Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Save (Soul Screamers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    LEAVE KATO ALONE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I have mixed feeling on this addition to the series. Kaylee really annoyed me but I enjoyed the story. Go figure!

    I'm still really enjoying the Bean Sidhe elements of this story. I liked learning about Demon's Breathe and how people can trade their soul. It was also interesting how demon's can get away with not fully explaining the contract's humans are signing. I liked the explaining of the otherworld and how it's the same and different from the one we live in. I also really liked Libby and the character she represents. So, basically if it dealt with the supernatural in this story, I loved it.

    But, the actual characters really grated on me for some reason this time. I wanted to smack Kaylee. I didn't like her attitude towards her dad. In my eyes she hadn't done anything to earn the freedom she felt like she deserved. I also disliked the talk of how Nash was 18 and didn't have to follow any rules because he was an adult and that Kaylee was looking forward to the same. Didn't work like that when I turned 18 and it certainly won't when my kids do. I also got really tired of the sexual tension between Nash and Kaylee. The author kept making it seem like that if Kaylee doesn't give in soon, Nash is going to walk out the door. I don't agree with that storyline.

    So, basically, I will be continuing this series. I really love the supernatural elements the storyline has. I'm hoping the characters grow up a little in the next one though. Sometimes parents really aren't out to get you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I still like this series, although the first book was a little better. I think the main reason for that is that I was hoping for a little further relationship development with Nash and Kaylee, and I feel like that got sidelined a little bit. Although, there were a few hot scenes which were hopefully a prelude of what's to come in the third installment. The story line was different from the first book, and well done, to be honest I was wondering how many Banshee related story lines Vincent could come up with since she wrapped the first book up so cleanly but I was pleasantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kaylee is back & in more trouble :)

    The second novel in the Soul Screamers series finds Kaylee adjusting to living with her newly returned father. She is taking lessons from Nash's mother, Harmony, on 'how to be a bean sidhe' in order to avoid the kind of trouble she got into in the past. The problem is, Kaylee seems to be looking for trouble or, at least, trouble finds her pretty easily. She and Nash, with some help from Tod, stumble upon a system where a Dekker media, bearing a very recognizable resemblance to Disney, sells the souls of young entertainers to an avarice demon in order to guarantee financial success and market domination. Kaylee and Nash are thrust into the middle of the whole ordeal when we learn that Addison, Tod's old girlfriend and rising teen star, has sold her soul for fame and fortune. Tod, who clearly still cares for Addy, plays upon Kaylee's sense of righteousness and convinces her to help him find a way to reclaim Addy's soul. Of course, things can't go smoothly. Kaylee finds herself in a mess with her father and, along the way, Addison's sister Regan sells her soul as well, so Kaylee is faced with having to save two souls instead of just one.

    In the end, all doesn't end happily. But, I think that's one of the things I like best about Vincent's writing. She's not afraid for her characters to fail--or, at least, not succeed entirely. I would have liked more of the story to have taken place outside the main plot line. Kaylee's character is facing some major changes and I'd like to see more exploration of that. Also, I hope that, in the future, Aiden's character, Kaylee's father, is more developed. I'm sure that Kaylee and Nash's relationship will be explored in more depth, as things progress and the characters grow.

    My Soul to Save (Soul Screamers Book 2), overall, is a good story. I feel like it was focused a bit too much on the main plot, to the extent that character development was minimal. Aside from some insight into Tod, I don't feel like I learned a whole lot more about the story's characters. I didn't really care for Addison or Regan, so it wasn't easy to empathize with Kaylee's desire to help them; though I easily understood Nash's reluctance to have any part in helping them. I am looking forward to reading My Soul to Keep (Soul Screamers, Book 3), and I hope that I'll learn more about Kaylee and her family/friends in the books to come.

    Follow me as readerbarbara at blogspot dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Great Read to a Series

    This is the second book of a trilogy. I got the first one as a Freebee and ended buying the second and third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3