Customer Reviews for

The Myrtles Plantation: The True Story of America's Most Haunted House

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

Good story! I want to visit the Myrtles Plantation now!

posted by Jennlvs2read on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pure Fiction.

Anyone wanting a decent and realistic history on the Mrytles should definately search elsewhere. I was highly disappointed. It says fiction in the first pages and plays on the sadly mistaken and distorted 'legends' of the mrytles. This author, who previously owned th...
Anyone wanting a decent and realistic history on the Mrytles should definately search elsewhere. I was highly disappointed. It says fiction in the first pages and plays on the sadly mistaken and distorted 'legends' of the mrytles. This author, who previously owned the house, has shaped an entire story around loosely gathered 'facts'. Basically she just played off the infamous name to sell her work of fiction, which probably would have never been published without it.

posted by LaurenRaz on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Fiction.

    Anyone wanting a decent and realistic history on the Mrytles should definately search elsewhere. I was highly disappointed. It says fiction in the first pages and plays on the sadly mistaken and distorted 'legends' of the mrytles. This author, who previously owned the house, has shaped an entire story around loosely gathered 'facts'. Basically she just played off the infamous name to sell her work of fiction, which probably would have never been published without it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Having visited the Myrtles several times and being an avid ghost story enthuiast, I was very disappointed in this book. The author was extremely prejudicial and demeaning of the entire South, stating several things that simply are not true. The description of her 'experiences' were overly dramatic and did not agree with the stories told by the current owners and employees. I ended up throwing the book in the trash in disgust.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Hooked and couldnt stop reading it...

    Addictive

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    this was a great read. By the end, you feel so awful for everyth

    this was a great read. By the end, you feel so awful for everything this poor woman went through. I am always reading true haunting type books and this is by far one of the best written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this ghostly book, very well written. Not sure if all is true but who cares it tells a very spooky story with a twist at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Love

    I love this book..my mom read it and then i followed..after reading it makes you want to visit the plantation. And i will be doing so next monday :) all because of this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    good book

    i loved this book you felt like you were right there with her i would LOVE to go there in person

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Ugh

    Skip reading this book and visit the home in person - it is much scarier and more interesting. I agree with one of the others that this is just an example of wanting to cash in on a good thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    great book

    loved it could read afain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    Good story! I want to visit the Myrtles Plantation now!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    This book keeps you interested. It makes me want to visit Myrtles Plantation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Easy to read and follow. I was able to read it in a few hours and I thoroughly enjoyed. It is really creepy and makes you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Spooky and loving it

    This book forced me to get a fish tank for my bedroom so that I could keep the light on ha ha ha. I absolutely LOVED this very descriptive story. I had seen documentaries of this house on TLC long before I stumbled on the book. When I saw it on the shelf, I knew I had to read it. This book was an incredible read and it's now being passed around the office. I recommend this book to anyone who isn't afraid of the dark. Hee hee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Loved this book

    A true gem. Reading this book a second time. Scares you but somehow it pulls you in to where you cant put book down. Excellent read dont miss this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    SHE'S NOT KIDDING!!

    MY FRIEND AND I READ THIS BOOK BEFORE WE WENT ON OUR TRIP TO SPEND 3 NIGHTS AT THE MYRTLES! THIS BOOK IS GREAT....IT GIVES YOU ALL THE HISTORY OF THE HOUSE, FLOOR PLAN, AND PREVIOUS OWNERS. I BELIEVE EVERYTHING SHE SAID HAPPENED TO HER!! WE HAD QUITE A BIT HAPPEN TO US IN OUR SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME SPENT THERE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    True and Amazing

    I have been to the Myrtles before reading this book and I knew only a fraction of all the happenings and facts that this book reveals. This book is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Best

    Great read even went to stay there fascinating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Lost my interest quite a few times

    While it had many interesting parts, I found the majority of the book to have lost my interest. I think the short chapters were a bit of an overkill and some of what supposedly happened seemed more of a mind playing tricks type of thing, but hey who knows, I wasnt there to experience any of it. I think a movie version would be much better. The timeline and house layout was a surprise at the end and should have been moved to the front of the book. Could have been bettet but then again, I have reaf worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Good

    Got addicted to this book really fast. But the only thing is, there is a lot more history to the plantation than whatis being said in this book. Very disappointed she didnt add in alot of history. Other than that its a really great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Interesting recount.

    If you like ghosty stuff, this one is for you. Made me tell my husband we will be visiting the Myrtles Plantation next time we go to LA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3