Customer Reviews for

My Son and the Afterlife: Conversations from the Other Side

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this book to anyone open to new ideas, or to

I highly recommend this book to anyone open to new ideas, or to anyone seeking some reassurance that love lives on after we cross over. Dr.Medhus courageously shares her journey of having to make sense of why bad things happen to good people. She rebuilds her life by he...
I highly recommend this book to anyone open to new ideas, or to anyone seeking some reassurance that love lives on after we cross over. Dr.Medhus courageously shares her journey of having to make sense of why bad things happen to good people. She rebuilds her life by helping others. There are two stories here, Dr. Medhus' journey to her new normal and the wonder of Erik's insight into human suffering.  I found this book really, really interesting because she comes from a scientific background and atheist parents, and chronicles her journey to discovering spirituality and the afterlife (or "heaven", whatever you prefer to call it) in a very realistic, approachable way. She began communicating with her son via mediums, and decided to chronicle those experiences on a blog, which she called simply Channeling Erik. I found Erik's voice (through the psychic) extremely amusing, with colorful language (unedited, a feature I appreciated) and together I feel they truly take on the heavy subjects (life after death, the meaning of life, God, reincarnation, etc) with a refreshingly down to earth approach. Dr. Medhus talks quite often to her Son over the period of this book, asking many questions about what the "Afterlife" is like. We learn that spirits can create homes and pizza and big screen TVs, although I have to wonder why a higher spiritual being without a flesh and blood body would need these things. We learn that Erik has lived many lives and will live many more lives. That as we live progressive lives we overcome the problems we have had in the past.     

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on October 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Ridiculous

Why do people continue to believe such tripe? There is no evidence or proof for mediums, psychic communication or any of that claptrap. Lots of wishful thinking here and possibly hallucinations. That is all.

posted by Bijou1313 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend this book to anyone open to new ideas, or to

    I highly recommend this book to anyone open to new ideas, or to anyone seeking some reassurance that love lives on after we cross over. Dr.Medhus courageously shares her journey of having to make sense of why bad things happen to good people. She rebuilds her life by helping others. There are two stories here, Dr. Medhus' journey to her new normal and the wonder of Erik's insight into human suffering.  I found this book really, really interesting because she comes from a scientific background and atheist parents, and chronicles her journey to discovering spirituality and the afterlife (or "heaven", whatever you prefer to call it) in a very realistic, approachable way. She began communicating with her son via mediums, and decided to chronicle those experiences on a blog, which she called simply Channeling Erik. I found Erik's voice (through the psychic) extremely amusing, with colorful language (unedited, a feature I appreciated) and together I feel they truly take on the heavy subjects (life after death, the meaning of life, God, reincarnation, etc) with a refreshingly down to earth approach. Dr. Medhus talks quite often to her Son over the period of this book, asking many questions about what the "Afterlife" is like. We learn that spirits can create homes and pizza and big screen TVs, although I have to wonder why a higher spiritual being without a flesh and blood body would need these things. We learn that Erik has lived many lives and will live many more lives. That as we live progressive lives we overcome the problems we have had in the past.     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    If you are looking for a great read, one that will touch your He

    If you are looking for a great read, one that will touch your Heart and feed your Soul, buy this book!  Believer, or non-believer, you won't regret it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Elisa Medhus is a physician and mother of 5, who tragically lost

    Elisa Medhus is a physician and mother of 5, who tragically lost her son to bipolar disorder/suicide in 2009. I found this book really, really interesting because she comes from a scientific background and atheist parents, and chronicles her journey to discovering spirituality and the afterlife (or "heaven", whatever you prefer to call it) in a very realistic, approachable way. She began communicating with her son via mediums, and decided to chronicle those experiences on a blog, which she called simply Channeling Erik. I found Erik's voice (through the psychic) extremely amusing, with colorful language (unedited, a feature I appreciated) and together I feel they truly take on the heavy subjects (life after death, the meaning of life, God, reincarnation, etc) with a refreshingly down to earth approach. Very believable, and truly makes you wonder. 5 star read. Highly recommend!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    this is a wonderful book. To anonymous..so sorry you don't belie

    this is a wonderful book. To anonymous..so sorry you don't believe, but she does and that is all that matters..don't knock someone else's truth. I believe as well as I have had my own proof through my own personal experiences. Book is written nicely. Dr. Medhus has a wonderful sense of humor and I did laugh out loud through out the chapters. Good Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2014

    I love this book and her blog.  For those who want to better und

    I love this book and her blog.  For those who want to better understand the afterlife, this is the best! Thank you, Dr. Medhus, for your courage to share your journey. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    For anybody that ever prayed, did you wonder if your sentiments

    For anybody that ever prayed, did you wonder if your sentiments were nothing more than self consolation?
    Did you ever doubt the purpose of sending your thoughts to God or wonder if they'd go anywhere besides the inside of your head?
    Read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Elisa Medhus, MD wrote an amazing book here. She wrote it as it

    Elisa Medhus, MD wrote an amazing book here. She wrote it as it had unfolded. She was very skeptical about the after life in the beginning. Things started happening in such a way as to change her mind..... Finally a book that will help others get their minds out of the little tightly sealed box that society has put them in. Yes there is life after death, absolutely! We are but a consciousness that is using these bodies so that we can gain experiences here on this dense physical plain. But this is all explained in the book. If you are ever to read a book that is the closest thing to gospel, then this is it. Also check out the channelingerik website. It will only add to what she wrote in her amazing book. Dr Medhus took a tragic event and turned it into a "go to book" that will help other heart broken people that have suffered the tragic loss of a loved one, giving them comfort in knowing that their loved ones are all okay and even seeking to help you with your grief from the other side. This book will also give you "true" and "honest" answers to most if not all of your questions about the after life. It is by far the most authoritative and true book that I have ever read (and I have read volumes of books) about the after life. My hat is off to Elisa for having the courage and tenacity to write this book with the intention of helping others with the loss of their loved ones. Giving them hope, truth and the knowledge that they will be reunited once again, not to mention the fact that their loved ones will always be close by. She was assisted by some "very gifted" Mediums like Jamie Butler. A movie needs to be made from this book. It would be based on true events. A movie that would help to educate people on the reality of life after the death of the vehicle (body) that we are driving. It's high time for humanity to wake up to the reality of what life really is and is not. Remember when it was believed that the world was flat? You get my point...........Audie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend this wonderful, heartfelt book! I deeply admi

    I highly recommend this wonderful, heartfelt book! I deeply admire Dr. Medhus in sharing with us her wonderful son in such unique and amazing way!
    Milla Q.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1