BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Keep

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Page Turner

This book makes into my top ten. The story held my attention from cover to cover. Listening to it on audio (read by Peter Francis James) was even better. I couldn't wait to read The Living Blood and Blood Colony.

posted by Kalduwn on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not All Immortals Are Vampires

This book took me a very long time to get into. It didn't get iteresting for me until I had read at least 150pgs. I was ready to give up and put it down. It slowly starting getting better and better. The life of an immortal is something I have now found myself contempla...
This book took me a very long time to get into. It didn't get iteresting for me until I had read at least 150pgs. I was ready to give up and put it down. It slowly starting getting better and better. The life of an immortal is something I have now found myself contemplating. All in all, it was a decent read, but I rated it only 2 stars because it took SO long to get in to.

posted by Kaileigh on July 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Page Turner

    This book makes into my top ten. The story held my attention from cover to cover. Listening to it on audio (read by Peter Francis James) was even better. I couldn't wait to read The Living Blood and Blood Colony.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent all round

    I loved this book. The writing is excellent you love and hate and cry with the characters. You go to bed and they're there in your dreams. This is the kind of book that stays with you forever. Due is one of my all time favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    GOTTA READ

    I am not s mystery reader, but I am a FAN. I could not oput it down and will be starting on the sequel, I WANT TO SEE THIS AS A MOVIE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Awesome Story

    Ms Due's ability to convey the story is wonderful. I could not put the book down. It is in the same class as Interview with A Vampire. I've read Living Blood and was blown away. WHEN IS SHE GETTING A MOVIE DEAL!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Truly Oustanding

    My Soul To Keep has to be the most intriguing book I have read to date, and I have read many. It was extremely hard to lay it down and I would find myself reading into the early morning hours. I am patiently waiting for the movie. I have also read 'The Between' and 'The Living Blood'. Keep them coming Ms. Due!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Amazing!

    This book is absolutely amazing. I think I stayed up nearly 24 hours trying to finish this novel. I'm not a big sci-fi fan, but this book was definitely worth the read and left me breathless at some portions. Due creates characters that are so real, and they stick with you long after you finish reading. Granted, some of the religious elements are disturbing; nevertheless, I'm in awe of her writing ability. I can only hope to write novels as compelling. I would LOVE to see this made into a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Tananarive is AWESOME

    This book is outstanding. This the first book I have read by Ms Due, but before I completed "My Soul to Keep" I went back to the store and ordered "The Living Blood." The characters grab you and just pulls you into the story. You can't help but want to turn the pages. I am afraid my husband and daughter were sorely neglected for the day and a half it took me to read this book. It is a MUST READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    A spellbinding read

    I couldn't put this book down, it captured me from page 1. What a talented writer Tananarive Due is! The characters, the story, the intensity, it all took my breath away. I have the sequel, The Living Blood, and I'm starting it right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    This book touched me in a way that I wasn't expecting it to. Its

    This book touched me in a way that I wasn't expecting it to. Its was beautifully sad. That's the best way I can describe it. Perfectly written. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book & looking forward to the next one. Thank you to Ms. Due for this journey into the supernatural. Can't wait to start on the next one. And P.S. For some reason Blair Underwood does not come to mind to play the part of Dawit if this became a movie script. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Loved it

    Such suspence! Great read for paranormal readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    SupremeT

    Tananarive Due is magnificentm visionary storyteller. From the beginning of the story I was compelled, wishing I could be apart of the Living Blood. This story is supernaturally Spiritual. Wish my mind/imagination was that expansive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I love this author!. This story is so exciting and left me wanting for more. This is a great start to the tale of the Immortals. A must read if you love Sci- Fi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Keeper

    This was the first book I've read by this author and I'm not sure I would have read it on my own if not for a book club. However, I am so glad I did. I've read a lot of books pertaining to immortality (whether it be vampire or Carpathian), but I must say the origin of the immortals in this story is true genius. This story is acutally followed by two more (The Living Blood and Blood Colony) and I do hope a fourth one is to follow. The beginning was a little slow but by the fourth chapter I could not put this book down. Very thrilling, and at times down right scarry!!! A good read!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    This book was a great read, it kept my attention and had me awaiting the end of my work day so that I could get back to it. Although some parts were somewhat predictable, there were many shocking moments where you could not believe what was happening. Throughout the book, you are just dying to see how things will pan out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    I Loved This Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading MY SOUL TO KEEP. The vividness of Ms. Due's writing is what kept me turning the pages. I am definitely a fan of this writer and have also read Living Blood. The backdrop of both books completely stirred my imagination with characters, colors, scenery, etc. I look forward to reading her next novel. CG~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    A page turner!

    I can not express how wonderful this novel was. The story begins with who we think is an ordinary man witnessing his beloved pets death (foreshadowing of things to come of course)...and within pages we discover that he is not what he seems but an immortal. We are then propelled into his background, memories and past life to witness what made him what he is. This love story attempts to tackle the concept of choice....meaning if you could choose to live for forever with someone you love would you? Although I think he views his situation as a curse sometimes....he has lived to see several wives and children die....he also sees the irony in experiencing all that life has to offer...for years..centuries even. His decision to try to make those he loves immortal has consequences, some good and some bad. We see him kill for no other reason than to protect his secret. We see him wrestle with the knowledge that his deepest desire could be his greatest undoing. This novel will leave you spellbound, much like the Highlander movies. You see how someone who can live so long, can be so lonely. Although I read the sequel, 'The Living Blood', it did not have all the passion that this one had. I would give this novel a 10 if I could. And I have even picked this novel up over the years and read excerpts just to remember how wonderful it was. It is definately a must read that you should pick up the next time you are at the library or bookstore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    NOT YOUR ORDINARY NOVEL

    This book is excellent! I could not put it down. Ihave never read a book that had so much suspence, romance , horror and thrills in it. It was an excellent read, and so was the follow up LivingBlood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    Excellent

    An attention getter! I read the entire book in one sitting. I believe everyone will enjoy this book. I've read both this and The Between and loved both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2001

    Spectactular and well-written

    I picked up My Soul To Keep while my husband attended a meeting in Orlando. I had lots of free time, but I stayed in the hotel room and read non-stop. When my husband returned from his meetings, I didn't want to go anywhere because I was so involved in reading this book. I found it to be exciting at every turn, and nothing about it could be considered 'horror.' The characters were developed with such skill that I found myself loving all of them. Tananarive Due is a wonderful and skillful writer. I truly hated to see the book reach an end--and I'm looking forward to reading The Living Blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    MESMORIZING!!!!

    One of my favorite authors is Octavia Butler, and I've read all but two of her novels. It was difficult to find someone else I enjoy as much until my sister told me about MY SOUL TO KEEP. I read the book in no time at all, then immediately read its sequel, THE LIVING BLOOD which was a perfect follow up to MY SOUL TO KEEP. I loved Due's portrayal of all the characters, especially Kira and Fana, but particularly, Dawit who I could easily see someone like Lawence Fishborne playing his part in a major movie. I actually saw the book playing in my head as I read along. I so enjoyed this book that I hated for it end. I'm looking forward to Due's next efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2