Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Soul to Take

    OHMYFREAKINGGOSH! I mean wowza. I have not read a story this original since uh hmm? I want to say ever, but that is untrue and unfair. So I will say its been awhile. Generally I have a problem with characters harping on how plain jane they are, unremarkably unattractive they are and/or how so amazing they are but since this is teenage girls, I find it acceptable. And even if I say I don't remember being as hot under the collar as Kaylee, I would be lying if I said I never was. It's just been so long. That said, the only real problem I had with the book was how fast and uneventful Kaylee and Nash established coupledom. And why? There was no time for us to see What they liked about each other, besides the fizzle business in the parts below. But that can be chalked up to my age. I need the substance that builds lasting love not the tingling neither parts that feeds luurve. But again hello, high schoolers.


    Now to everything else which I love. I loove it wasn't the overdone vampires, werewolves, shape shifters ect. Which even when done right and unique is still sort of like old hat. So kudos right off for that.


    The characters were believable teens. The loyalty, the cliques, the stereotypes groups. I am a firm believer that cliches are based in facts. Cheer/dance squads are mainly (b)witchy, girls within the same age range in same family have that competition for attention, girls do try to screw each other over when it comes to a high school hottie. So it was all believable.


    Now the imagery and consistency of it. Now with me I get bored with the scenery and backdrop descriptions. But other than that I sorta skim until I get past it and back to the substance. But that's just me. The netherworld description was well done.


    Okay, maybe I was a bad kid but if my parents pulled the crap her family pulled, they would not get off the hook that easily. I would be highly P-O'd. Honestly, you chose to have me believe I am crazy rather than tell me what was up? Heck no would they live that down. Kaylee was mad, which I loved but not mad enough. Kaylee was snarky but not nearly enough.


    Best of all it left me begging for more in the series. And unlike house of night Kaylee is not near the whore of the heart Zoey is. Which is hard to do in a YA novel. YA Girls love boys boys boys! And Vincent adds that hmm nice 3 point dimension to the story.

    catholickittie.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    This book is full of suspense and teenage angst. At times you wi

    This book is full of suspense and teenage angst. At times you will find yourself on edge waiting to see what happens, and others your thinking to yourself, seriously are you THANT dense?! Kaylee and Nash make a great couple, but I'm hoping in future books the author will bring into play that socially they are on opposite sides of the school and see what kind of drama that can stir up. I'm acutely interested to find out more about Todd as well, I think a love triangle would be a great twist in the future!
    Overall it's a really good book and I'm excited to read the next one.
    I was actually surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did being that there are no vampires...

    Audible was having a sale and I found this book among the titles, my deciding factor was the narrator - I've listened to several of her books in the past and enjoyed them so I figured, why not give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quick Read

    SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH KAYLEE CAVANAUGH

    She doesn't see dead people, but...
    She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally. Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about the need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next...

    Kaylee cannot control herself when she sees someone wearing the death shroud. She knows death is imminent and because of her Bean Sidhe (aka Banshee) heritage, an uncontrollable scream builds inside her every time. She never knew about the effects of her birthright (thinking she would have panic attacks instead) until high school hottie Nash Hudson's voice began to calm and coax her wailing side into submission. Now girls are dying left and right and Kaylee wants to help even though its not her "job" to do so.

    This was a quick read, but it was highly fun as well. I enjoyed the mixture of folklore and mystery and Kaylee came off as very realistic - stuck between an illness that brutally takes over her in not the best of situations and learning to enjoy the attentions of Nash, a popular ladies-man from her school. Along the way - you get to meet Reapers, learn about Kaylee's past, and slowly see a world that is unknown to most, except Bean Sidhe.

    Likes: What Kaylee sees in the Netherworld fog . . . spooky!

    Dislikes: The story dragged here and there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Really like this first book of the series and I am looking forwa

    Really like this first book of the series and I am looking forward to reading book two. I also liked how this author wrapped up this book quite nicely that it could have been a stand alone book but still leaves you wanting to know more about the characters. My Soul to Take has a nice flow which kept the story moving right along with a few surprises (at least for me!) at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing!!

    Im a big fan of the supernatural fictions, and this one is definately a favorite. Its different, creative, and beautifully executed. One of the best books Ive ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Review for Rachel's Book Reviews

    Soul Screamers
    By Rachel Vincent
    "She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

    Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next."

    I have a lot to say about the series. I wish I could write my own synopsis, but I can't come up with anything better, one that says it all in less than 100 words. First, I'll go over the series negatives: cussing, explicit situations, drugs (well..of the supernatural variety.) I think that covers it.. Anyway, What I want to say about the series that's positive: It's a fantastically unique series. I love it. I think it's worth it's negatives, it has good plot, good contrast, I mean, it has those negatives, but it has some really amazing positives. I need to finish 'If I Die' but it's just a really original series. No ripped off plots here. I recommend it to all paranormal lovers (like me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing Take on Supernatural and Romance

    Kaylee is trying to make her way through high school with as few problems as possible. Keeping a low profile at home and school is the only way to keep herself off the medication and out of the hospital. Her uncontrollable screaming around a dying person causes her to have a hard time being normal. After helping Kaylee stop her scream, before it happened, Nash, her swoon worthy crush, helps Kaylee learn who she really is. Kaylee is a Bean Sidhe. They scream, or wail, when someone dies. Although, male Bean Sidhes hear a mournful yet beautiful song instead of a scream-but to everyone else it's just a high pitched loud and long scream. When girls literally start "dropping dead" Nash and Kaylee enlist the help of a Grim Reaper, Tod, to help them solve the mystery.
    I felt bad for Kaylee. She had to deal with a lot, especially with her family, before Nash stepped in and helped her. Speaking of Nash, my goodness, if only he would sing softly to me in my ear! I loved Nash. He's so down to earth. He made Kaylee feel comfortable and not freaked out about who she was. Tod was hilarious. I really liked him. It was fun reading the dialogue between Tod and Kaylee. The mystery was good, it wasn't that suspenseful but I still wanted to keep reading. The end was really good! The twist at the end took me completely by surprise. I would recommend this book! It was a refreshing take on the supernatural -mixed with a bit of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Good, but it has a slow middle

    I liked the book, the plot-line, and the characters, but it started getting slow around the middle. The beginning and the end, however, are very good, with a good twist during the climax. If you liked Twilight, you'll probably like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    This is another one of the series I've been meaning to read for awhile (along with The Prey series). I happy to finally get to it!


    I was intrigued by Kalyee in lots of different ways. Her background is different that a lot of characters. Her mother is dead and her father had left her in the care of her aunt and uncle. I could imagine that it would be hard to find a sense of self with just that, but add in the fact that she can sense when someone near her is going to die and I would think life could get a little out of control. Despite all that, she has a level head and a sense of humor that I enjoyed. I also liked Nash, especially after we learn what he is. I think it will be good for Kaylee to have someone like that in her life.

    I felt sorry for Kaylee in the beginning. She didn't fully understand what she could do and what it meant. When her classmates start to die, she had to be terrified. When she learns more about the world she didn't know existed, she dives right in and tries to figure out what is really going on. I liked the inclusion of the reapers. It was an interesting story. I'm hoping we see more of Tod (the main reaper in the story) in future books.

    This book contains a lot of information setting up the series. We learn about the reapers, the banshees, their male counterparts, and things like borrowed time. I was surprised that the book never felt bogged down like some paranormal stories can. I'm glad I have the next one all ready, just waiting to be read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Reading Teen Review

    My Soul to Take starts off with a BANG, both in the romance department and the mystery department! Rachel doesn't waste any time introducing you to the thrilling puzzle that Kaylee is faced with, or to the hot guy she will face it with. The story is fast-paced and fascinating. I've never read a book that deals with the type of paranormal beings that are in this story. I thought that it was very original. And the ending....I didn't see that coming at all, and I'm usually pretty hard to pull one over on! Not just one shocking realization, but two! Fantastic ending!

    I really liked Kaylee a lot! Even though she tended to jump overboard before she actually found out if the ship was sinking....drama queen.....she was a lot of fun to read! And I thought that Nash was a really fantastic boyfriend. He was so patient and kind with Kaylee, and you could tell that she was the most important thing to him, and that he would do anything for her. And the romance was perfect! Just enough to make you sigh, and hope for more!

    The best part about this book, was that it didn't end in a cliffhanger! The book is wrapped up very nicely, and I wouldn't feel unsatisfied if I didn't continue with the series. But, fortunately, I did really like the book, and I have My Soul to Save waiting for me patiently on my bookshelf!

    Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    My Soul To Take

    it was a really good book that made it hard to stop reading because you always want to know who is the one that is going to get killed. Was she human? I really recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Good Idea

    A new concept, bean sidhes! Good story, I really like the idea and characters.. Make sure you read the Prequel, 'My Soul to Lose' first. There are a couple refrences to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Great, Original Young Adult Series

    The Soul Screams Series is great fun and easy to read. I highly recommend for girls 13 and up, especially if you are a hesitant reader. I'm the Mom of 3 teenage girls, who got me into the Twilight series after not reading for 2 years. I hadn't stopped reading a book a week since, but was starting to get bored. This series pulled me right out of it. I downloaded the first short book for free on my NOOK and bought the other two ebooks. Can't wait for more~! BTW my 14 year old is not into reading, but loves this series. It reminds you of young love with a hint of mystery and edginess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great new YA series!

    After several disappointing reads, this book restores my faith that there are still good books out there!

    Kaylee is a likable character who isn't sure what's happening to her, and why she has uncontrollable urges to scream. She is a believable teenager, in that she jumps to conclusions without all the facts, is a little emotional, and just wants to fit in. I liked Nash, and thought he made a good boyfriend candidate for Kaylee. Best friend Emma seemed nice as well, but I'm a little suspicious of girls who are too pretty. *L*

    All in all, thought this was an excellent start to a new YA series, and I enjoyed learning more about the Bean Sidhe (more commonly referred to as Banshees). Good characters, good plot, great writing...it's a winner! And I'm definitely looking forward to My Soul to Save next year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    I loved this book! The story was great and kind of unique, Rachel Vincent is a great author I can't wait for My Soul To Save!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasant Surprise!

    I picked up the book thinking it might be a little chessy and strange but took a chance on it anyway and was taken by surprise. It's a really good story and the chracters pull you in from the very beginning. There are some surprises too, ones i defineitly didn't see coming. But i found it really hard to put the book down, which i didn't, i read it in one sitting. The authour does a really good job laying the bais for a seris, i can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7