twist, lots of them actually, and until the very last page. I can understand some of the other reviewers opinion about it being far fetched, but isnt that why we read? If I wanted reality I would read the newspaper. Overall it was a unique approach of telling a common plot of long lost siblings. One I wont forget.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Good Read

    I was uncertain about reading this because of the reviews but I found that it moved along well and I liked it. Just goes to show you that sometimes you have to make up your own mind about something and not listen to what other people say. It was a good book, give it a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    recommended reading

    enjoyed reading this tale of two sisters as their separated lives come together. did not expect the ending...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    good book

    good insight into a deaf person's life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Good Summer Read

    It was a very interesting storyline, but it did move a little slow in places. I think overall, Mary Carter did a good job of capturing our attention. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good

    I liked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Very different

    I enjoyed this story, it is different from my usual reading. I found for the most part I was totally drawn in by the relationships...never saw the last secret reveled coming. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Fun and interesting read

    My interest in this book was initially piqued by being in a similar position of having a sister that I never knew until I was well into adulthood. I thought it was a good read, and true to the situation those of us in this position face; in finding our siblings or other family members, are we finding them, or losing ourselves?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A good read

    A read that kept you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2