BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Story, Love the Topic!

    One of the first things that caught my eye about the book My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent was that it was about banshees, or bean sidhes as they're referred to in the book. In a time when ya literature is swarmed with vampire novels (which I do love)and other paranormal activity, it was nice to find a novel that brought a new subject into the light. Never before had I read a book about Banshees. And I was amazed by this one (I'm a new banshee fan!). This story is about Kaylee Cavanaugh, who is slowly discovering that she is a Banshee. The story continues as she catches the attention of Nash Hudson, a very popular (though surprisingly sensitive) jock. Nash seems to know a lot about what's wrong with Kaylee. He helps her (along with Kaylee's best friend Emma) as they discover that something terrible is happening to teenage girls in their area. And all signs point to the Netherworld, a frightening place that is like an alternate reality where demons roam. As the tension goes on the stakes get higher. Any girl could be next...including Kaylee or Emma. This book was packed with action, romance and thrills and I couldn't put it down! I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good paranormal romance (but perhaps is looking for something fresh).

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lov...Love...Loved It!!! (An absolutely great new series in my opinion)

    It has been a long time since a book has forced me to stay up reading, let alone finish in a day. I could not put this book down. I have been trying to find a new series to captivate me the way Twilight has and this has definately done it. Now don't misunderstand me, this is nothing like Twilight. So far no vampire or werewolves, but it does deal with another kind of supernatural being that I haven't seen to often in stories, Banshees or (Bean Sidhes) as it's written in the story. I am a vampire/paranormal romance reader and I am so glad I decided to buy this book, along with the 2nd in it's series, My Soul to Keep, which I will start reading tonight. I love the characters, I like the originality of the story, and I love Rachel Vincent's style of writing which made it easier for me to rlate to the story. Especially when at one point she writes, "Whatever I'd glimpsed was too big to be a rodent-unless we'd stepped into Buttercup's fire swamp-..." Only people who have seen the Princess Bride as many times as I have will understand that line, and I absolutely loved it. Definately will read more from her!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your typical paranormal teen book.

    Kaylee Cavanaugh she is not your average teenager. When someone around her is about to die, she gets an uncontrollable urge to scream. After getting information from her Uncle and new boyfriend Nash, she realizes there is a lot more to learn about who she is and what she can do. The story takes place over a short period of time, but the plot is chock full of twists and turns, with a climactic ending that sneaks up and punches you in the gut.

    MY SOUL TO TAKE is a great paranormal romance story for teen girls. Kaylee deals with the usual paranormal issues ("Where did I come from and how do I learn to control my powers?") along with the more normal teenage issues ("Does he like me and am I pretty enough for him?") Together with some uncommon paranormal myths, readers will delight in the Soul Screamers series.

    This book is a great start to the new Harlequin Teen line-up. Vincent has written an engrossing and spooky tale that will leave new readers begging for more action and answers! (While waiting for more, readers can check out the prequel, MY SOUL TO LOSE, available for free download on the eHarlequin site.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Great Series!!!

    Read the novellas first... then dive right into the five books in the "Soul Screamers" series! I hope there will be a # 6!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Something Different...

    When I first got this book about three weeks ago, I was definitly kinda stepping away from the Vampire werewolf theme...But Rachel Vincent is one of my favorite authors...After actually reading this book I couldn't put it down and I finished it in one day...It was that good...Its something different but still in the paranormal section...It reminds me of that show "Dead Like me" But ten times better...I loved the whole Banshee and grim Reaper thing! I just wished it was more thicker...But other than that it was worth the money and time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. And i m craving for the second one to come. It is now in my top list of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    Kaylee Cavanaugh is not your average teenage girl.

    There's something a bit off about her.

    Whenever she's near someone who is about to die, she can sense it. When that happens, she feels the urge to scream loud enough for everyone to hear.

    Kaylee wants to be a normal girl. Being a normal girl to Kaylee is going out on a date with her crush, Nash, who also happens to be the hottest guy in school. But going out on that date has to take a backseat when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason. Nash doesn't seem as in the dark as Kaylee feels, and she needs to know why.

    Who will die next? Only Kaylee knows for sure.

    Wonderfully written characters that are portrayed as typical teenagers that possess extraordinary powers. A fast-paced, engrossing read that you won't want to put down. A story that I wouldn't mind sharing with my preteen, although she'll have to wait until I am done.

    MY SOUL TO TAKE is a wonderful beginning to a series that fans of Ms. Vincent's adult SHIFTERS series will definitely be rushing out to buy. A book like this is one of the reasons that I add authors to my auto-buy list. This is definitely a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Want a pink ipad

    Kiss ur jand three times and post this on three other books then look under you pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Loved it

    I read this book in 3 days. I enjoyed this book, especially since I understood the nevernever and what a bean sidth is, I can thank the Iron Fey series for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Omg

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth reading!

    1st: The cover: I adore it! This is the U.K edition which is way prettier than the U.S one. It completely suits the story and the heroine, Kaylee. There¿s one thing I¿m not sure I understand, which is the review written on the cover by Kirkus Reviews, what does Twilight have in common with the Soul Screamers series?? If you know, then please share it with me! 2nd: The content: Before you read this books, go and get the free prequel from here or else you will feel like you were left out when you start this one :). What I loved most about it is that it¿s not that romantic although we do have some romantic atmosphere in the story, which only added to the beauty of the story. If I was asked to categorize it I¿d definitely put it in the horror shelf, my favorite :D. The story is just unique and twisted. You could not guess how it¿ll develop or end up, you¿ll be interested to know what¿s going on while you¿re reading you wont be able to put the book down, at all! Just for your information, the story isn¿t so scary and it¿s a bit funny, you¿ll find yourself laughing from chapter to chapter. The story was well written and I liked that there weren¿t too many chapters and that each one wasn¿t so long :). The end is in one word awesome. 3rd: The characters: I¿ll definitely say that my favorite characters are Tod, Nash and Kaylee in this exact order. I love them! Once Tod shows up in the story, you¿ll start reading funny moments ^_^ Conclusion: The book is just good. You¿ll really enjoy it if you¿re into horror/funny/romantic YA novels. If it was up to me, I wouldn¿t compare it to Twilight but to The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting which I didn¿t like much, not until I got to the second book. This one is way much better :). I hope you enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    this book is great

    this is one of my favorite series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Great start to this series...

    This is a new series to me. I may have had heard about this series before but I really learned about it during the awesome YA Sisterhood Summer Crushin' Tourney. When my friend, who was advocating for Tod in the Tourney, found out I hadn't read it, she sent me the series. Thank you so much, Rachel.

    So on to my thoughts...when I found out this was about banshees and reapers I wasn't too thrilled. I just didn't know what to expect but BAM!!! it...was... AWESOME. I love the way that Ms. Vincent introduces us to Kaylee and her friends. It brought me back to my High School days and when we used to go to the local under 21 club.

    In this first book of the series we are introduced to some pretty cool characters including, Kaylee (MC & POV), her best friend Emma (really liked her), Sophie (her snotty cousin), Tod (mischevious & a hottie) and my fave so far...Nash. (totally HOT & such a gentleman) to name a few.

    I love it when I'm reading a book and all of a sudden the author throws a twist that you just don't see coming. Well, that's exactly what happened when I was reading this. I won't spoil it for you here but I totally did not see it coming.

    This was a very enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Soul Screamers is Awesome

    The Soul Screamers world is so different from the Shifters world but just as cool and fun. I love Nash and Kaylee and I think the idea of a teenage ban sidhe is so cool. Kaylee is such a great character. The series is so worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Amazing

    I+have+read+and+own+all+the+bokks+so+far+and+this+is+an+awsome+book+series%21+I+could+never+put+it+down%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Love it!

    Excellent read! Love the characters an storyline! Keeps ya hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!

    FINISHED!!
    GOOD READ...
    LIES...LIES...EVERYTHING COMES BACK DOWN...TO LIES...

    5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very well Written!

    Wow! my Soul to take is captivating and You never want to put it down! Kaylee Cavanaugh knows shes different. Seeing Dark Shadows around someone who is about to die and theres nothing you could do about it or warn them would be weird right? Well Kaylee has to learn through out the book what she is and learns about the Netherworlds, Demons, Grim Reapers, and even more Bean Sidhes. This is a series that is well written and is an amazing book! If your looking for a Good, Fiction book that is intense and then sad! Wonderfully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This book was a great read! I can't wait to start nook two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14