Customer Reviews for

My Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

If you are looking for a book full about the man who took Elizab

If you are looking for a book full about the man who took Elizabeth Smart, you will not find it here. This is an amazing story told with an honesty that took me as a reader by surprise. It is not a sanitized or sugar coated version of events. Although Smart doesn't  pul...
If you are looking for a book full about the man who took Elizabeth Smart, you will not find it here. This is an amazing story told with an honesty that took me as a reader by surprise. It is not a sanitized or sugar coated version of events. Although Smart doesn't  pull any punches it is not gratuitous either. As a resident of Salt Lake City I distinctly remember these events, especially since I had a sister Smart's age I took them quite personally. I even went out and searched for her. I remember feeling that wonderful amazement when she was found. Since then I have always had a concern for her, and I think that this book more than anything else shows how wonderfully she's come through this ordeal. That is the overarching message of this book. It's the wonder of Elizabeth Smart's perseverance. Quite honestly it's a miracle that she would even be functioning with what she's put through, but you get a sense of her deep strength, the source of that strength and that's what makes this book so tremendous.  

posted by 3614123 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

While I agree she is a brave woman, a writer she is not.  The na

While I agree she is a brave woman, a writer she is not.  The narrative lacks depth, and leaves the reader yearning for something with more substance.  It could have been a fascinating memoir, but it falls flat.

posted by 4453581 on October 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    If you are looking for a book full about the man who took Elizab

    If you are looking for a book full about the man who took Elizabeth Smart, you will not find it here. This is an amazing story told with an honesty that took me as a reader by surprise. It is not a sanitized or sugar coated version of events. Although Smart doesn't  pull any punches it is not gratuitous either. As a resident of Salt Lake City I distinctly remember these events, especially since I had a sister Smart's age I took them quite personally. I even went out and searched for her. I remember feeling that wonderful amazement when she was found. Since then I have always had a concern for her, and I think that this book more than anything else shows how wonderfully she's come through this ordeal. That is the overarching message of this book. It's the wonder of Elizabeth Smart's perseverance. Quite honestly it's a miracle that she would even be functioning with what she's put through, but you get a sense of her deep strength, the source of that strength and that's what makes this book so tremendous.  

    50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Wow

    You know, some people are just disgusting. To judge her story on her writing skills or how much money she made is just wrong. Maybe its not wrote or worded the best. She's not an author. And I bet you she would have wrote the book without making any money at all. The point is, what she endured was horrific. By telling her story she is healing herself and helping others who have faced such tragedy. Have some respect!

    44 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    This is a well written story and I have nothing but respect and

    This is a well written story and I have nothing but respect and admiration for Elizabeth Smart and her family. I would like to thank her for her work. I appreciate it sincerely on a personal basis.

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    such a brave woman to come out with this book. I cant believe pe

    such a brave woman to come out with this book. I cant believe people would say it was a bad read. It was a hard read but she is telling her story! Way to go Elizabeth!!

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Elizabeth Smart, has enormous courage. Sharing her experience at

    Elizabeth Smart, has enormous courage. Sharing her experience at this level leaves her open to all kinds of criticism. As these types of ordeals always do.
    I know for myself, my question always is "How did they survive it"?

    How did they manage to get thru it? Where does this kind of strength come from? Especially in a 14 year old girl. And how do you make sense of any of it. Only by finding the sources of strength people rely on during such desperate times can we learn something valuable about our human spirit. What we can cultivate within ourselves that will carry us thru our own dark storms. (Hopefully never that dark) Her resilience inspires me, as the work she does today to help others.
    Sometimes one person's voice can give others courage to speak up and reach out for help. I read the book in one night. I couldn't stop. The book isn't a literary masterpiece. Why should it be? She didn't write it out of some great love for writing, or love of literature, but she comes through it with her original voice. Her courage and determination to survive at all costs is what makes this book great, and worth reading.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I awan't sure of what to expect here. in her own owods or others

    I awan't sure of what to expect here. in her own owods or others? How graphic? This story is just what I hoped it would be. It was a chance for her to share how she coped. We all learned what happened, just as she perceived it, and what was going on in her mind all the way through her ordeal. We all find some way to carry on in bad times, but her story of being bound, dragged from her bed, assaulted by this disgusting couple could have driven her to dispair. It did not. Kudos Elizabeth to you and your family and your new life. You are an inspiration to us all to carry on and trust in our family and in the lord. The strength of character you displayed throughout is inspirational and a testimony to your faith and family.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Strength and Faith

    Is this book a novel? No, and i dont believe she wrote this book to become a writer. She is telling her story on her terms. Kudos to you Elizabeth! I am more amazed by her now then i was before such a beautiful woman inside and out. This is the type of young woman our youth should look up to. Who cares if she waited 10 years to write this its her life on her terms just like she says.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    This is a book written in her words. Take it for that. How sad t

    This is a book written in her words. Take it for that. How sad to say boring or lack of depth. Really people? This is a book based on what happened to her. Kudos to her for letting the world hear her story. This is part of therapy. This is encouragement to those other people who have experienced the brutal acts of captivity. Shame on anyone who says Oh here she comes, out to make money. She should be able to make millions for what she lived through. Shame on those who have negative comments about her...She has a foundation set up to help others...Let Her!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    While I agree she is a brave woman, a writer she is not.  The na

    While I agree she is a brave woman, a writer she is not.  The narrative lacks depth, and leaves the reader yearning for something with more substance.  It could have been a fascinating memoir, but it falls flat.

    13 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    My Story by Elizabeth Smart is a fascinating book. Smart gives t

    My Story by Elizabeth Smart is a fascinating book. Smart gives the meaty, sad, horrific details of being kidnapped, kept captive, and repeatedly raped. Ultimately it is a story of survival. Smart is a brave woman for living this horror and for sharing her story.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Thank you Elizabeth

    Through all you endured for those horried 9 months....the never ending love and belief in our Lord God never left your heart and soul. Your parents have gifted you from birth with the tools needed to be the amazing young women that you are today. Thank you for your strength it took for you to share your story. My world won't be the only one impacted by such a moving account of your belief and power that we can share!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Amazing. Someone with a postive outlook. She could ahve easliy b

    Amazing. Someone with a postive outlook. She could ahve easliy been negative or played the victim card but instead is showing real class by moving on and nor allowing her kidnappers to steal her life now.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Elizabeth Smart is so courageous to have lived through what happ

    Elizabeth Smart is so courageous to have lived through what happened to her
    and to write this book.  I read this book in 2 evenings. Her faith in God and her
    family is amazing.  Th inner strength this woman has is beyond belief.  There are 
    people I have thought would be neat to hear speak.  Elizabeth is now #1 on
    that list.  Her book has helped me feel more faith in my life.  

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    COURAGEOUS GRACE

    I still remember being glued to the TV following this horrific story, praying and praying that this beautiful innocent child would be found and returned to ber family. My daughter was 12 at the time and i was utterly terrified that something like this could happen.

    Thank you for sharing your story, and thank you for sharing your unwavering faith and your love and devotion to your family, but most of all thank you for reminding me that we do indeed need to acknowledge our gratitude for the joys in in our lives.

    You are amazing Elizabeth Smart

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    :-(

    That must have been so hard for poor Elizabeth! I can't imagine!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great book!

    Quick read, disturbing

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    A great way for Elizabeth to tell her story, let people know wha

    A great way for Elizabeth to tell her story, let people know what is going on out there and a story of survival... Very will written.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great

    Her story is so touching

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Interesting

    Very interesting. She is so brave and faithful

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me say first, I am a huge Elizabeth Smart fan. I've seen her

    Let me say first, I am a huge Elizabeth Smart fan. I've seen her on various
    television programs, and seen video clips of her speeches. THAT articulate,
    intelligent, passionate young woman is mostly muted in these pages, and
    there are many questions that either are not explored at all, or sometimes
    touched upon and not finished. Whether that was by her own choice, or whether
    she was toned down by her ghostwriter, it makes the book less appealing.

    The "voice" was very young throughout! Okay, she WAS very young when she
    was kidnapped, and it makes sense that as she relived the experience, her
    vocabulary would regress to that of a sheltered young girl. But there's an
    excess of exclamation points that simply became annoying!

    There's an emphasis made about her red silk pajamas, and mention that
    Mitchell, her kidnapper, was going to do something disgusting with them.
    What? We never find out. Elizabeth is so physically immature when she is first
    raped, she has not yet begun menstruating. Did she begin menstruating while
    in captivity, or did the starvation diet she was on prevent her from reaching
    menarche? Did she worry about becoming pregnant with the monster's child,
    or perhaps contracting an STI? 

    Ms. Smart has spoken openly and more than once in public about how the
    abstinence-focused  "sex ed" was part of what also held her captive: the
    teaching that a girl who's had sex is like a chewed up piece of gum, and
    nobody would want THAT made her feel ashamed and worthless. I applaud
    her for speaking out about this in public, and wish it was more than briefly
    mentioned and quickly glossed over in this book.

    Has she been able to enjoy a healthy sex life since she married or are there
    still hurdles to overcome?  I didn't need the Penthouse blow-by-blow intimate
    details, but just a hint: "It was hard at first, I was very afraid, but my wonderful
    husband was so patient and loving we worked it out and now that area of our
    married life is rich and rewarding." Or: "I was worried I wouldn't be able to
    respond to my husband, but he was so different in mind, body and soul, that
    I had no problem." Or even that she still has problems that she and her
    husband are working out together. Never explored.

    Did she ever hate her captors, hope they died, and perhaps feel guilty because
    of her "unChristian" thoughts? If so, never mentioned. Does any member of
    her family still struggle with guilt over her abduction? Did she have any issues
    with healthy eating once back with her family, or did she ever have impulses to
    binge or hoard food? Not mentioned.

    There are only three chapters about her post-captivity life: one on being reunited
    with her parents, one about the trials of Barzee and Mitchell, and one on her
    recovery, in general (called Gratitude and Faith). It's wonderful that she had the
    support of family, of faith, and the comfort of horseback riding and playing the
    harp - but what did she STRUGGLE with? Was there anything about rejoining
    civilization that surprised her, or was different than she expected? 

    While I applaud the work Ms. Smart is doing on behalf of abducted children
    and their recovery, and appreciate that she may need to reclaim her privacy
    after all she endured, and admire her deeply as a human being, I am not sure
    what the point is in releasing an autobiography that  leaves so many questions
    unanswered and doesn't dig deeper emotionally.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11