Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great READ!!!

    I have never been so pissed off while reading a book. Sometimes I get mad and then get over it. But after reading this book I was mad for days!!


    Kaylee is struggling with trust. Trust that has been broken takes time to be repaired, but not in Nash's case. Instead his ex-girlfriend comes in to town making it all to easy for him to fall into another arms. Kaylee is pressured with all kinds of circumstances and is now fighting for a guy.


    Let me just say I love Kaylee. She has always been such a great character that has grown immensely before my eyes. But in this book she is nothing but weak! Instead of putting her foot down and putting Nash in his place she always allows him to control her. She's already giving him a second chance and now he says he whats it this way and she does it! OMG! I was furious. Strong Kaylee is not so strong anymore.


    And don't get me started on Sabine and Tod! They are both are on my crap list. It is one thing to go after something you want but boy did she fight dirty. And Tod asked Kaylee to do something that I never thought he asked. How could he??? Does everyone want Kaylee to give up everything for everyone? What about her? Does anyone care to ask what she wants? Kaylee has done nothing but rescue everyone no matter the circumstances. Isn't it time someone rescue her?


    Ok, rant over.


    This book is one hundred percent so freaking awesome! If you have not read this series, you most definitely should. This is one series that you could not put down. EVER! With every new book, Ms.Vincent writes it even more exciting, more intensity, and much more fun. She knows exactly how to bring her characters to life with zeal and strength. I love every minute of reading it. But be forewarned it will take you on one emotional roller coaster!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    AWESOME!

    I love this book... :D definitly worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Fans of the series will love this book!

    MY SOUL TO STEAL, by Rachel Vincent, is definitely my favorite of the series so far. Each of these books steps up the action and danger and this one was no different. From the last book we left Kaylee and Nash broken up because of his addiction to the Netherworld drug, frost. This book begins after they have been apart for a few weeks and it had been torture for the both of them. But just as they begin talking again, Sabine steps into the picture.

    I initially read about Sabine from the short story, Fearless, from the anthology Kiss Me Deadly: 13 Tales of Paranormal Love (Review). She was dating Nash two years prior to My Soul To Take. Sabine gives Kaylee a run for her money and complicates the delicate nature of her and Nash's relationship that is currently in shambles. These two are at each others throats the entire time. It was simultaneously comedic and sometimes sad. Each of these girls appeals to a different part of Nash and I was having a hard time figuring out who he needed more. But that aside, I am and will always be a Kaylee/Nash shipper.

    Kaylee was definitely the strongest I have ever seen her. She did not give into the pressure that Sabine was dishing out. There were times I wanted her to get over what happened but when I put myself in her position, I could see where the trust issues between her and Nash created a barrier. And Sabine's ability to exploit fears was not helpful at all.

    While I was distracted with Nash, Kaylee, and Sabine, I was missing out on the disasters that were slowing snowballing during the book. The climactic 'fight' was definitely full of chaos and crazy action.

    Vincent has definitely done it again with this book. Her ability to create a legitimate love triangle and still keep up the pacing of a story filled with action and suspense is why this series is one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A Must Read !

    At first, the Soul Screamers books were not as amazing to me as they are now. My friend had bought the first one and raved about it, so she bought the sequels and persisted that I read them. When I picked up My Soul to Keep, I found the plot interesting but the novel was only okay to me. But as I got through the whole series, I started liking them more and more.

    The cover of My Soul to Steal is definitely my favorite out of the current four novels in the series (excluding the novellas). I'm assuming the girl on the front is Kaylee and the boy caressing her is Nash. Their body language is really well shown and the colors draw you in. The model for Nash is exactly how I picture him, so that is a plus.

    If you're familiar with this book, then you know the characters. A new character is Sabine, Nash's past girlfriend. She is gorgeous, threatening and oh yeah, a mara (literally your worst nightmare). Throughout the story, I wanted to punch her for being so self-absorbed and heartless. During certain moments though, I could not help but understand Sabine and not hate her as much. Still, she isn't the person that I would want to talk to.

    Also, Nash wins back my heart in this one. Even though Nash is supposed to be the heart-throb of the story, I always loved Tod more. Nash was such a butt in the last book and I was almost afraid to read this one knowing what happened in the past. But I have to say that his actions and words make me forgive him.

    It would be an understatement if I said this book is great. It isn't great; it is phenomenal. On the first page, insane things start to happen that hooks you right from the start. The events in this novel are like a snowball rolling down a mountain getting bigger as it gains momentum. Ounce you expect things to die down a little, Rachel Vincent shocks you by continuing to build up. I swear my anxiety was about to explode along with the climax of the novel.

    Honestly, when I read the summary I thought the book would be about Kaylee and Sabine 'fighting' for Nash's heart and all. It wasn't. There is so much that happens in under 350 pages that a few times I had to go over the events in my head again so I wouldn't get confused. There is a lot more action in this book that my heart raced even when I wasn't reading. Rachel Vincent crafts the next chapter in Kaylee's life so well that it is hard to believe what I am reading is fiction.

    Believe me; the fourth novel will not disappoint any Soul Screamers fan. If you have not read this series yet, I urge you to do so!

    Rating: 5 / 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    I thought this book was very good but a little inaprpiate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    AMAZING

    This is the best Soul Screamers yet! Hate Sabine. Love Tod. Not sure about Nash anymore . . . The ending had me so upset. I don't want to wait for months for the next one. No one will once they read this. It is one of my all time favorite books. I've read it three times so far and intend to read it again many more times. Seriously get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Awsome story

    Awsome book!! Loved it.. hope there will be more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To read ASAP!

    ok...
    book 4 on the Soul Screamers series...
    Kaylee...I really don't know if I should slap her or kiss her...
    but I fully understand her...on the fact involving Nash...(her maybe-ex-or-not boyfriend)
    when someone crushes all the trust you have for her/him specially the one who's had your back more counts that you can possibly remember...and love so much it really is a pain...
    how can you forgive and trust that person again??
    beeing Nash the one that did that to Kaylee must've sucked for her...
    bringing Sabine in the picture...ok!!NOT COOL!!
    I didn't like her since I start reading about her in the book...I STILL DO NOT LIKE HER...REPEATING...DO NOT LIKE HER ONE TINY BIT...and hate Nash for so bluntly liking and caring for her...
    Nash's obviously still loves Kaylee...and Alec!!yum!!
    Avari!!please desapear from existance will you??
    this book was FULL OF PAIN!! so you're in for a really painful ride...but the again what book doesn't lately'?
    this time...Kaylee doesn't just have to deal with someone trying to steal Nash away from her...but someone stealing herself too!!(even I didn't uderstand that last sentece)
    uhm...for the weird part...OK...WHAT'S WITH THE SWIRLING EYES ON TOD AND KAYLEE NEVER BEEING ABLE TO FULLY READ THEM BEFORE IT DISAPEARS??
    if it means what I think it means...then I damn!! cuz I wouldn't like to choose between the 2 (hot-lovely) brothers...
    Kaylee still proves STRONG...BRAVE...INDEPENDENT...yet still manages to be FRAGILE-BREAKABLE-INNOCENT-therefore the envy that Sabine crealy has towards her...
    & please let's just not leave dear bf EMMA out of the picture!! I like the fact that she's FINALLY in on everything that really goes on with Kaylee and her daily life...
    so...loved-hated this book!
    nightmares are a strong point in the book...everything revolves around them and what they represent---
    making it short?
    your deepest and darkest secrets...
    when strange stuff starts happening(again) in Kay's high school...who has to come and save the day??
    OBVIOUSLY her...and her gang...wich I'm gratefull still consists on NASH & TOD(sighs)~who may I add!!has a starring role in this book!!~
    but now is bigger and fuller with SABINE(ugh)EMMA and YEI!!!!THE NEW FURRY THINGS!!wich I'm dying to have!!!
    definitely a read you CAN NOT MISS!!!for anything!
    5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    if this book was nit good i wouldnt make the time to write a review :)

    i really enjoyied this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    BookWhisperer Review: My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent

    Rachel Vincent changed pace in the new edition to the Soul Screamers series. My Soul to Steal finds all of our well loved characters trying to maintain some existence of normalcy after the big show down of My Soul to Take. After the uncovering of Nash's addiction emotions are on the all time high. While he is trying to recover Kaylee is trying to discover herself without the Nash influence. Particularly, deciding if her life is to include Nash in it's future or not. New characters are unveiled in this fourth book, most importantly to the newcomers is Sabine. Sabine just happens to be Nash's old girlfriend that he had more than an innocent crush on. This hard core character is hard core, and out for blood when it comes to a future with Nash. After years of determination she has finally managed to land herself back within groping distance, and that is far from all she is doing. With confusion and jealousy Kaylee finds herself in unfamiliar ground that she not only fights everyday to hang on to her boyfriend; she fights through the night too. This could be solely due to the fact that Nash's ex girlfriend is a Nightmare, literally. Since discovering Nash's addiction and betrayal Todd has become very protective over Kaylee, but when Sabine begins her prowl Todd takes a very interesting stance that leaves Kaylee questioning his friendship and loyalty. Has everything begins to unravel our well loved character will find that they are still not safe from the Netherworld, especially when things from the Netherworld will not stay in the Netherworld. This was yet another gripping story with twists and turns that keep Vincent's readers guessing. She creates stories pack full of suspense, romance, and mystery that keep readers coming back again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    I LOVE IT

    So this is what I think...Kaylee is losing Nash he will prob end up with his old girlfriend....because if you think about Nash is not suppose to be alive...I believe If TOD was still alive HE was suppose to be Kaylee's soul Mate.....I have a feeling in the next book Tod may just come out with his feelings and i HOPE that they do hook up...because that would be a stronger relationship....Well that is my way of thinking...I just can not wait for the next book.....This book was great I was angry and pissed off but i really think Tod is falling for Kaylee and if she would not be stressing about Nash I think she would be figuring that out.The way he took her by the hand and felt something and also how he took her seriously about the pizza gig....I want them to hook up....!!!!!!!!! I love this book best one of all so far and if i am on the right track with Tod and Kaylee well then I will LOVE the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for Teens Read Too

    Book four of Rachel Vincent's SOUL SCREAMERS series begins with Kaylee trying to figure out how she can work things out with her maybe boyfriend, Nash. Kaylee knows that she can't ignore what happened, but their already strained relationship takes a turn for the worse when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school. Sabine appears beautiful, confident, and ready to take Nash away from Kaylee without looking back. She is also a mara, the living personification of a nightmare. She can read your fears and send you nightmares, which she then feeds upon while you sleep. Sabine isn't above terrifying Kaylee to get her hands back on Nash. As always, this installment is suspenseful, engaging, and worth every minute spent reading it. Ms. Vincent and her books are definitely worth a look, and once again there are many twists and turns to the story as Kaylee and gang try to figure out exactly what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Good Read, Great Actually!!!

    So this book was like a roller coaster with a lot of twist and turns. Not to mention how my stomach constantly dropped whenever Sabine came into the picture. I absolutely love Nash and Kaylee's relationship but it has been tested time and time again and I am not sure if their relationship will workout. I know that with the last book things happpened but Kaylee is having trust issues and Nash needs a friend and Kaylee isn't there for him. So someone is trying to take her place. I am not sure where Rachel is going to take Nash and Kaylee's relationship but I don't see how it will work with Sabine in the picture. I really like Tod but he really pissed me off telling Kaylee that her and Tod aren't meant to be. Maybe he likes Kaylee but whatever the case maybe... Avari needs to die and leave Kaylee and those she loves alone. Awaiting the next book. I have truely fallen in love with this series. Def going to keep reading Rachel's books. Fingers crossed that things do work out for Kaylee and Nash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Really Good

    Out of all the Soul Screamer books this one may be my favorite. I absolutely love Kaylee. She's strong and can take care of herself and isn't constantly the damsel in distress as much as other heroines. Nash also definitely redeems himself compared to the last novel. I thought I'd be routing for him and Kaylee to be back together, but I'm thinkin' that has changed. Considering how Ms. Vincent alludes to a secret admirer of Kaylee, I don't want Nash and her to get back together. I think it's time for her to move on and date someone else, specifically with her admirer. I'm a softy for him.
    The character of Sabine got on my nerves. The things she did to Kaylee I was surprised Kaylee didn't beat the crap out of her. I would have. That was the only bad thing, but it wasn't really bad either. Sabine kept it interesting. She was pretty witty at times.
    To sum it up: awesome book, can't wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Loved it!!

    It was absolutely a page turner! I finished it in a day! I loved, loved, loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    ANOTHER MEMORABLE READ!

    To say I loved this book would be an understatement. What I love most about ALL of Rachel Vincent's books is that I am inevitably emotionally drawn into her books and her characters. I find that reading her books give me such a state of anxiety that I often start them and can't put them down until I'm sure every situation has been resolved. The heartbreak I felt for Kaylee was hard to keep in check as I waited to see what curve life would throw her next. It was hard to read about the insecurity she feels but I liked that she's becoming a stronger person. Likewise, I wanted to stay mad at Nash for his previous actions but the depth of his loss is tangible and I found myself wanting Kaylee's forgiveness for him. I found this book tugged at my emotions more than the previous books but maybe it was because my thoughts and feelings were all over the place. Did I want Kaylee with Nash or did I want her to pick up the pieces and move on? Did I want to Sabine to find happiness and if so, with or without Nash? What did I want for Tod? Or Alec?
    If you've followed this series from the beginning, you won't be let down. If you aren't a Rachel Vincent fan, you should be! Love, love, love these books and this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7