Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamers Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Dangerous and dark, Vincent does it again!

    MY SOUL TO KEEP, by Rachel Vincent, delved deeper into the dark addictions and creatures from the Netherworld. Kaylee and Nash discover that some of their classmates are addicted to a Netherworld substance that could drive them insane and kill them. With the help of Tod and other unlikely alliances, Kaylee and Nash fight to keep the souls of these innocents intact.

    The Soul Screamers series just keeps getting better and better with each book. The first book (My Soul to Take) was more of a introduction to Kaylee and her gifts. The second book (My Soul to Save) hinted at some danger involved with being non-human. This third book gave me chills with anticipation and fear that this time around, Kaylee and her friends might not be as safe as I thought they would be. I knew Kaylee's persistence from the last book would get her in trouble, and I was right. She created a terrible enemy without a care who he hurts, and he flips her life upside down for his sick amusement.

    The relationship between Kaylee and Nash intensified immensely in this book. They have come to a point where their emotions and hormones are raging for each other and it takes non-human strength to keep it under control.

    The Netherworld was its own character in this book. Kaylee frequented the Netherworld more in this book and Vincent's creativity really showed. While reading, I could feel what Kaylee felt and see what she saw so perfectly, including the fascinating but frightening creatures that lived in the Netherworld

    When Kaylee uncovers what is really going on, the realization was absolutely gut-wrenching. Vincent tugged at my heart strings and I felt so terrible for Kaylee. She has spent these past weeks building her self-confidence only to have it shattered in a matter of minutes. I am really looking forward to My Soul to Steal (release 2011) for the continuation of the series and hopefully some happiness for Kaylee.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    I loved it

    This one is by far the best of the series. Rachel really out-did herself.
    I won't give away any of the plot, but I have to say; I was actually happy about the whole Nash situation. In my opinion, I don't think they should be together. I also felt that Kaylee and Tod's relationship really developed in this book, especially towards the end. I personally think that it would be interesting if there was some Tod-Kaylee romance in the next book. Anyone who hasn't read this series should start now. I found it from looking on my kindle for free books and My Soul To Lose was on there, and my love for the books grew from reading that book/opening. I thought My Soul to Keep was fantastic and I really hope this series continues for a while.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    My Soul to Keep...Must Read!

    Ms. Vincent really hit it out of the park with My Soul to Keep. I have read the first two in the series and I believe this one is truly my favorite. Kaylee is a different breed of a heroine. She really starts to blossom in this book. Kaylee learns to really stand up for herself and those around her. Tod plays an important role in this book. I love his humor. I don't feel this book would be the same without Nash.

    I also feel that this one is more realistic in the terms of teen love. Not all relationships are perfect all the time. I think the book showcases issues in a relationship that everyone faces at one point in their lives. It does seem to work out...but you are left wondering...why is Kaylee doing this to herself?!? I know I found myself thinking would I stay with someone that did that to me?

    I don't want to give too many details and ruin the book; but you will be left wishing January 2011 was next month and not several months away. Rachel has yet to disappoint and she does it again with her third installment of the Soul Screamer Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And so it begins. When I first started re-reading this series,

    And so it begins. When I first started re-reading this series, I thought that there was no way I could possibly fall in love with Nash all over again, knowing what he would do to Kaylee. It would be impossible that he could be able to tear my heart out one more time while I sat there seething against the injustice of it all. Needless to say, I was wrong.

    Nash seems to have a certain effect on people. Even with all of the evidence against him staring you in the face, you don't want to believe that he would ever do something wrong. He does love Kaylee, that much is obvious, but he's no longer her knight in shining armor. He got knocked off of his horse, and he won't be coming back up again without a few dents. Nash isn't nearly as perfect as everyone seems to expect him to be, and he's been dealt one of the worst hands so far. To say that he had no power to fight fate wouldn't be true at all, but now I've come to understand his circumstance a little better. I could never forgive him for the part he played, but at least my boiling hatred has cooled down to a passionate dislike the second time around.

    The fact that I feel any emotion so strongly towards these characters is an immense pat on the back for Rachel Vincent. You can't possibly expect to like everyone, that would make the novel unrealistic, but nothing is worse than complete indifference. A lack of feeling for anyone means that they take up useless space on a page that could have been better spent. Luckily, the author never allows this to happen. Whether it's the new strength I see growing in Tod, sympathy for Alec's situation, or even distaste for Sophie the Ice Queen, everyone plays a deep enough role to mean something to the reader. Everybody and everything that happens in this book is important. Even if at times you just want to throw it against the wall, at least it makes you feel something, which is as much as I could ever ask out of any of the books I read.

    Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    My soul to keep

    Amazing i read thus book in 1 day i couldent put it down deffently worthgetting i love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As always Kaylee finds herself in the middle of a calamity: some

    As always Kaylee finds herself in the middle of a calamity: someone is selling black balloons (yep, balloons) to one of the jocks at her school. One of Nash's friends to be more clear.

    But, why is a balloon so important, right? The thing is, these black balloons hide a terrible secret: they are full of Demon's Breath which means that someone is bringing them from the Netherworld to make the whole high-school addicted to it... and the first two to fall are Emma and Sophie's boyfriends.

    The thing is: who is dealing with Demon's Breath? Who brings it from the Netherworld? Who started this whole thing? And why is Tod missing almost all the time?

    Personal opinion:
    While I love this book as much as the others I have to say the ending was bittersweet. Why? Well, sorry, you have to read the book to know why but I can say one thing: I didn't see that coming. At all. And it was great to learn that something that happened in the previous book had affected the future of the characters.

    Still, despite the fact that the ending left me quite sad it's true that the book was terrific. The twists, the facts and the characters keep developing non-stop. You will cheer for you favorite character, you will smile but above all you will try to keep your hopes up.

    I can't honestly wait to read the next one and get as many answers as I can. What will happen next? That's my biggest question right now.

    If you want to know the answer buy the books and read them ASAP!^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bean Sidhe-Side

    WHEN KAYLEE CAVANAUGH SCREAMS, SOMEONE DIES AND KAYLEE IS ABOUT TO SCREAM HER HEAD OFF...

    Kaylee has one addiction: her very hot, very popular boyfriend, Nash. A banshee like Kaylee, Nash understands her like no one else. Nothing can come between them. Until something does. Demon’s breath. No, not the toothpaste-challenged kind. The Netherworld kind. The kind that really can kill you. Somehow, the super-addictive substance has made its way to the human world. But how? Kaylee and Nash have to cut off the source and protect their friends—one of whom is already hooked. And when the epidemic hits too close to home, Kaylee will have to risk everything to save those she loves.

    Becoming use to her bean sidhe-side has taken some life adjustments and long lessons, but Kaylee now faces a personal battle that only she herself can solve. Drug addictions, kidnappings, demon possessions, Netherworld celebrations, boyfriend troubles are just a few of the battles Kaylee deals with in Rachel Vincent's My Soul to Keep.
    I kinda skipped ahead in the Soul Screamer's series by jumping to the most recent release. I started the second one and will finish it soon, but I got caught up reading this one and finished it in one night. It starts out quite frightfully with Kaylee being able to cross over into the Netherworld by just dreaming about death, meaning she has no real control over her powers yet and she puts off sleep for most of the book. Then she begins to realize some of her classmates are acting strange and that the cause is Demon Breath. From there on, it's a downward spiral into darkness (literally!) and she has to make some important decisions about her life, love, and family/friends.

    Likes: Kaylee getting a backbone when dealing/talking to her cousin.

    Dislikes: Nash's actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Yet another great book by Vincent! A real page-turner that kept me on the edge of my seat. The unexpected turn made the next book more suspensful and exciting! Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    great

    The book started out a little slow in the beginning, but when it picked up (i won't spoil anything don't worry) it sure did. Kaylee finds out nash's secret and basically all hell breaks loose. the ending with all the twists and action was really great, and i think the best ending so fat out of all three that i have read, yet i do think the first two were a little better because they picked up a little faster.
    also, i think this book was a little bit on the creepy side because of some of the events that happen, a litle dark. i may or may not read the next in the series, though if your into that kind of creepy posession stuff go ahead im sure youll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Excellent read!

    I thought this one started out a bit slow, but once I got into it I could hardly put it down; I can hardly wait to see what happens next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read it - You will not be disappointed!

    Loved it! This series just keeps getting better for me. This book kept me interested the entire time and throughout the last half of the book I couldn't put it down! We get to see see more of Tod (LOVE) in this one! The end of this book had my heart aching. When a book can evoke an emotion like that from me I know it is a great one! I truly love how original Rachel Vincent's story lines are in this series. They are like nothing I have read before and it is such a breath of fresh air!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    Soul Screamers
    By Rachel Vincent
    "She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

    Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next."

    I have a lot to say about the series. I wish I could write my own synopsis, but I can't come up with anything better, one that says it all in less than 100 words. First, I'll go over the series negatives: cussing, explicit situations, drugs (well..of the supernatural variety.) I think that covers it.. Anyway, What I want to say about the series that's positive: It's a fantastically unique series. I love it. I think it's worth it's negatives, it has good plot, good contrast, I mean, it has those negatives, but it has some really amazing positives. I need to finish 'If I Die' but it's just a really original series. No ripped off plots here. I recommend it to all paranormal lovers (like me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    It is a good book

    This is the perfect out of this world book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Favorite in the Series

    Rachel Vincent has truly created a unique series in a genre dominated by vampires and werewolves. In my Soul to Keep, the series continues to explore a world filled with bean sidhes, reapers, and hellions, adding rich new details to Kaylee's world.


    This Soul Screamer novel started out the slowest for me. I felt the first hundred pages were a bit repetitive with the plot and were dragged out, but when the plot picked up, boy, did it pick up. After Kaylee almost gets killed and learns Nash's secret, I was eagerly turning pages to see what would happen next. The last two hundred pages were jam packed with everything I expect from this series. My Soul to Keep expanded greatly on the mythology of the Soul Screamer series, introducing the reader along with Kaylee to more of the mysteries of the Netherworld and of the bean sidhes. The Netherworld is such an interesting place, I am glad we got to learn more about it in this novel.

    Since My Soul to Keep is the third book in the series, it may be confusing to readers who have not picked up the previous two books in the series. Much of the story line in this book revolves around characters and actions that have taken place in the previous two books in the series.

    The end of this book left me waiting for the next book in the series. I cannot wait to see what happens with Nash and Kaylee's relationship after the ending and after what Nash did. While the ending was not a cliffhanger, it did leave me wanting more. I hope in the next books to learn more about the Netherworld and the creatures of the Netherworld, such as the hellions. I will be eagerly awaiting the fourth book in Soul Screamers series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Pretty Wow

    Really good. Not my favorite ending but the story over all is really great. Gotta say though I wasn't too happy with Nash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    CAN'T MISS THIS!

    omg! books you definetely have to read!
    finished My Soul to Keep!!
    OMG!!
    Kaylee is a really strong character!!
    one of the strongest and good-willing
    never-think-much-before-she-acts character!
    but that always ends up...with both-..good and bad things for her...
    love her relationship with Tod...
    her friendship with Em
    and the love she feels for Nash...
    give it a try!!

    5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I really wanted to continue this series. But after book 2, I was hoping that I wouldn't spend the story screaming at the lead characters. I got a happy mix of both, which didn't bother me in the least.

    Kaylee made me proud in this book. She's still got an natural need to help those around her. Which I'm completely ok with. But, she needs to recognize her limits and when to ask for help. She manages to do both in this book, and I applauded her for it. I was pleased to see that there is some family bonding going on with her father. Outside of her uncle and cousin, they are the only family they each have. I was also happy that she stood her ground with Nash. I was hoping she wouldn't give in to the idea that in order for him to stick around, she has to give in to what he wants.

    As for Nash, well he's the one I spent most of the book frustrated with. I was unhappy with him in the second book, but I think this one took it to a new level. I'm pretty sure at the point that Kaylee needs to give him the boot. I think he's selfish and doesn't bring out the best in Kaylee. Which is sad, because I think overall he's a pretty good character.

    I loved the storyline of the Demon's breathe. It gave the added punch to the story. I wasn't surprised to find out who was behind it and what the true reasoning was for introducing it to the students. I also loved the winter solstice party. It made the Netherworld that much more sinister.

    I'm looking forward to the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamers, Book 3) brings us back to the world of Kaylee Cavanaugh, teen-aged bean sidhe. Kaylee, still adjusting to life with her recently returned father, is finally finished with her grounding from her last adventure when the Netherworld rears its ugly head in her home town. It appears that some of the students in her school, friends of Nash, are inhaling Demon's Breath for a high, unaware of its otherworldly origins or of its deadly consequences.

    Kaylee and Nash set out to protect the student body from the highly dangerous Demon's Breath, but all is not as it seems. Nash's behavior is erratic and he keeps trying to Influence Kaylee. Both Emma and Sophie are wrapped up in things via their respective boyfriends, and Kaylee can't know for sure how much danger either of them are in. She wants to go to the adults for help but Nash keeps stopping her. The whole story seems a bit disjointed before things finally click into place for Kaylee and, vicariously, for the reader. Once the core of the story begins to unwind, we see that all roads lead to Avari, the hellion whose attempt to snatch Kaylee's soul was thwarted in My Soul to Save (Soul Screamers Book 2). I won't tell you how things develop to this point, but once Avari is revealed, things begin to make a little more sense and the action begins to pick up. Kaylee must make some difficult choices and take a long, hard look at who is truly on her side.

    In My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamers, Book 3), Kaylee begins to grow up. She has to make difficult decisions based on what is right, not on what she wants. She also seems to have made an enemy in Avari, bringing Netherworld into her life on terms other than her own. Her actions in previous books are coming back to either benefit her or make her re-evaluate the consequences of her previous decisions. Overall, I think that this book represents a turning point in the series. Kaylee is maturing, the problems are getting bigger and the villain is badder. It seems as if the character relationships will be more complex in the coming stories which will benefit the series' longevity.

    Follow my reviews at readerbarbara dot blogspot dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15