Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Story, Love the Topic!

    One of the first things that caught my eye about the book My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent was that it was about banshees, or bean sidhes as they're referred to in the book. In a time when ya literature is swarmed with vampire novels (which I do love)and other paranormal activity, it was nice to find a novel that brought a new subject into the light. Never before had I read a book about Banshees. And I was amazed by this one (I'm a new banshee fan!). This story is about Kaylee Cavanaugh, who is slowly discovering that she is a Banshee. The story continues as she catches the attention of Nash Hudson, a very popular (though surprisingly sensitive) jock. Nash seems to know a lot about what's wrong with Kaylee. He helps her (along with Kaylee's best friend Emma) as they discover that something terrible is happening to teenage girls in their area. And all signs point to the Netherworld, a frightening place that is like an alternate reality where demons roam. As the tension goes on the stakes get higher. Any girl could be next...including Kaylee or Emma. This book was packed with action, romance and thrills and I couldn't put it down! I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good paranormal romance (but perhaps is looking for something fresh).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lov...Love...Loved It!!! (An absolutely great new series in my opinion)

    It has been a long time since a book has forced me to stay up reading, let alone finish in a day. I could not put this book down. I have been trying to find a new series to captivate me the way Twilight has and this has definately done it. Now don't misunderstand me, this is nothing like Twilight. So far no vampire or werewolves, but it does deal with another kind of supernatural being that I haven't seen to often in stories, Banshees or (Bean Sidhes) as it's written in the story. I am a vampire/paranormal romance reader and I am so glad I decided to buy this book, along with the 2nd in it's series, My Soul to Keep, which I will start reading tonight. I love the characters, I like the originality of the story, and I love Rachel Vincent's style of writing which made it easier for me to rlate to the story. Especially when at one point she writes, "Whatever I'd glimpsed was too big to be a rodent-unless we'd stepped into Buttercup's fire swamp-..." Only people who have seen the Princess Bride as many times as I have will understand that line, and I absolutely loved it. Definately will read more from her!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Soul to Take

    OHMYFREAKINGGOSH! I mean wowza. I have not read a story this original since uh hmm? I want to say ever, but that is untrue and unfair. So I will say its been awhile. Generally I have a problem with characters harping on how plain jane they are, unremarkably unattractive they are and/or how so amazing they are but since this is teenage girls, I find it acceptable. And even if I say I don't remember being as hot under the collar as Kaylee, I would be lying if I said I never was. It's just been so long. That said, the only real problem I had with the book was how fast and uneventful Kaylee and Nash established coupledom. And why? There was no time for us to see What they liked about each other, besides the fizzle business in the parts below. But that can be chalked up to my age. I need the substance that builds lasting love not the tingling neither parts that feeds luurve. But again hello, high schoolers.


    Now to everything else which I love. I loove it wasn't the overdone vampires, werewolves, shape shifters ect. Which even when done right and unique is still sort of like old hat. So kudos right off for that.


    The characters were believable teens. The loyalty, the cliques, the stereotypes groups. I am a firm believer that cliches are based in facts. Cheer/dance squads are mainly (b)witchy, girls within the same age range in same family have that competition for attention, girls do try to screw each other over when it comes to a high school hottie. So it was all believable.


    Now the imagery and consistency of it. Now with me I get bored with the scenery and backdrop descriptions. But other than that I sorta skim until I get past it and back to the substance. But that's just me. The netherworld description was well done.


    Okay, maybe I was a bad kid but if my parents pulled the crap her family pulled, they would not get off the hook that easily. I would be highly P-O'd. Honestly, you chose to have me believe I am crazy rather than tell me what was up? Heck no would they live that down. Kaylee was mad, which I loved but not mad enough. Kaylee was snarky but not nearly enough.


    Best of all it left me begging for more in the series. And unlike house of night Kaylee is not near the whore of the heart Zoey is. Which is hard to do in a YA novel. YA Girls love boys boys boys! And Vincent adds that hmm nice 3 point dimension to the story.

    catholickittie.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your typical paranormal teen book.

    Kaylee Cavanaugh she is not your average teenager. When someone around her is about to die, she gets an uncontrollable urge to scream. After getting information from her Uncle and new boyfriend Nash, she realizes there is a lot more to learn about who she is and what she can do. The story takes place over a short period of time, but the plot is chock full of twists and turns, with a climactic ending that sneaks up and punches you in the gut.

    MY SOUL TO TAKE is a great paranormal romance story for teen girls. Kaylee deals with the usual paranormal issues ("Where did I come from and how do I learn to control my powers?") along with the more normal teenage issues ("Does he like me and am I pretty enough for him?") Together with some uncommon paranormal myths, readers will delight in the Soul Screamers series.

    This book is a great start to the new Harlequin Teen line-up. Vincent has written an engrossing and spooky tale that will leave new readers begging for more action and answers! (While waiting for more, readers can check out the prequel, MY SOUL TO LOSE, available for free download on the eHarlequin site.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Great Series!!!

    Read the novellas first... then dive right into the five books in the "Soul Screamers" series! I hope there will be a # 6!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Something Different...

    When I first got this book about three weeks ago, I was definitly kinda stepping away from the Vampire werewolf theme...But Rachel Vincent is one of my favorite authors...After actually reading this book I couldn't put it down and I finished it in one day...It was that good...Its something different but still in the paranormal section...It reminds me of that show "Dead Like me" But ten times better...I loved the whole Banshee and grim Reaper thing! I just wished it was more thicker...But other than that it was worth the money and time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. And i m craving for the second one to come. It is now in my top list of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    Kaylee Cavanaugh is not your average teenage girl.

    There's something a bit off about her.

    Whenever she's near someone who is about to die, she can sense it. When that happens, she feels the urge to scream loud enough for everyone to hear.

    Kaylee wants to be a normal girl. Being a normal girl to Kaylee is going out on a date with her crush, Nash, who also happens to be the hottest guy in school. But going out on that date has to take a backseat when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason. Nash doesn't seem as in the dark as Kaylee feels, and she needs to know why.

    Who will die next? Only Kaylee knows for sure.

    Wonderfully written characters that are portrayed as typical teenagers that possess extraordinary powers. A fast-paced, engrossing read that you won't want to put down. A story that I wouldn't mind sharing with my preteen, although she'll have to wait until I am done.

    MY SOUL TO TAKE is a wonderful beginning to a series that fans of Ms. Vincent's adult SHIFTERS series will definitely be rushing out to buy. A book like this is one of the reasons that I add authors to my auto-buy list. This is definitely a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    This book is full of suspense and teenage angst. At times you wi

    This book is full of suspense and teenage angst. At times you will find yourself on edge waiting to see what happens, and others your thinking to yourself, seriously are you THANT dense?! Kaylee and Nash make a great couple, but I'm hoping in future books the author will bring into play that socially they are on opposite sides of the school and see what kind of drama that can stir up. I'm acutely interested to find out more about Todd as well, I think a love triangle would be a great twist in the future!
    Overall it's a really good book and I'm excited to read the next one.
    I was actually surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did being that there are no vampires...

    Audible was having a sale and I found this book among the titles, my deciding factor was the narrator - I've listened to several of her books in the past and enjoyed them so I figured, why not give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I read them all.

    And highly suggest you don't as you r in for a big dissapointment. Wish i hsd never read.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Loved it

    I read this book in 3 days. I enjoyed this book, especially since I understood the nevernever and what a bean sidth is, I can thank the Iron Fey series for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quick Read

    SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH KAYLEE CAVANAUGH

    She doesn't see dead people, but...
    She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally. Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about the need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next...

    Kaylee cannot control herself when she sees someone wearing the death shroud. She knows death is imminent and because of her Bean Sidhe (aka Banshee) heritage, an uncontrollable scream builds inside her every time. She never knew about the effects of her birthright (thinking she would have panic attacks instead) until high school hottie Nash Hudson's voice began to calm and coax her wailing side into submission. Now girls are dying left and right and Kaylee wants to help even though its not her "job" to do so.

    This was a quick read, but it was highly fun as well. I enjoyed the mixture of folklore and mystery and Kaylee came off as very realistic - stuck between an illness that brutally takes over her in not the best of situations and learning to enjoy the attentions of Nash, a popular ladies-man from her school. Along the way - you get to meet Reapers, learn about Kaylee's past, and slowly see a world that is unknown to most, except Bean Sidhe.

    Likes: What Kaylee sees in the Netherworld fog . . . spooky!

    Dislikes: The story dragged here and there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book started off on the right foot. I was interested by wha

    This book started off on the right foot. I was interested by what was going on with Kaylee and the characters around her (although I was most interested in Tod, who didn’t get much focus in the book). I was interested in a young adult urban fantasy about creatures I hadn’t yet read a story about. But as the story wore on, it wore on my patience. Maybe I should have known to expect it. When I saw that the book was a Harlequin Teen book, I expected PG-13 smut. However, it appears that a teen romance simply means that the main character and her love interest decided they were made for each other almost immediately after meeting. That’s not my cup of tea. Kaylee and Nash’s relationship seemed very artificial, as there were no layers of depth and no development to speak of. I believe people can only fall in insta-lust, not insta-love, so it was quite annoying to me. Given that this is one of the cornerstones of the book, I found it very hard to finish the book even though the story had an interesting plot. The book does have a good plot (although some of the twists are very predictable, at least to me), so if you don’t mind a quickly developing romance, you will probably like it more than I did. I’d recommend it to people that can stand Twilight. To me, the writing is better, but the main relationship has about the same depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Omg

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Really like this first book of the series and I am looking forwa

    Really like this first book of the series and I am looking forward to reading book two. I also liked how this author wrapped up this book quite nicely that it could have been a stand alone book but still leaves you wanting to know more about the characters. My Soul to Take has a nice flow which kept the story moving right along with a few surprises (at least for me!) at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing!!

    Im a big fan of the supernatural fictions, and this one is definately a favorite. Its different, creative, and beautifully executed. One of the best books Ive ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    Ok im confused. Is there like two books of the first one for
    this series? I saw this one and another one but they both said the first book... can anyone tell me? Thank you.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth reading!

    1st: The cover: I adore it! This is the U.K edition which is way prettier than the U.S one. It completely suits the story and the heroine, Kaylee. There¿s one thing I¿m not sure I understand, which is the review written on the cover by Kirkus Reviews, what does Twilight have in common with the Soul Screamers series?? If you know, then please share it with me! 2nd: The content: Before you read this books, go and get the free prequel from here or else you will feel like you were left out when you start this one :). What I loved most about it is that it¿s not that romantic although we do have some romantic atmosphere in the story, which only added to the beauty of the story. If I was asked to categorize it I¿d definitely put it in the horror shelf, my favorite :D. The story is just unique and twisted. You could not guess how it¿ll develop or end up, you¿ll be interested to know what¿s going on while you¿re reading you wont be able to put the book down, at all! Just for your information, the story isn¿t so scary and it¿s a bit funny, you¿ll find yourself laughing from chapter to chapter. The story was well written and I liked that there weren¿t too many chapters and that each one wasn¿t so long :). The end is in one word awesome. 3rd: The characters: I¿ll definitely say that my favorite characters are Tod, Nash and Kaylee in this exact order. I love them! Once Tod shows up in the story, you¿ll start reading funny moments ^_^ Conclusion: The book is just good. You¿ll really enjoy it if you¿re into horror/funny/romantic YA novels. If it was up to me, I wouldn¿t compare it to Twilight but to The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting which I didn¿t like much, not until I got to the second book. This one is way much better :). I hope you enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    this book is great

    this is one of my favorite series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25