Customer Reviews for

My War: Killing Time in Iraq

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    Great Book

    I bought this book for my son serving in Iraq. I flipped through it to see what it was about and could not put it down. This book details the life of our soldiers without the clouded media version. Any parent of a soldier or the soldiers themselves should read this book. Colby did not hold anything back and tells it like it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    Colby Buzzell's book was recommended to me by my history professor when I stated my interest in reading books about the Iraq War and I'm so glad it was recommended to me. I could not put the book down, Buzzell is a very talented author who conveyed his experience well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    This book is an amazing story. You get to read about who Colby i

    This book is an amazing story. You get to read about who Colby is and understand his struggles 
    with reading his point of view of various stuff that happens around him. If you have thoughts of joining the 
    military then pick up this book and read about it. It will help you see what it is like in Afghanistan, and prepare
    you for any stress related issues whether if its at boot camp, or your fellow comrades playing games with you.
    I give this book 5 stars. It's a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Colby Buzzel; My War review Colby Buzzel, a slight alcoholic

    Colby Buzzel; My War review
    Colby Buzzel, a slight alcoholic with a history of drug use with no where in particular to go, sitting around at the skate park or job hunting, he has next to nothing going on. He thus joins the military and his adventure begins over in Iraq he sees what life is like on the other side and experiences war for himself. All written as the truth. I loved this book because Colby writes it as he sees it, all in his own words. This includes his cursing as well as his views or opinion on things. He is a great writer making his story compelling. When I had finished the book I was annoyed that it wasn’t longer or that there wasn’t a whole lot more to read. He is dedicated to what he does and deserves what he has now. Anyone wanting a good read, the truth on the other side, a fellow opinion, or simply the fun of listening to an awesome writer and person, this is a great book for them. Another recommended book would be; Colby Buzzels; Lost in America, a Dead-End Journey. Also completely written in Colby’s voice, this is yet another amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesomr p0nesian

    This book is amazing.it is funny and yet a serious account of a love life type of guy. I walked into bn looking for a good book.and i found it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Amazing

    I went into B&N looking for a good book to read. I bought this book not knowning it was going to be one of the best books ive ever read. Soldiers like Colby make me proud to be an american. I loved how he said what he felt and said what he thought and didn't care what anyone else thinks. Im glad taht i bought this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    geat book

    This book really shows you the war that occuring in Iraq right now better than any of these documentaries on it.i couldnt put this thing down until i was done with it . I recomend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    His War-Terrific First Hand Account

    Often gritty but true to life tale of teenager coming of age and trying to find one's self in the ranks of the US Army Infantry. A personal perspective that can be appreciated by anyone enlisted the short tales of deadend jobs to boot camp, to his first unit and off to Iraq are priceless and too often humorous as Buzzell trys to find enlightenment in many tragic and often frustrating days in the combat zone. A great read and definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Underachiever Finds Himself - Fighting & Blogging in Iraq

    When you read Colby Buzzell's book, it's just like you are there with him through all his experiences. It was so good that I had it read in just three days. He writes pretty much like the average guy talks - laced with profanity and all. That's why this book is so popular, because it is so down-to-earth. One guy and his story. But much of his experiences are just like ours. Drifting from one boring dead-end job to another for several years after high school, Buzzell surprises his parents (with whom he has lived off and on with during that time) by joining the army. If you've ever been in the military, then you will get a laugh out of his meeting with recruiters. Being a first-rate soldier is the first job he has ever taken seriously. He conscientiously reads his field manuals and learns how to be a gunner. After some quick training, his new experimental Stryker Brigade is deployed to Iraq. (The Stryker is an RPG/EID-resistant infantry combat vehicle that does indeed earn high praise from its users.) Buzzell then writes about his arrival in Kuwait, the drive up the highway of death to Baghdad, and then his unit deployment in Mosul. Most of the action takes place in Mosul, where his unit seems to drive around town trying to draw fire from insurgents. Some of his firefights are pretty intense - I couldn't put the book down then. This is real life, urban guerilla warfare - the kind of fighting most soldiers can expect to face in the future. He also talks with some of the local Iraqis and tries to get a feel for the actual situation of the civilians in Mosul. Apparently, the insurgents are often just angry, horny young muslim men trucked in from Iran and Syria looking to score their 70 virgins. All the while Buzzell is covertly writing and publishing his diary online under a pseudonym. But the word leaks out that he is the author and then the army decides to diplomatically but firmly clamp down on his online publishing activity. (Incidentally, I wonder that the military focuses so much effort on censorship instead of establishing a really effective secret police force to identify and detain the insurgents. I suppose they don't realize that many of the Iraqi officials are probably connected to the insurgents.) This is a great modern war diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    excellent - great read

    couldn't put this book down - really gives you a view of what it's really like for these young soldiers & marines in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    NO QUESTIONS, JUST READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Colby Buzzell's book is the best book I have ever read. I couldn't put this book down and I would get yelled at for reading in class constantly (go figure). Seriously, I read it back to back twice and will probably go through it again, it's that awesome. Gives true first hand perspectives of everything our soldiers are facing and is packed with action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Exciting

    Gread read, helps understand Americas youth and what is really going on over there. As for the generation fighting, we thought we ruined them, they are great kids and great Americans. Reading this helped me answer a lot of questions and doubts about the war and the media. Good luck and a great big Thank You to Colby and the all the soldiers. SBCT Mom - Crookie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    A gripping window into the heart of a Soldier!

    Colby's book reached a place deep in my heart. He told of the human conflicts our men and women faced in the heat of the desert. I was able to see thru his words, the story my son, who is a soldier, could not share with me. The side the media may never understand. The book far surpassed the blog! I am waiting patiently for Colby's next book. CB rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1