Customer Reviews for

My Song: A Memoir of Art, Race, and Defiance

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A great American

The book was very easy to read and unlike many other autobiographies that I've read this one was a real page turner. J. Morales, Bx, NY

posted by 1421680 on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's a BOOK REVIEW not your shopping list!

Obviously neither of you read directions very well, it says "If you've read this book, tell the world how you liked it...! It's for book reviews, not if you are going to read the book......how does that help anyone.

posted by Knit1-Purl2 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    A great American

    The book was very easy to read and unlike many other autobiographies that I've read this one was a real page turner.
    J. Morales, Bx, NY

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    He's not a name dropper...he lived it...this is history

    I admit I was a fan, and his signature songs some of my favorites. But the background of an era I was too young to appreciate is so impressive and so moving, it should make this book a "must have" on everyone's shelf. Oh it's fun to read the little asides of his association with well known people, but that this octogenarian is still here to give us a lesson in social justice is precious. Please appreciate this man and his life while we still have him around. This should be a best seller for content and history. Oh and yes...he's still a heartthrob who is as comfortable with the Muppets as he is with Steven Colbert. Google it !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a BOOK REVIEW not your shopping list!

    Obviously neither of you read directions very well, it says "If you've read this book, tell the world how you liked it...! It's for book reviews, not if you are going to read the book......how does that help anyone.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    One of my Heroes.

    I cannot wait to read this book. In fact, I am probably going to leave work at lunchtime today to go purchase it. It has always been a dream of mine to play Mr. Belafonte in a movie (before I get too old! LOL). This should be a fascinating read and insight into one of the most talented and courageous brothers in the field of entertainment. I admire his talent and his activism immensely.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    A great read

    Had no idea Mr. Belefonte was so politically active - his contributions to our society go beyond a beautiful voice and face - he has a beautiful spirit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    What the enhanced version includes

    The enchanced book of my song has 18 minutes of video plus a song and though I have not bought the book yet,I would get the enhanced version which is only one dollar more

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Waiting

    The book sounds good.. I hope the read is even better!!!! WISH THEY HAD A FREE SAMPLE LIKE OTHER BOOKS

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    highly recommended

    An excellent walk down the path that led to the Harry Belafonte everyone loves but know very little about. A very compelling and interesting read..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Ken

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    not what i expected.

    If you are interested in Black History and Martin Luther King, then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Song

    *FEMALE SINGERS*: he's never alone, always with her, goin aroouund an around, in his heart.(MALE SINGER): I'm never alone, always with them as they daaance around, in my heart.ALL THREE: Never alone, always without, *goin*(dancin) arooouuund and aroouund in my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Why can't I written by------------piper

    Hi commnt at res two if you like my short song and i might write more.................................................................................
    I think the words in my head. But something else comes instead. I tried to hard to forgive you. But it is hard to. I hated all those days. We just ran out of ways. Because of those nights. We had a lot of fights. I just couldnt make it right.
    REFRAIN: Why can't I keep you? I know you feel it too. I love the sound of your voice. But i don't have a chocie. But i love you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    A song by anonymous

    What is love? When your hope is gone. What is love? When your faith has run out. What is love? When you have already given up. (CHORUS) Love is what gets us by. If we just understand. We know it won't be, won't be like the stories, but thats how it should be, baby. But we can't change life. OPINION OF THE SONG SO FAR AT RES THREE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Look at the Bright Side written by ~ -------

    (I am twelve years old now and i wrote this song when i was eleven. I just found it and thought i should get peoples opinion on it. Please give me ur honest opinion on what u think of this song at the second result.if u dont like it please tell me and if u want to u can say y u dont like it i wont b offended. Im not going to worry about the grammer becuase i have to go soon and i want o get this done before hand. Thanks for reading!) <br> <br> I look at myself and feel like no one cares. Nobody would even know if i leave. So why do i stay? My friends keep telling me it will get better. They say there is a plan for me. They say rememer these words and you will go far! <br> (Chorus) Look at the bright side and say things will be fine. Say goodbye to the bad and say hello to the good. Look at the bright side and say things will be fine. I promise you. We promise you things will b fine. <br> Another night going to bed crying. Another night with another fight i cant seem to end. Why cant they just understand? Why wont they understand? I call up my friend to get someone i trust. I explained what happened and told her why i was cryin'. She said. So you forgot what i said. <br> (chorus) Look at the bright side and say things will be fine. Say goodbye to the bad and say hello to the good. Look at the bright side and say things will b fine. I promise you. We promise u things will be fine. <br> I said thanks for the help. It really means a lot. That next day i started to think. I decided to start brand new. The world may push me down but it cant keep me from getting right back up. (Chorus) and i will look at the bright side and say things will b fine. Say goodbye to the past and say hello to the good. I will look at the bright side and say things will be fine. They promised me.. i promise you things will b fine. ( please put comments in the next result. Thanks so much for reading this!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great book

    Thank you Mr B for sharing your story ,I k new he was down with Dr King but I didn't know how deeply he was involved,thank you for your efforts all over the world. Where are the leaders for my childrens generation ?



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Serena's song: You had my heart

    I remember those days. When I loved you, and you loved me. I can almost recall now. When you took, myyyy heart. And when you ran, aaaawaay. For no apparent, reeeeeeaaason. ¿chorus) You had my heart, in your, iron grasp and you, always took my, breath away when you did that. You had my heart in your, stronghold and you, ran away with it. Why, why, why?¿ I still can't get why, your opinion, mattered more than anyone else's back then. I've heard stories, about other girls, who tried dating you. You brought them, down, just like, with me. ¿Repeat chorus) I can't get it. Why would you? How COULD you? Why, why, why? Why, why, why? ¿Repeat chorus) Why, why, why? Why would you? How could you? How dare you. But you had my heart.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Sure

    It is like the emperor with no clothes. Much ado over a nobody. Read "Catherine".

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    U

    G

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    1599

    1599

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2