Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Save (Soul Screamers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    My Soul to Save

    Chilling. This book is hands down chilling. Not in a bad way, in the suspenseful, edge of your seat what the heck is going to happen next way. I liked Nash's Reaper brother Tod in My Soul to Take. He was certainly morbid, but considering his job, I don't blame him. I didn't quite understand Nash or Kaylee's father's objections to her being friends with him, at least not until this book.

    Tod is a curious blend of selfish and selfless. It almost seems like he has a hierarchy where everyone he is friends with or cares for is placed on a certain rung. Unfortunately Kaylee doesn't matter quite as much as his ex-girlfriend Addison, so she pays the price to get Addison safe again.

    Not that I blame him, Kaylee volunteers herself (and Nash since she knew he wouldn't let her go to the Netherworld by herself) against a lot of opposition. I admire Kaylee for the fact that she's willing to risk everything to help save Addison's soul. Do I wish she had asked more questions before venturing into a place that could lead to her death? Sure, but she went in with the best of intentions.

    The pacing of this novel is faster than the first book--once the ball gets rolling on the group's game plan things continue to happen one after the other like dominoes. I sometimes wished we could have seen into Tod's head, especially as his actions seem to get shadier and shadier. What we as readers notice about his behavior, Kaylee doesn't. The gradual change in Tod's personality was more apparent to the reader, since we are on the outside looking in.

    Nash seemed less on top of things in this book, less sure of himself and how to do things. He obviously still wants to believe in Tod, despite the inherent animosity between Reapers and bean sidhe, but is finding it harder and harder. Part of it seems to be jealousy, because Tod pops up and will talk to Kaylee but not show himself to Nash, but some of it is also his protective instincts.

    The uber-Reaper, Lily, is a hoot. I want to see her again more than any other character.

    The end is bittersweet, with plans being foiled for everyone. Like the end of My Soul to Take, the answer to the problem seems easy, but the end result is devastating. Its painful to think about what happens to the souls honestly, the ones that are bought/bartered/sold to hellions. With the third book, My Soul to Keep due out in June 2010, I'm glad the wait isn't so long. I want to see more of Kaylee and Nash as well as the consequences of their time in the Netherworld.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not any where near as good as the first but still worth reading

    I have to admit I didn't like this nearly as much as My Soul to Take. It's probably 3.5 stars worthy more than 4. I really fell in love with the characters in the first one but it sort of annoyed me that Kaylee, who is the amateur in things Other, is the one that figures everything out. It also annoyed me that Nash just seemed to be along for the ride. He didn't really contribute anything significant to the plot or story. He seemed to just fill the part of a pretty face and that was quite disappointing. In spite of the aforementioned, I still believe My Soul to Save to be worth the time to read but I do hope that Vincent steps it up in the remaining books in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    Another good book by Rachel Vincent. Just enough suspense and my

    Another good book by Rachel Vincent. Just enough suspense and mystery to keep you interested, and the storyline is believable; I mean, I can see pop princesses selling their souls to get where they are!
    There were a few moments when I wanted to tell them they were being stupid, but something else would distract me and I'd forget about it.
    All in all it was a good book and I plan to read the next one to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Teens are selling their souls for fame and fortune without readi

    Teens are selling their souls for fame and fortune without reading the fine print of their contracts. Tod's ex-girlfriend is one of them. Kaylee, Nash and Tod are going to try to get it back.

    I like this book, but I am wavering between giving it 3 stars or 4 stars because a inconsistency at the end of the book. So I guess it gets 3 1/2 stars. I bumped it up to 4 instead of rounding it down to three because I did tear-up at the end.

    Kaylee is very likeable and tangible character. I like Nash, but I am hoping his personality gets flushed out a bit more in the next book. Tod.....I don't know if I like him or hate him, which actually makes him fun to read.

    The one great thing that I am growing to like about Rachel Vincent is that she doesn't wrap up her books in a big red bow with rainbows spilling out the sides. There is collateral damage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Great!

    Yet another great book in the Soul Screamers series. Vincent has done it again and has left me wanting more! An amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    Soul Screamers
    By Rachel Vincent
    "She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

    Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next."

    I have a lot to say about the series. I wish I could write my own synopsis, but I can't come up with anything better, one that says it all in less than 100 words. First, I'll go over the series negatives: cussing, explicit situations, drugs (well..of the supernatural variety.) I think that covers it.. Anyway, What I want to say about the series that's positive: It's a fantastically unique series. I love it. I think it's worth it's negatives, it has good plot, good contrast, I mean, it has those negatives, but it has some really amazing positives. I need to finish 'If I Die' but it's just a really original series. No ripped off plots here. I recommend it to all paranormal lovers (like me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Nice

    Awwwwwwwww I loved seeing Tod's soft side. It's a great story and the ending tells you that there are more awesome adventures to come. Although I don't think Kaylee would mind if there weren't any adventures for a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    worth gettin

    this book it worth getting it is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Soul Screamers still great

    When last we left Kaylee Cavanaugh, she'd come to terms with her status as a bean sidhe (banshee), helped stop people's sudden bouts of dropping-dead-for-no-reason, and began dating Nash Hudson, a bean sidhe with looks, brains, and sweetness.

    Now, in book two, Kaylee steps more fully into the heroine role, because now she's coming into her own as a character and actively harnessing her power to help others. Nash's brother Tod, a grim reaper whose day job is harvesting souls, scores concert tickets for Nash and Kaylee, but they're floored when the headlining singer dies in the middle of a song. When Eden collapses, Kaylee doesn't scream her lungs out as a female bean sidhe always does when someone dies, and they learn that this is because Eden was soulless. She traded her soul to a demon in exchange for fame, and the demon sustained her life-force until it was time to collect on her debt.

    Then Kaylee and crew learn that Eden's opening act, Addison Page, who incidentally happens to be an ex-girlfriend of Tod's, has also sold her soul to a hellion and has only five days before her time is up. Kaylee's not the kind of girl to sit back and allow reasonably-innocent people to lose their souls without a fight, so she's got to travel to and from the Netherworld in order to find a way to break the hellion's contract and save the young pop star's soul.

    High points: 1. As previously stated, Kaylee's personal growth. She's taking bean sidhe lessons with Nash's mom and learning how to use her wail, rather than letting it use her. Atta girl! I love seeing effort, discipline, and determination in an MC. 2. We learn so much more about the Netherworld and its quirks and inhabitants--the world-building is starting to get really detailed, and it's introduced in little glimpses that pique reader curiosity. 3. Kaylee and Nash's relationship develops, but she's still plagued by doubts that her gorgeous boyfriend is only with her because she's a bean sidhe. The only downside to the story is the fact that there's not quite enough Nash/Kaylee interaction and dialogue in the book, since they're focused on saving other people's souls. 4. Tod. I love him muchly. He's snarky and dangerous, and he also has a heart of gold. Is it too much wishful thinking to hope that he'll eventually hook up with Kaylee's best friend Emma, so we can see him 24/7?

    My Soul to Save is a great second installment in what is shaping up to be a truly scrumptious YA series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, solid addition to a great series.

    ...Overall, this was a good read and it's whetted my appetite for more from the gang. I'd like to see Kaylee working with her Father more often to save the souls of those that need her help. It would be so cool to see her work with both her Dad, her Uncle and then Nash and Nash's mother. This was another solid story from Vincent and I cannot wait to dig into the next book. Especially since I read somewhere that the author mentioned that in the next book there's betrayal? I hope that Nash doesn't betray Kaylee because I like those two together. I want to see more of them.

    Would I recommend this book? Of course, if you liked the first book then I think you'll like this one too.

    To read the full review, visit http://thebookscoop.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    I borrowed this book.

    Soul Screamers #2

    For a book all about death, demons and soul selling, My Soul to Save isn't that dark of a book. The second book in the Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent, it again follows Kaylee, a bean sidhe (banshee) by birth who is quite new to her powers. Still sensitive to her habits of screaming uncontrollably when someone is about to die, and how that leads to time in mental wards despite that it's completely normal for her, Kaylee is now in bean sidhe lessons with her boyfriend's mom (and 80 plus year old bean sidhe) Harmony. She's also finally living with her dad, who has sacrificed a higher paying job in Ireland for an attempt to raise his daughter.

    But no one approves when Kaylee discovers and decides to help a pop star (and ex-girlfriend of her boyfriend's brother) who has sold her soul to hellions and only has four days before she dies (and her soul is sentenced to eternal torture for the hellions' pleasure). While bean sidhe do have powers, and can walk into the demonic Netherworld, they aren't exactly big guns there, their powers put them directly in opposition with most of the Netherworld creatures and Kaylee herself is so new at being a bean sidhe she still smells like the packaging.

    My Soul to Save is off beat compared to the larger slice of urban fantasy YA books out there. No vampires, no teen family angst, no torn between multiple boys, popularity issues, etc. Kaylee has a pretty good head on her shoulders. She's clever, sweet and smart. Her biggest failing is not using the knowledge of the adults around her and instead trying to do everything herself. While Vincent does imply that asking for help might not have gotten the plot resolved, one can't help seeing how Kaylee does put herself in incredible danger, out of not just naivety, but at times a refusal to believe things are as dangerous as they are. To Kaylee this adventure is dangerous, but something she has to do. To the adults, and even the more knowledgeable teens, Kaylee's actions are DANGEROUS. The difference leads to readers wondering if Kaylee just doesn't understand, or isn't listening about the danger she's putting herself in.

    In a way this is the opposite of many UF tales, where the tension and danger are part of the story drama. Kaylee ends up with a very white knight feel, noble, but mere steps away from being high -horsed (if she developed a chip on her shoulder, or had the thought of her actions making her better than the people around her) or naive to the point of stupidity (if she doesn't learn anything from her very close brushes with death in this book). Overall there's a feel of idealism to Kaylee and this series that will appeal to readers who might be tired of dark, nihilistic paranormal adventures, but there's also real danger which will appeal to readers tired of convenient plots or fluffy paranormal worlds.

    The Soul Screamers series is different from the popular styles today, so readers really should take advantage of Vincent's free prequel novella on her website before deciding whether to continue the series or not. The books are good, but are poised to shift the focus of what's popular in the YA genre rather than following or expanding current trends. As such readers stuck in the popularity mindset might not find the Soul Screamers as appealing at this point, but the writing and story are there and quite enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed both books in this series. I borrowed the first one from the library, but couldn't wait for the second and went out and bought it (I'll buy the first one too!) If you enjoy fantasy with a side of some romance. You'll enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    i never knew Greek history could be to fun

    Great book. the series is one of the best ever. You can really see how she puts two and two together to create a new story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic New Series

    I started this book because I was waiting for my other books by Rachel Vincent (her Shifters series) to arrive via mail and thought I'd give myself a peek at her writing style, even though the book is geared towards young adult. If her Shifter series is anywhere near as good as this book, I won't be disappointed.

    It's a fast-pace, absolutely engrossing read. The story started with a dramatic scene and didn't ever slow down after that. The book's paranormal twist was unique and utterly intriguing-I can honestly say I've never seen bean sidhe (banshees) brought into this kind of story before. Add a grim reaper or two and things get really interesting.

    Kaylee was a very sympathetic and authentic character and I liked her love interest Nash who is (and I feel a little weird saying this about a teenager) very yummy. The only problem I saw, and it was a very minor one, was that the relationship between them when from zero to sixty with nothing in between. They officially meet, she finds him a little suspicious and untrustworthy, then they are kissing, then they trust each other implicitly. There was no real building of the relationship. Since this is not unusual for this kind of book, I wasn't terribly disappointed.

    Ultimately, it was a fantastic read and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly. I'm going to pick up the next one-My Soul to Save-very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Whiney Pop Stars?

    Not as good as the first one, but still a good read. I found Addison Page (and her little sister) annoying and whiney.

    Kaylee is still a good character, and Tod isn't too bad, but I feel like Nash is just there to be there. He doesn't really bring much to the table, except to remind everyone that he's there to keep Kaylee safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6