Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Keep

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I love this series!

    I love all of books in this series. This is the last one and a page turner just like the rest. I hope Melanie is writing more. Not sure how it ends but it is a great read with an AMAZING message that I can identify with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Should the series continue? You bet!

    Finished My Soul to Keep earlier this week and LOVED it! Dylan is one of the messiest characters in print, but completely endearing. This is the best of the series and I hope that you choose to enjoy it as well! Can't wait for the next installment...maybe from Christine's point of view...? Earl's? Oh, and make sure to pick up an extra copy for a friend when you buy yours! *smile and wink*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Another awesome offering

    It¿s bad enough that a demon named Peter Terry has been harassing Dylan by unleashing rodents in her home, threatening her career, and in general being a stinkin¿ nuisance. But now a child dear to Dylan¿s heart has been kidnapped and she will stop at nothing to find him and bring him back to his mother. Thankfully she has Christine Zocci, a spiritually aware six-year-old, on her side. Her dreams and memories will prove more valuable than anyone realizes. Is Peter Terry to blame for the kidnapping? Or is there someone else who wants the child even more? Can Dylan find out before it¿s too late? I reject the notion that some people are doomed to bad luck, but in the case of Dylan Foster, I may have to rethink my position. Actually, I just think God is trying and testing her (without her knowing it) and will not put Peter Terry back on his leash until she whittles down her list of Top Ten Terrible Traits. As in her first two novels, When the Day of Evil Comes and Soul Hunter, Wells exhibits her familiar dry wit and ability to take irregular supernatural events and make them believable. One does not have to read her previous novels in order to understand and enjoy this one (although this reader advises it purely on the basis that they should not be missed). Wells does a superb job of interjecting just enough information for the new reader to follow along without bogging down those who have kept up with every novel. My Soul to Keep is supernatural suspense at its height, and Wells does not get near the attention she deserves for such well-thought-out story. I highly recommend all three novels and hope there will be many more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Thriller With Heart and Humor

    Melanie Wells captures her readers from the get go with Dylan Foster, a likeable heroine who knows she is not perfect, compelling villains with creepy powers, and a well crafted plot featuring a kidnapped child at the center of the doings. At a picnic, Nicholas, the son of Dylan¿s friend, is kidnapped by a man in an old car or van. Plot twists are added by references to Peter Terry, a menacing figure from Dylan¿s past, the sound of rattlesnakes in Dylan¿s home, and troubling hard to understand visions by the heroine and her young friend, Christine. As the perfect antidote to the terror of the kidnapping and frightening events, fear for the captive boy, and Christine under attack, readers are treated to Dylan¿s thoughts, including ¿God has to smack me with his ruler on my desk to get my attention.¿ The heroine is a compulsive sink cleaner, not one of my compulsions! When she hears the sound of a rattlesnake under her kitchen sink, she thinks ¿The sad truth is, if I paid as much attention to my soul as I do my sink, I would probably be a whole lot better off. My sink is pristine. My soul could use a can of comet and some elbow grease.¿ This is an ideal thriller with a good dash of humor, and now I plan to read the other two Dylan Foster novels, the first one being ¿When the Day of Evil Comes.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    My Soul to Keep by Melanie Wells is the finale to the trilogy involving Dylan Foster and her soul-wrenching battle against evil ¿ in the form of a pasty white stranger named Peter Terry. Ms. Wells combines a contagious sense of humor with a sense of spiritual completeness that leaves the reader alternatively laughing out loud or scared to death. As was the case in the other two books, this one is fast-paced with a multitude of plot twists and turns. The veteran thriller reader will have difficulty guessing the ending. This book gets to heart of parental love and captures the essence of a parent¿s helplessness in the face of her child¿s disappearance. Ms. Wells captures the uniqueness of children and gives them respectful voices. She captures a child¿s innocence as well as their sense of love of life. The plot starts out very simply. During a birthday celebration for a 6-year-old friend, Christine Zocci, a little boy is kidnapped. The twists are complex beyond belief. Not exactly trusting the police, Dylan begins an investigation on her own and soon faces a series of bizarre events. Peter Terry feeds off of fears and in previous books Dylan faced an unexplainable swarm of flies. This time it is the sound of the deadly rattle of a Texas rattlesnake in her home and car. Although the novel deals with serious subjects, these are balanced by Dylan¿s wonderful sense of humor. My Soul to Keep has it all ¿ clever dialogue, non-stop action, a very human and likeable main character, and never ending suspense. Dylan is not an overtly religious person she is however spiritual, a believer and her faith guide her through the challenges in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Professor Dylan Foster teaches psychology at Southern Methodist Universality yet she has no trouble believes in demons and devils since Peter Terry came into her life. He wants souls and he will use whatever means necessary to get them but Dylan temporally defeated him twice. He is the last thing on her mind when her friend Liz Zocci and her daughter Christine are celebrating her birthday in the park with her friend Maria and her son Nicholas.--------------- In the blink of an eye, the party ends when a car stops and someone kidnaps Nicholas. The person tries to take Christine too but her touch burns him. Somehow, someway, Christine is psychically connected to Nicholas and she ends up in the hospital with the same illness Nicholas once had. Peter Terry is also in the picture as light bulbs pop in her home Dylan hears snakes hissing in her home and a gas leek occurs. The demon appears in her dreams but she refuses to give into her fears. Instead she chases every clue including her sleeping subconscious ones that might lead her to Nicholas, even if it means spiritual warfare.----------- Christine has a guardian angel Earl who Dylan sees in the park and she and her mom come to the conclusion there is a spiritual battle taking place in which Christine is the prize. They meet another angel in the hospital who calms Christine Dylan, a believer, is not surprised. She just wishes they would point her to the location where Nicholas is but she has to apply investigate methods instead like a mortal. Melanie Wells has written an exciting pulse pumping thriller.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1