Customer Reviews for

My Sister's Voice

Average Rating 3.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book

I loved this story especially with the unexpected outcomes. Just wish the few 'sex' scenes had been left out; they were just unnecessary

posted by ReneeSuz on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is some of the poorest writing that I've read in a while!  

This is some of the poorest writing that I've read in a while!  The author seemed more concerned with talking about Deaf culture than telling a story.  The premise behind the story is a young Deaf woman named Lacey who had been raised in a children's home discovers that...
This is some of the poorest writing that I've read in a while!  The author seemed more concerned with talking about Deaf culture than telling a story.  The premise behind the story is a young Deaf woman named Lacey who had been raised in a children's home discovers that she has a twin sister who was raised by their biological parents.  The plot sounded good enough to get me to purchase this book, but it failed to live up to expectations.  The characters were poorly developed and seemed immature.  The story was so outrageous it wasn't even remotely believable.  I kept expecting for the story to get better, but the more I read, the more ridiculous it got. I was upset that I wasted my money on this, and even more upset that I wasted my time on it!

posted by perfect_sorrow on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Deaf and not hearing impaired. I learned so much from this incr

    Deaf and not hearing impaired. I learned so much from this incredible
    book. I wondered at the start whether it was a book I would enjoy, I am
    so glad I kept reading, I won't ruin the book for you by giving you the
    story line other than to say it is about twins. One of them is deaf and
    the other has issues of her own. So read it, you won't be sorry. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific character study

    Although Philadelphia artist Lacey Gears has never heard a sound and has no known family that she knows of, she believes she lives a great life. She enjoys her career, which is on the rise, has a nice caring boyfriend and a loyal dog. Her idyllic life is turned upside down when she receives a note insisting she has a twin sister; this is a shocker because she has no known biological family.

    Lacey assumes the message is her boyfriend's sick joke, but soon affirms the note is true. She has a twin Monica, an author, which is how she learned of her existence, who can also hear. Euphoric to learn she has family, but heartbroken that her parents gave her up for adoption because of her impairment, Lacey, who has doubts, contacts Monica who is excited and wants her twin in her life.

    The key to this terrific character study is the reversal of stereotypes as Lacey is independent and Monica reliant, which comes across throughout the story line, but especially after they meet. Thus, as readers obtain a deep look into the subculture of people born deaf, My Sister's Voice is a strong profound tale with a solid ensemble secondary cast although the family secrets revealed late detract from an otherwise superior tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Loved this book

    I was hooked on this book immediately. I loved learning about the Deaf culture and the characters were so unique. I've always been fascinated by twins so this was perfect. I didn't see the plot twist coming either. I would highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Katie

    Ok... when i was little my mom left my bio dad cause he was a dr<_>ug addict and didnt really love me for years i lived without a dad in school i got teased for it tey physically and emotionally harassed me whaen i got older my mom smoked and she drank she got remarried he was very avusive to her and me.. he even se<_>xualy harrassed her and me my mom didnt and still doesnt know he did he tried to ra<_>pe me.. they divorced but he begg to see me and he did things to me he threated to kill me if i called the cops i hit middle school and i was an outcast and guys used me they bullied me ad touched me where i didnt like being touched te teacher didnt do anything my mom did nothing no job nothing i had to starve we had no food i was lucky i was going to school i didnt even want to go i had no friends at all gtg nooks dieng tell you the test later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    The Voice

    Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Excellent story

    Very difficult to put down. A good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    I really enjoyed the book. I kept my book close at hand so I co

    I really enjoyed the book. I kept my book close at hand so I could read bits and pieces when I could. The plot was good and the characters were interesting. The storyline was predictable with an added surprise. Some parts of the book (middle) did not add to the overall importance of the storyline and in my opinion could have been left out. I also would have liked more time put into the ending as it seemed rushed after all of the detail given throughout the book.

    I would suggest this book to my reading crowd and plan on looking for other titles by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Chuck Paco

    My sisters voice is all high pitched and squeaky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    great read

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Rockstar

    Lies head down on paws

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Hi

    T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Good read!

    The material is a little sad, but the twist ending was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Great reading

    Would highly recommend..held your interest right to the last chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book. Funny in spots. Emotional too. Lots of good in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Scarlet

    He sat on the edg of the stage

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great

    I loved this book good writing everything this book will make you cry.. very good graphic in this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Crystal

    I love that bpok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2