Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great READ!!!

    I have never been so pissed off while reading a book. Sometimes I get mad and then get over it. But after reading this book I was mad for days!!


    Kaylee is struggling with trust. Trust that has been broken takes time to be repaired, but not in Nash's case. Instead his ex-girlfriend comes in to town making it all to easy for him to fall into another arms. Kaylee is pressured with all kinds of circumstances and is now fighting for a guy.


    Let me just say I love Kaylee. She has always been such a great character that has grown immensely before my eyes. But in this book she is nothing but weak! Instead of putting her foot down and putting Nash in his place she always allows him to control her. She's already giving him a second chance and now he says he whats it this way and she does it! OMG! I was furious. Strong Kaylee is not so strong anymore.


    And don't get me started on Sabine and Tod! They are both are on my crap list. It is one thing to go after something you want but boy did she fight dirty. And Tod asked Kaylee to do something that I never thought he asked. How could he??? Does everyone want Kaylee to give up everything for everyone? What about her? Does anyone care to ask what she wants? Kaylee has done nothing but rescue everyone no matter the circumstances. Isn't it time someone rescue her?


    Ok, rant over.


    This book is one hundred percent so freaking awesome! If you have not read this series, you most definitely should. This is one series that you could not put down. EVER! With every new book, Ms.Vincent writes it even more exciting, more intensity, and much more fun. She knows exactly how to bring her characters to life with zeal and strength. I love every minute of reading it. But be forewarned it will take you on one emotional roller coaster!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    AWESOME!

    I love this book... :D definitly worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Fans of the series will love this book!

    MY SOUL TO STEAL, by Rachel Vincent, is definitely my favorite of the series so far. Each of these books steps up the action and danger and this one was no different. From the last book we left Kaylee and Nash broken up because of his addiction to the Netherworld drug, frost. This book begins after they have been apart for a few weeks and it had been torture for the both of them. But just as they begin talking again, Sabine steps into the picture.

    I initially read about Sabine from the short story, Fearless, from the anthology Kiss Me Deadly: 13 Tales of Paranormal Love (Review). She was dating Nash two years prior to My Soul To Take. Sabine gives Kaylee a run for her money and complicates the delicate nature of her and Nash's relationship that is currently in shambles. These two are at each others throats the entire time. It was simultaneously comedic and sometimes sad. Each of these girls appeals to a different part of Nash and I was having a hard time figuring out who he needed more. But that aside, I am and will always be a Kaylee/Nash shipper.

    Kaylee was definitely the strongest I have ever seen her. She did not give into the pressure that Sabine was dishing out. There were times I wanted her to get over what happened but when I put myself in her position, I could see where the trust issues between her and Nash created a barrier. And Sabine's ability to exploit fears was not helpful at all.

    While I was distracted with Nash, Kaylee, and Sabine, I was missing out on the disasters that were slowing snowballing during the book. The climactic 'fight' was definitely full of chaos and crazy action.

    Vincent has definitely done it again with this book. Her ability to create a legitimate love triangle and still keep up the pacing of a story filled with action and suspense is why this series is one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A Must Read !

    At first, the Soul Screamers books were not as amazing to me as they are now. My friend had bought the first one and raved about it, so she bought the sequels and persisted that I read them. When I picked up My Soul to Keep, I found the plot interesting but the novel was only okay to me. But as I got through the whole series, I started liking them more and more.

    The cover of My Soul to Steal is definitely my favorite out of the current four novels in the series (excluding the novellas). I'm assuming the girl on the front is Kaylee and the boy caressing her is Nash. Their body language is really well shown and the colors draw you in. The model for Nash is exactly how I picture him, so that is a plus.

    If you're familiar with this book, then you know the characters. A new character is Sabine, Nash's past girlfriend. She is gorgeous, threatening and oh yeah, a mara (literally your worst nightmare). Throughout the story, I wanted to punch her for being so self-absorbed and heartless. During certain moments though, I could not help but understand Sabine and not hate her as much. Still, she isn't the person that I would want to talk to.

    Also, Nash wins back my heart in this one. Even though Nash is supposed to be the heart-throb of the story, I always loved Tod more. Nash was such a butt in the last book and I was almost afraid to read this one knowing what happened in the past. But I have to say that his actions and words make me forgive him.

    It would be an understatement if I said this book is great. It isn't great; it is phenomenal. On the first page, insane things start to happen that hooks you right from the start. The events in this novel are like a snowball rolling down a mountain getting bigger as it gains momentum. Ounce you expect things to die down a little, Rachel Vincent shocks you by continuing to build up. I swear my anxiety was about to explode along with the climax of the novel.

    Honestly, when I read the summary I thought the book would be about Kaylee and Sabine 'fighting' for Nash's heart and all. It wasn't. There is so much that happens in under 350 pages that a few times I had to go over the events in my head again so I wouldn't get confused. There is a lot more action in this book that my heart raced even when I wasn't reading. Rachel Vincent crafts the next chapter in Kaylee's life so well that it is hard to believe what I am reading is fiction.

    Believe me; the fourth novel will not disappoint any Soul Screamers fan. If you have not read this series yet, I urge you to do so!

    Rating: 5 / 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    I am going to start this review with a story of my own ¿ Back w

    I am going to start this review with a story of my own …

    Back when I was in high school I was not popular but not picked on either. It was a pleasant experience overall. BUT (you know there was a but) I had a nemesis. We will call her M. I doubt she reads this, but I don’t want to call her out JUST in case. Anyway, M seemed to go out of her way to steal my boyfriend. Inviting him out, excluding me, showing up at his house, buying him gifts – all under the pretense that ‘they had been friends for years’ – uh huh, not falling for it. It stressed me out and pissed me off and I was glad when I graduated, went to college, said boyfriend and I broke up, and I moved on with my life. I hadn’t thought about M in a really long time.

    The reason I am telling you this story, is because this book threw me right back to the days where dealing with M was a daily occurrence. This whole book made me anxious and angry and upset. My chest felt tight and while I couldn’t put the book down I was dreading picking it up at the same time. Whoa. That’s never happened to me before.

    I would call that a win in my opinion. A book that takes you back to a time in life and makes you re-live all those same feelings is well written. Stressful as hell to read – but well written.

    As I have come to expect from Vincent the whole cast of characters were fleshed out and true to form. There are some character shifts which I am looking forward to seeing fleshed out in the next book or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book has presented me with a bit of a problem. While I lov

    This book has presented me with a bit of a problem. While I loved all of the new elements introduced into the story, namely the world's most determined mara, it frustrated me so much that I almost had to throw the book against the wall a few times. Almost. I could never bring myself to put the book down because I just had to find out what happened next. Of course, I already knew, considering this is a reread, but everyone changes so much in this book that it feels like I'm finally rediscovering the characters that I knew from after If I Die.

    There are some new things that I was glad to see had slipped through the cracks the first time around. I began to notice the little details that I had missed before, like who is always there for Kaylee when she needs them, and who is definitely… not. Seemingly insignificant changes in the way certain people look at her – insignificant because they never really mattered until later on in the series. That doesn't mean that they weren't noticed, just that there were more important things going on at the moment, so they were overlooked.

    And there was so much going on in this book. Just because Kaylee was going through a bit of a rough patch in the romance department, doesn't mean that there won't be some world, or at least Texas, threatening dilemma for her to solve.

    Then there's Sabine. The first time through this book, I hated her for everything she was and everything she did to Kaylee. It just wasn't fair. She had been through so much already and she still felt responsible for saving the world with her own two hands. Now there's a Nightmare with abandonment issues determined to pry her maybe-boyfriend from her cold, dead hands. The universe was tragically out of balance.

    This time, I looked at it in a whole different way. After reading the short stories from Sabine's point of view, "Neiderwald" and "Fearless," I can completely understand why she's not willing to play fair. She never meant to hurt Kaylee – in fact, on many occasions she called her a friend – it's just that she was the one thing standing in the way of her life. And Nash was her life; he was everything she needed to keep going on, and once he left, she had nothing.

    It doesn't take a genius to see that Kaylee and Nash are no longer perfect for each other. Kaylee doesn't need Nash like Sabine does, at least not any more. Whether she likes it or not, he has changed, and the Nash that she fell in love with is no more.

    But she is not alone. To take the place of her fallen hero is another, one that I have been very glad to see. Whether or not he will stay is one question, but without a doubt, he will be causing quite a bit of trouble, which is why we love him oh so very much.

    Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    My soul to steal

    Very good not the best in the series but still very good :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    If you have been reading this series, this book is important. Don't miss it.

    As usual, Rachel Vincent keeps to her great writing in My Soul to Steal. If you have not read the series, start at book 1. It's a great series. Whatever Rachel Vincent writes, it's a good read. I wish she would get these books written faster. It will be a year to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Great Read...

    I picked up this book as soon as I finished my soul to keep. I wish I would've waited because MSTKeep was so heartbreaking that I don't think that it was fair to MSTSteal.
    If you've read my review for MSTKeep you know how absolutely shattered my heart was after reading that one. Not only was I a total mess but by the end of the book I was angry with one of the character's for what he did to another character.
    So in this fourth installment of the Soul Screamers series we get to know Tod a bit more which was a very good thing. I am now FIRMLY #TEAMTOD. We are also introduced to Sabine, Nash's ex-girlfriend. This of course leads to problems in an already shaky situation.
    I have to say that I honestly found this novel frustrating. I think that part of it was that I was still so angry from the MSTKeep that I couldn't stop seeing red in this one. I wanted Kaylee to be angrier with everything that happened. I wanted to her to give a certain someone a big slap into next week. However, I always feel that looking into the box is much easier to do than to be in the box and try to make decisions.
    Overall, I felt that this was a necessary way to go with the story and a great introduction to Sabine. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Rachel Vincent and especially her Soul Screamers Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    Soul Screamers
    By Rachel Vincent
    "She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

    Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next."

    I have a lot to say about the series. I wish I could write my own synopsis, but I can't come up with anything better, one that says it all in less than 100 words. First, I'll go over the series negatives: cussing, explicit situations, drugs (well..of the supernatural variety.) I think that covers it.. Anyway, What I want to say about the series that's positive: It's a fantastically unique series. I love it. I think it's worth it's negatives, it has good plot, good contrast, I mean, it has those negatives, but it has some really amazing positives. I need to finish 'If I Die' but it's just a really original series. No ripped off plots here. I recommend it to all paranormal lovers (like me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    I thought this book was very good but a little inaprpiate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    Love the series and love the tension between lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Slightly Disappointed

    I really love soul screamers and the story caught my attention from the first book. The first 3 books were really AWESOME but the first few chapters of book 4 was good as well, but then I had a hard time keeping my attention on the story. I felt that the story ling in book 4 was not as strong and it didn't really give me the urge to keep flipping the page. I kind of lost the point of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    AMAZING

    This is the best Soul Screamers yet! Hate Sabine. Love Tod. Not sure about Nash anymore . . . The ending had me so upset. I don't want to wait for months for the next one. No one will once they read this. It is one of my all time favorite books. I've read it three times so far and intend to read it again many more times. Seriously get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Awsome story

    Awsome book!! Loved it.. hope there will be more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To read ASAP!

    ok...
    book 4 on the Soul Screamers series...
    Kaylee...I really don't know if I should slap her or kiss her...
    but I fully understand her...on the fact involving Nash...(her maybe-ex-or-not boyfriend)
    when someone crushes all the trust you have for her/him specially the one who's had your back more counts that you can possibly remember...and love so much it really is a pain...
    how can you forgive and trust that person again??
    beeing Nash the one that did that to Kaylee must've sucked for her...
    bringing Sabine in the picture...ok!!NOT COOL!!
    I didn't like her since I start reading about her in the book...I STILL DO NOT LIKE HER...REPEATING...DO NOT LIKE HER ONE TINY BIT...and hate Nash for so bluntly liking and caring for her...
    Nash's obviously still loves Kaylee...and Alec!!yum!!
    Avari!!please desapear from existance will you??
    this book was FULL OF PAIN!! so you're in for a really painful ride...but the again what book doesn't lately'?
    this time...Kaylee doesn't just have to deal with someone trying to steal Nash away from her...but someone stealing herself too!!(even I didn't uderstand that last sentece)
    uhm...for the weird part...OK...WHAT'S WITH THE SWIRLING EYES ON TOD AND KAYLEE NEVER BEEING ABLE TO FULLY READ THEM BEFORE IT DISAPEARS??
    if it means what I think it means...then I damn!! cuz I wouldn't like to choose between the 2 (hot-lovely) brothers...
    Kaylee still proves STRONG...BRAVE...INDEPENDENT...yet still manages to be FRAGILE-BREAKABLE-INNOCENT-therefore the envy that Sabine crealy has towards her...
    & please let's just not leave dear bf EMMA out of the picture!! I like the fact that she's FINALLY in on everything that really goes on with Kaylee and her daily life...
    so...loved-hated this book!
    nightmares are a strong point in the book...everything revolves around them and what they represent---
    making it short?
    your deepest and darkest secrets...
    when strange stuff starts happening(again) in Kay's high school...who has to come and save the day??
    OBVIOUSLY her...and her gang...wich I'm gratefull still consists on NASH & TOD(sighs)~who may I add!!has a starring role in this book!!~
    but now is bigger and fuller with SABINE(ugh)EMMA and YEI!!!!THE NEW FURRY THINGS!!wich I'm dying to have!!!
    definitely a read you CAN NOT MISS!!!for anything!
    5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Book At A Time Review

    I was curious were the story was going to go after what happened in My Soul To Keep. I really wasn't expecting to go on an emotional roller coaster. It's funny how some emotions you can really identify with no matter what your age might be.

    I really felt for Kaylee. She's trying so hard to deal with her own emotions and how she feels about Nash and his actions. I don't blame her one bit for wanting to sort through all that. I'm not sure I agree with the choice to stay away from Nash while he's coming off his addiction, but I understood why she did it. I really was wrapped up in the way Nash was making her feel during this entire book.

    Nash is your typical boy. I was surprised he really seemed to think that everything would be fine after 2 weeks. And I really hated that he could not understand why Kaylee did not like Sabine and his relationship. It seemed perfectly reasonable to me. And Sabine was a downright vicious character. I liked her, but she was extreme. Oddly enough I really disliked Todd during this story. I wonder if he didn't have an ulterior motive for saying what he did. I don't think he could truly believe that what he was saying was the best outcome for all.

    I find the greed demon (Avarti?) down right creepy. He seems hell bent on getting Kaylee in the netherworld to torture forever. I shudder at how he can take over anyone at will and uses them to toy with Kaylee. Hopefully they can all figure out how to take care of that little problem (which I betting is the ultimate goal of the series). I'm looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    if this book was nit good i wouldnt make the time to write a review :)

    i really enjoyied this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent

    Rachel Vincent changed pace in the new edition to the Soul Screamers series. My Soul to Steal finds all of our well loved characters trying to maintain some existence of normalcy after the big show down of My Soul to Take. After the uncovering of Nash's addiction emotions are on the all time high. While he is trying to recover Kaylee is trying to discover herself without the Nash influence. Particularly, deciding if her life is to include Nash in it's future or not. New characters are unveiled in this fourth book, most importantly to the newcomers is Sabine. Sabine just happens to be Nash's old girlfriend that he had more than an innocent crush on. This hard core character is hard core, and out for blood when it comes to a future with Nash. After years of determination she has finally managed to land herself back within groping distance, and that is far from all she is doing. With confusion and jealousy Kaylee finds herself in unfamiliar ground that she not only fights everyday to hang on to her boyfriend; she fights through the night too. This could be solely due to the fact that Nash's ex girlfriend is a Nightmare, literally. Since discovering Nash's addiction and betrayal Todd has become very protective over Kaylee, but when Sabine begins her prowl Todd takes a very interesting stance that leaves Kaylee questioning his friendship and loyalty. Has everything begins to unravel our well loved character will find that they are still not safe from the Netherworld, especially when things from the Netherworld will not stay in the Netherworld. This was yet another gripping story with twists and turns that keep Vincent's readers guessing. She creates stories pack full of suspense, romance, and mystery that keep readers coming back again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11