BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Skylar

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Emotional book WOW Skylar and Mitch meets Skylar when there jus

Emotional book WOW Skylar and Mitch meets Skylar when there just kids they were best of friends till H.S when feelings turn into more than friendship. Then heartbreaking news changes there whole life. Can you ever put the past behind and let go to be happy again. Great...
Emotional book WOW Skylar and Mitch meets Skylar when there just kids they were best of friends till H.S when feelings turn into more than friendship. Then heartbreaking news changes there whole life. Can you ever put the past behind and let go to be happy again. Great READ

posted by SoutherenGirl on September 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

No thanks

## This book was exhausting. Some people may enjoy that, I however, do not. There was way too much heartbreak in this book. I realize every book has to have conflict, but come on! SPOILER ALERT: Making us read about the hero with other women was awful. Making us read ab...
## This book was exhausting. Some people may enjoy that, I however, do not. There was way too much heartbreak in this book. I realize every book has to have conflict, but come on! SPOILER ALERT: Making us read about the hero with other women was awful. Making us read about the hero having a child with another woman was just cruel. And the cheating was deplorable. No excuse for that. They could've waited one more day. All I can say is have the tissues handy. This is much too dramatic to be enjoyable. Sorry cannot recommend.

posted by 9394860 on June 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Brilliant, Bitter-Sweet Romance About True Love, Redemption, L

    A Brilliant, Bitter-Sweet Romance About True Love, Redemption, Lasting Chances and Learning To Trust Again! 

    4.5 Friends-to-Lovers-to-Enemies-to-Lovers Stars!

    The Review: 
    I’m a sucker for stories about childhood friends who become more. I’m a hopeless romantic for stories about friends who lose each other only to find one another years later and I swoon over stories about friends turned lovers. Add in some tension filled angst and you have one hell of a book about childhood friends who are separated only to find each other years later and become entangled in a struggle to be together due to one circumstance after another to finally finding their HEA only to endure more years of separation and one last chance to come together and get it all right.

    Told from alternating POV’s, this story was beautiful, sweet, sexy, heartbreaking, fun and intense all rolled into one and it kept getting better with each page.

    Story/Characters... 
    Eleven year old Mitch comes to stay with his grandmother during the summer while his parents are going through a rough time in their marriage. Not wanting to be away from home, he doesn’t hide the fact he doesn’t want to be where he is but his grandmother talks him into going to the park for the day. Begrudgingly he sits quietly while kids around him play, only to encounter one very persistent girl who will change everything. Ten year old Skylar knows Mitch is the boy next door and she can sense his despair. Taking it upon herself to befriend him, she couldn’t have known this one act of kindness would set her future on an irreversible path of both pain and happiness.

    Happily spending the summer together and forging a friendship unlike any other they’ve ever had, fate steps in and they are separated only to come face to face five years later and what was once a childhood friendship, turns into more. But fate steps in once again and this time hands Skylar and Mitch almost more than their young hearts can handle. Their budding romance becomes something life altering and together they fight fate and win only to be separated once again.

    Five years later and so much pain between them, they get a third chance to make it right but there are many obstacles in their way, including mistrust, pain and broken hearts.

    This story goes from sweet to heartbreaking to relief to angsty tension to shattered hearts to nerve wracking disbelief to more pain and then more angsts and then FINALLY to a happy resolution that comes almost too late. I was in a angst heaven throughout most of this book and loved almost every minute of it. The only part I really had a problems with was Skylars denial of her feelings after they are reunited as adults. She endured so much and went through so much pain that I sort of understand her hesitancy but she said more than once she learned to not sweat the little things in life and to find happiness where she could. I guess knowing Mitch had the power to ultimately break her, and he had once before, made her guard her heart harder than with anything else. So I get her conflict but I didn’t like it because I felt it dragged out a bit to much.

    All that being said, I really enjoyed Mitch. That boy-turned-man was phenomenal to read and he was a true hero in my eyes. The things he did for Skylar, the way he felt about her was amazing and beautiful. I wish Skylar had of had more faith in their love but I understand why she felt the way she did. She saw herself as the weak link in their relationship and it destroyed them. But I did like Skylar. She was open, honest and brave and she fought... until she felt she had finally come to her end.

    These two went through so much heartbreak but that ending solidified everything they’d been through. Things had a way of working out perfectly and if one thing had of changed during their struggle, they wouldn’t have had that fantastic ending.

    Thoughts... 
    This was the best kind of read. I both LOVED it and hated it. My love for it was because it was completely heartbreaking and emotional and I was awestruck at how into it I was. I read straight through and at one point gave my hubs the “don’t mess with me glare” because he tried to talk to me while I was reading. It was well written and the story was super angsty, just how I like them. My hate comes solely from the misunderstandings, the misconceptions and the mistrust. If the MC’s had of been honest with one another, especially the heroine, from the very beginning, all that turmoil could have been prevented. HOWEVER, all that said, if it had been prevented, then there wouldn’t have been much of a story, right?

    The Wrap Up: 
    This is the second book I’ve read by this author and I love how she isn’t afraid to bring her characters anguish. She totally brings the suffering and then gives us an ending to remember. I can’t wait to read more of her books, especially from this series. Though this book is book three in the Gemeni series, it can be read as a stand alone. But am I going back to read the rest? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Loved it

    Well written. A few editing errors.

    Get the tissues ready... this is definitely an intense tear jerker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first book by Penelope Ward...I loved it!!!  I will

    This was my first book by Penelope Ward...I loved it!!!  I will have to go back and read the other two books In the series.  If you love a HEA ending this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    My Skylar is a companion novel to Jake Undone.  Mitch and Skylar

    My Skylar is a companion novel to Jake Undone.  Mitch and Skylar find love in their teens.  This book takes us through their teen love.  We then find out what caused them to break apart and how Mitch is trying to see if Skylar is happy with her new life.  Skylar handled her cancer with such bravery.  Skylar was given some news about the side-effects of her cancer treatment and does what she feels is best for Mitch at the time.  Circumstances cause this couple to go through a lot of anguish and heartbreak throughout this book.  It was well done and the plot kept me reading to see what happened in the past and how their future was going to play out.  Overall a solid 4.5 star read for me. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1