Customer Reviews for

My Teenage Dream Ended

Average Rating 3.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I love hearing Farrah's side of the story!

Hearing Farrah's side of her story has been my goal for a while. I was so confused about what had happend to Derek, I like hearing it all from her, and knowing it was the truth instead of reading it online and gettimg false information. I can't relate to her and Derek's...
Hearing Farrah's side of her story has been my goal for a while. I was so confused about what had happend to Derek, I like hearing it all from her, and knowing it was the truth instead of reading it online and gettimg false information. I can't relate to her and Derek's situation, but I can as a teen mom myself, I know the srtuggles she goes through on a daily basis, I know we both chose to have sex before we were ready to be Moms, but we kept our babies and doing the best we can for them the best we know how. So for those of you with the negative comments, how dare you judge her!?!? You have never made a mistake? "Before you point fingers make sure your own hands are clean"-Bob Marley.
And as far as the writing goes, she isn't an english mager, grow up people. I'm more than sure this was more like a diery anyways.
I am so proud of Farrah and how far she has come. You go girl!
Great book, I am THRILLED you decided to write and publish. (:
-Raegan C.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Her untold story

I would never in a million years normally read a book like this. With that said, I was genuinely curious about what Farrah's story was from before Sophia's birth. MTV didn't show us too much. We saw the snotty, preppy brat who took advantage of her parents and was down-...
I would never in a million years normally read a book like this. With that said, I was genuinely curious about what Farrah's story was from before Sophia's birth. MTV didn't show us too much. We saw the snotty, preppy brat who took advantage of her parents and was down-right unlikeable at times. Reading her book, you started to see things from her perspective. Hind sight is always 20/20, and you see her evolve and mature through her mistakes. It was the only time I've been able to step back as an observer and remember that Farrah was a baby having a baby. I commend her for being so candid, even during the embarrassing moments. And I commend her for having the courage to stay the course.

posted by Kab30 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Her untold story

    I would never in a million years normally read a book like this. With that said, I was genuinely curious about what Farrah's story was from before Sophia's birth. MTV didn't show us too much. We saw the snotty, preppy brat who took advantage of her parents and was down-right unlikeable at times. Reading her book, you started to see things from her perspective. Hind sight is always 20/20, and you see her evolve and mature through her mistakes. It was the only time I've been able to step back as an observer and remember that Farrah was a baby having a baby. I commend her for being so candid, even during the embarrassing moments. And I commend her for having the courage to stay the course.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    I have a different view on her life now after reading this. A heart breaking reminder she was still a child herself and not everything is easy or as it seems.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I love hearing Farrah's side of the story!

    Hearing Farrah's side of her story has been my goal for a while. I was so confused about what had happend to Derek, I like hearing it all from her, and knowing it was the truth instead of reading it online and gettimg false information. I can't relate to her and Derek's situation, but I can as a teen mom myself, I know the srtuggles she goes through on a daily basis, I know we both chose to have sex before we were ready to be Moms, but we kept our babies and doing the best we can for them the best we know how. So for those of you with the negative comments, how dare you judge her!?!? You have never made a mistake? "Before you point fingers make sure your own hands are clean"-Bob Marley.
    And as far as the writing goes, she isn't an english mager, grow up people. I'm more than sure this was more like a diery anyways.
    I am so proud of Farrah and how far she has come. You go girl!
    Great book, I am THRILLED you decided to write and publish. (:
    -Raegan C.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I'm a big fan of Teen Mom and I do like Farrah, but this book wa

    I'm a big fan of Teen Mom and I do like Farrah, but this book was
    terrible. There were numerous editing mistakes and typos that made some
    parts hard to read. Plus, the story line was boring. The first 3/4s of
    the book deals with her relationship with Derrick. It's bascially a
    collection of random memories she has of him. They don't tie together to
    make any kind of plot. The last 50 pages or so, it's basically like
    "Oh by the way Derrick died and I had this baby and Debra got
    arrested for beating me up." Everything that Teen Mom fans want to
    know about is thrown in the last 50 pages and not explained at all.
    Also, there is almost no emotion throughout the book. She talks about
    everything from Derrick's death to losing her virginity to her parents
    both going to jail very matter of factly. The entire book just reads
    like a random collection of memories of Derrick that she has tried to
    delude herself into thinking created a "true love." Don't
    waste your money.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No. Just. No.

    No. Just. No.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I watch Teen Mom and while always found this girl to be the most

    I watch Teen Mom and while always found this girl to be the most annoying of the bunch, I was interested in her story before Teen Mom. What I got was a "Woe is me" book detailing every fight she ever had with her baby's daddy, who tragically, died before the show. I'm not giving this away- they did a whole season on Farrah looking for social security benefits for her daughter, including a paternity test.

    When I saw that this hit the best seller list, I wondered how many people like me felt cheated? It seems like it was a tale told to a ghost writer (that can be forgiven- she's still young) but the tale is just so up and down and Farrah is so spoiled, it just isn't a good read. There are a few interesting details, and you have to forgive her age in what SHE finds interesting, but I now feel she is more spoiled rotten than she appeared on tv. Everything about her screams "I'm spoiled!" and while she does get some attitude from her mother, she should've grown up on her own, or adhered to her mom and dad's rules.

    This girl appears to be a good mom, so we'll hope she continues that and maybe the opportunities she has now will afford Sophia a better life. Farrah isn't a BAD kid, she's just really spoiled. One wonders where she gets all the money she has on the show- schools and apartments and a boob job...LOL- it really just makes one wonder.

    My problem with the book is mostly that it doesn't flow as a book should. It's almost as if whoever wrote it-Farrah or a ghostwriter or both- didn't care about continuity or what people would be interested in. There are even mouth-dropping facts that just pop up for shock value, such as Farrah's silent realization when her water broke about how it smelled. This book needed a MUCH better edit, and a much kinder Farrah.

    Her ability to BLAME is shocking, even after watching her on tv. She's the princess who got knocked-up out of wedlock and got into modeling, etc., which led to the show. Sophia is an amazing child so hearing about HER was interesting. But I was shocked that Farrah's snarky attitude onscreen would carry over to the book. She stands back, she isn't invested in this book, it's just another opportunity to her.

    Someday I'd like to hear the real story- from an older Farrah with a teen daughter of her own. God Bless Sophia and I sure hope this book makes them a LOT of money. It's not Farrah's fault she had a terrible editor. But they should be ashamed of this book as publishers. It reads as if it's a high school project. I know Farrah will eventually grow up, maybe along with Sophia. Until then she really needs to ACT like a grown up who is dealing with the product of her own actions. She shouldn't be complaining so much- most teen moms don't have all that stuff to fall back on. She's so whiny in this book- it may really have been written by her!

    Look, I wish her well, but as this IS a memoir, the subject IS Farrah. This book could've gone w/o the details of fights, the N word, and a few other things. I am shocked got by the editor. Too bad someone green-lighted this version- the book could've been MUCH better.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Oh Farrah!

    A quick read obviously written by someone who has no business writing. Writing things from the past about someone who can never tell their side of the story seems like a really unfair way to make a quick buck. She did a great job painting herself as both a victim and as the ONLY good thing in Derek's life. Her use of slang proves that the next degree she should work on should be English. Can I get my money back?

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Book has technical issues

    There seems to be a problem with the book missing pages. Unacceptable!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    That is 2 days I won't get back. Don't bother book as good as h

    That is 2 days I won't get back. Don't bother book as good as her songs!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    SOUNDS AS IF IT WAS WRITTEN BY A CHILD!!

    This book is not worth eight dollars. AWFUL GRAMMAR. Farrah portrays herself as an immature child!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    This book tells the story of a snotty immature teenager that gre

    This book tells the story of a snotty immature teenager that grew up and became a snotty immature adult. I read this book in hopes of learning why Farrah was the way she was and the dynamics of her relationships especially with her parents (if I had talked to mine like she does, that pretty new smile would be knocked down my throat!!!) I do feel a little enlightened, and I do feel like Farrah has grown up some. I also feel like Farrah has a long way to go and she needs to begin by thinking more of others and less about herself!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Surprising Good Read

    Love the Teen Mom series, Farrah hasnt been my favorite but I was interested when I heard she was releasing a book. Honestly, I had a hard time putting it down there was a lot of her story that now makes a little more sense on why she acts the way she does. If your a fan of the TV show, I'd recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Read this on a long drive. It's the relationship you watched you

    Read this on a long drive. It's the relationship you watched your stupid
    friend go through in high school. I wanted to hear about the production
    and filming of 16 & Pregnant and Teen Mom and how she felt about her
    life being on constant showcase, but after Sophia's birth, I skimmed
    because I had already seen everything happen on Teen Mom! Not very good.
    Sorry Farrah!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Terrible

    Reading this book was almost painful, between the terrible spelling and grammar errors to the way it was actually written. I put this book down and almost didn't pick it back up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Ehh

    Well i bought the book because im a fan of the show and was curious but i can honestly say i DID NOT like it one bit. I wouldnt recommend it to anyone

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Waste of time

    I think this book was terrible because of the use of slang and vulgar unnesscary explanations. I tjink if this book had good editing and an editor it would have been easier to get through.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Eh..

    This book gave me a better insight into why Farrsh is the way she is. I think she handled her loss the wrong way and wrote this book for more attention. I feel bad for sophia because her mother keeps her from Dereks mother, the only connection she has to her father. I compared her attitude in the book amd with her episode on 16 and pregnant and she didnt disclose that her childs father died, she showed no grief as if she truly loved him. Finally, i feel like this book was a sob story to glamorize a relationship that wasnt there. She should have never wrote this book and is disrespectful to derek because she made hm out to be evil. Along with that, where were the editors?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Decent read

    This book was decent digging into her past and before she got pregnant. While it was good to hear of her on again off again relationship I would have liked a longer book including more about after the cameras stopped. Maybe more motivation to other teens in similar situations explaining her struggles with school and how she conquers her independence while raising a child and reaching for her dreams. Her teenage dreams may have ended when sophias father died but she is making strides to make sure her post teen dreams become reality.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    My teenage dream died

    I enjoyed reading, I couldn't stop because it gave more detail of sophia's dad. I enjoyed this book alot even though seen alot of her story from the beginning I enjoyed learning about sophia's dad and his relationship with farrah.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Read this like this

    Ok ... this is a memior so quit complaining that its all about derek .. that's what a memior is .. and "my teenage dream ended" means he was her teenage dream not that she got pregnant .. she said it in the beginning

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5