Customer Reviews for

My Wicked Earl

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    This story was so sweet and touching. It is so different than ot

    This story was so sweet and touching. It is so different than other books of the genre, so it wasn't the same predictable storyline. I would definitely recommend it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    BOUGHT IT, READ IT, LOVE IT!

    This was the first book I read by Linda and I loved it so much that it will not be the last. I really enjoyed Hollie because she was smart, bave and stood for what she believed in. I also appreciated the fact that hollie was no milk-sop-miss. She was independent and secure. Charles was the perfet hero because he was a strong compassionate man with a sense of duty and leadership. Their love was so strong it brought tears to my eyes.Bottom line:'My Wicked Earl' is a great whimsial romance with a great plot as well as chemistry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    A QUICK READ

    THIS IS THE SECOND BOOK IN 3 DAYS BY THIS AUTHOR. ALTHOUGH IT ISN'T A FIVE STAR AS WAS THE MAIDEN BRIDE IT IS WORTH A 4 TO 4 1/2. I HAVE COME TO ENJOY BOTH THE HERO AND THE HEROINE HAVING LUSTFUL CRAVINGS ABOUT EACH OTHER AT THE BEGINING, AT LEAST IN THEIR THOUGHTS. NORMALLY THE MAN MUST SEDUCE-ENTICE-OR BRING THE WOMAN TO HIS WAY OF LUSTING SOMEWAY OR ANOTHER. IN MS. NEEDHAMS BOOK BOTH CUT TO THE CHASE-LITERALLY-AT THE GET GO.LEAVING THE QUESTION OF HOW LONG IT WILL TAKE WHOM TO GET THERE FIRST.THIS BOOK HAS MORE HISTORY AND WAS INTERESTING TO READ ABOUT THE LABOUR TROUBLE IN ENGLAND PAST.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Read it and fall in love!

    I have always been a big fan of Linda Needham's work, but I have to say, My Wicked Earl knocked my socks off! The humour, the wit, the way Hollie and Charles fall in love is just breathtaking. It isn't cluttered with overused descriptions and the historical aspects she introduces entertain you, not bore you. I can't wait until her next book comes out! Read it, read it, read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Appealing to historical fiction and romance readers

    In 1819, Earl Charles Stirling heads up the official investigation into the recent Manchester riots. He is stunned when his agents bring in a woman claiming she is the notorious printer of seditious material, Captain Spindleshinks. Holly Finch claims Spindleshinks is her new husband. Charles keeps Holly prisoner in anticipation that Spindleshinks will try to free his wife. Charles relents and agrees to allow Holly to keep printing so she can earn a living, having her press brought to his estate. She takes advantage of his aristocratic belief that a woman cannot run a shop because she is actually the printer Spindleshinks. Holly claims the Home Office will sweep the truth under a rug, pass new laws, and condemn the rioters when she insists a massacre occurred instead. He disagrees, saying he will learn the truth. He realizes she was there and learns her father died there. As they debate things, they fall in love, but the social differences seem too great even for a powerful emotion like love. <P>MY WICKED EARL is an exciting Regency romance that equally describes the times as much as the romance. The story line centers on the relationship between the honest upper class Charles and the desperate middle class Holly, but does so in an intelligent manner so that readers can fully understand the era. As she has done in other historical novels (see the medieval tale THE MAIDEN BRIDE), Linda Needham writes a plot that will appeal to fans of historical fiction as well as romance readers. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Not bad

    A little drawn out but a couple if surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Excellent.......................................................

    Excellent.................................................................
    First time I've read this author and I am looking forward to reading another of her books.   Hollie was spunky and intelligent with a definite soft side.  Charleswas honorable and  fair but not without flaws.  There was just too much standing between them for  them to fall in love.  Or does love conquer all?  Of course it does.  That's the purpose of romance novels.  This is done with a real feel for the history of the period.  It did lose a star because the ending seemed a little rushed,  Still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1