Customer Reviews for

The Mysteries of Pittsburgh

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love Michael Chabon

This was his thesis for college and the prof thought it might be accepted by a publisher. It was and with good reason! Thoroughly enjoyable!

posted by beastiesmom on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Missed Attempt.

I initially bought Chabon's book based on the raving reviews that compared this work to that of J.D. Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" and F. Scott Fitzgerald's "The Great Gatsby." And, boy, was I disappointed with the actual product.

I will not go as far as to sa...
I initially bought Chabon's book based on the raving reviews that compared this work to that of J.D. Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" and F. Scott Fitzgerald's "The Great Gatsby." And, boy, was I disappointed with the actual product.

I will not go as far as to say that Chabon's work was a complete failure: this writer is very talented at constructing creative similes and appears to have a great deal of fun coming up with clever ways to describe commonplace situations, emotions, and places.

The execution of the storyline and character depth, however, are poor. This book is not similar to Salinger's and Fitzgerald's works because it is expertly constructed or engaging in the least. In fact, the only reason why this book can be compared to such classics is because Chabon seems to have taken elements of each of these stories (while infusing a little bit of The Godfather as well as some exploration of homosexuality) and mashed them together in a blatantly obvious manner. Throughout the entirety of this book, I felt assaulted by what seem to be Chabon's failed and superficial attempts to make this work a masterpiece. Chabon tries too hard with this work, so hard in fact, that he loses all of the originality and endearment that had the potential of achieving.

To avoid a long and repetitive rant, I will end here by saying that there are MANY much better books to devote your time to than this one. Please, don't waste your time on "The Mysteries of Pittsburgh" -- it is an attempt, but nothing more.

posted by TheNeonNarwhal on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    A Missed Attempt.

    I initially bought Chabon's book based on the raving reviews that compared this work to that of J.D. Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" and F. Scott Fitzgerald's "The Great Gatsby." And, boy, was I disappointed with the actual product.

    I will not go as far as to say that Chabon's work was a complete failure: this writer is very talented at constructing creative similes and appears to have a great deal of fun coming up with clever ways to describe commonplace situations, emotions, and places.

    The execution of the storyline and character depth, however, are poor. This book is not similar to Salinger's and Fitzgerald's works because it is expertly constructed or engaging in the least. In fact, the only reason why this book can be compared to such classics is because Chabon seems to have taken elements of each of these stories (while infusing a little bit of The Godfather as well as some exploration of homosexuality) and mashed them together in a blatantly obvious manner. Throughout the entirety of this book, I felt assaulted by what seem to be Chabon's failed and superficial attempts to make this work a masterpiece. Chabon tries too hard with this work, so hard in fact, that he loses all of the originality and endearment that had the potential of achieving.

    To avoid a long and repetitive rant, I will end here by saying that there are MANY much better books to devote your time to than this one. Please, don't waste your time on "The Mysteries of Pittsburgh" -- it is an attempt, but nothing more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Even though the author meant Pittsburgh to be a character, the author fails miserably to show the reader any of Pittsburgh's mysteries. I suggest you don't waste your time with this book.

    The Mysteries of Pittsburgh by Michael Chabon

    This is the second time I've read this book. I wonder now why I bothered. It is remarkable and it astonishes me every time, how many published authors can't write.

    Meet Art Bechstein, son of a prominent DC gangster who is torn between the mysterious Phlox Lombardi and Arthur Lecomte. Even though this is a coming of age story, the love triangle is stupid and boring. By placing characters without any kind of fictional value, almost like they were just the names written in ink, without any kind of background, almost erratic behavior, Michael Chabon tries to paint «summer of love» and fails miserably.

    Oh, we have everything here that modern man (and women) want, for instance, struggle for identity, spitting on upper-class, homosexual intercourse, mysterious yet scarred educated young people, who, regardless of their education do nothing at all. But what we lack is that line that will hold the story together, so that we have no that horrid feeling that author has just stamped some scenes on the paper and published it, hoping that just the sight of his name will sell the book. What we lack here is competence in narration. How would you feel like if someone bragged about something for a whole day and actually said two or three sentences that were logically or even semantically connected?

    Even though the author meant Pittsburgh to be a character, the author fails miserably to show the reader any of Pittsburgh's mysteries. I suggest you don't waste your time with this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Adventure

    The first book of Michael Chabon that I read was "The Yiddish Policemen's Union." Based upon my thorough enjoyment of that book I read "The Mysteries of Pittsburgh" and was hooked on the author. The characters were very believable and his style of being very descriptive makes you feel as if you are riding along in the car with him. I was sorry to have finished the book so I picked up "Wonder Boys" and enjoyed that just as much. Now I am going to tackle "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay." I believe Michael Chabon has become my new favorite author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I love Michael Chabon

    This was his thesis for college and the prof thought it might be accepted by a publisher. It was and with good reason! Thoroughly enjoyable!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    When Art Bechstein was finally able to leave Washington, D.C., and his mob father behind, he ran to Pittsburgh to attend school. His last summer in the sweltering city proved to be an exciting and intriguing adventure. The handsome and personable Arthur Lecomte introduces Art to women, sex and a new way of life, but with the arrival of Arthur¿s mysterious friend, Cleveland, Art must face his father and the ¿family¿ he tried to forget. Michael Chabon¿s debut novel, set in the 80s, is a coming-of-age tale of excess, sex and friendship. It paints a different side of the crumbling steel city, a side of grit and grime, where the unexpected is lurking behind every corner. Chabon¿s writing is colorful and imaginative, but the story lacks real excitement. It is slow to take off and quickly fizzles. It is a story that is always on the edge of breaking through, but never pushes the reader over the ledge. ¿Mysteries¿ is an easy read that doesn¿t force the reader to think too much. In short, if you don¿t want a tough plot that twists and turns like a rollercoaster, then this book is it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Ha

    The problem with reading Michael Chabon is it is so good you do not want to stop but you do as you want desperately to stop the journey from ending.

    This is my 4th visit to Chabon-land and, as always, I enjoyed the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Michael Chabon was truly at his best early in his career.

    Michael Chabon was truly at his best early in his career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Wonderful First Novel!

    This is one of those titles I kept putting off reading, but now, having read it, I do not know why I procrastinated so long, especially since the film 'Wonder Boys,' which was based on Chabon's second novel, has been one of my favorite movies and was shot at Shady Side Academy (where my two children matriculated) and at Carnegie Mellon (where my daughter has attended), with myself having attended Pitt as a graduate student for a number of years. So, in this way, I could easily identify with many of the locales in 'Mysteries,' especially Hillman Library, Squirrel Hill, and Forbes Ave. What I especially enjoyed, however, is Chabon's writing style: he has a command of creative language which to me is nearly as distinctive as that of a Vonnegut or an Updike. Many of his novel's characters, moreover, are as memorable as those of other great writers. Cleveland, for instance, reminded me of Kerouac's Dean Moriarty, while Art, Chabon's central character/narrator, brought to mind Salinger's Holden Caulfield and Charles Webb's Ben Braddock, a character who, like Art, in the process of ascertaining his post-graduation career route, discovers important facts about himself and others through a variety of sexual, interpersonal, and familial experiences. Absorbing, entertaining, and easy to relate to, I would recommend putting 'Mysteries' at or near the top of your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Great Read

    Simply put, I adored this book. It is unusual, and it really makes one think. I thought it quite mature for a first novel and always admire Chabon's use of words. But I think the reason I loved this book the most was the quote 'it is easier to love some one than to have friendship.' It was a concept I have not thought of, and something that I thought quite true. I highly recommend and hope you will give this unusual story a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Awesome first novel

    Fascinating characters, prose that makes you think. When will this be turned into a movie? Michael Locker MD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    A strong debut

    Before picking up 'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh,' I had already devoured Michael Chabon's extraordinary 'The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay,' as well as 'Summerland' and 'The Final Solution,' so I am no stranger to the writer's linguistic ostentation. I found 'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh' a startlingly thorough first novel, with rich, sparkling characterizations and a clean, dry first-person narration. As with many first novels, it clearly represents a writer trying to be 'a writer,' especially with its diagrammatic visuals of characters smoking cigarettes, and the occasional simile invoking obscure authors or filmmakers. But on the whole, Chabon's ruthlessly poetic prose, exquisitely constructed sentences, and wry sense of humor pervade 'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh,' and after the final page it's abundantly clear why after only three novels, Chabon won the Pulitzer Prize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A wonderfully strong first novel

    Mysteries of Pittsburgh is a fantastic read that deals with the indecision of growing up, and coming out in society today. Possibly the greatest aspect is that it manages to tell a story about the main character, Art, without coming off as just another painfully autiobiographical coming of age story, or painfully over the top gay fiction. This story helped to put Chabon's name out there, and upon reading it, it becomes easy to see why. Easily worth one read through, if not more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Mysteries of Pittsburgh

    Michael Chabon¿s novel ¿The Mysteries of Pittsburgh¿, describes the process of growing up. The main character, Art Bechstein, reflects his last summer. He tells about new sexual experiences, new friends and his difficult relationship with his father. The story contains a lot of interesting and unforeseeable twists, which raise the tension. It is although a lot of fun to read, because of the funny, bizarre and shocking passages, which appear frequently. But this novel is not only funny; it is although very serious. The reader is confronted with Art¿s insecurity, his fears and worries and his sexual experiences. Chabon involves the reader into a story full of crime, homosexual affairs and excessive parental care. It is a well written book, which is easy to understand. There are a lot of points in the plot, which are very good to discuss. So I think this book is very interesting for school, because it is very modern and it fits better into our time than all the older, classic school books. What some people may find offensive in the book, are the very detailed descriptions of Art¿s sexual contacts with Arthur. Michael Chabon uses sometimes a lot of provoking details to describe the sex between two men, but on the other hand all these details make ¿The Mysteries of Pittsburgh¿ unique and separate the book from all the other school books. Finally I would say that ¿The Mysteries of Pittsburgh¿ is a very modern, sensitive, but also shocking and provoking book, which is definitely worth to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    mysteries

    I read the book in school, so I did not have any information about it and so I hab no expectations. By now I have to say that I do not like this book. And I dislike it for several reasons: Art is homosexual. I do not have any prejudices towards homosexual people, but when it comes to descriptions of homosexual intercourse fun is over. That also makes it hard for me to identify with the main character Art Bechstein. Another reason for my dislike is the fact that it is very difficult to out why some characters, including the main character, act the way they act. Art himself does not even know why he does certain things. He is unsure and confused. This unsureness makes me feel like he is just an idiot running through the world without even thinking! It seems like he is moving in circles, neither development, nor sense in his behaviour. Fortunately Art gives an explanation in the end of the book. But this is more or less satisfying. Not even in the end he is sure if he has ever loved Phlox. Furthermore the author assumes a lot of knowledge about films, film stars, poems and so on. This often has a confusing effect on me. Perhaps I am too young to understand some of these used symbols. But the book is somehow interesting and exciting. The storyline beside Art's sexuality is more interesting and more understandable. Overall I cannot say that I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh' by Michael Chabon

    The book 'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh' by Michael Chabon is about Art Bechstein who tells his personal experiences and feelings during one summer. Influenced by Arthur Lecombte, his gay friend, Phlox, the girl he once loved, Cleveland, his real friend, and at last his dad he became a different boy as he was before. Art is grown-up. This content is very interesting because everyone of us has to get an adult like Art. The process is necessary for everyone´s life because everyone has to become independent and self-confident. To learn how to make a decision is important, too. All these facts Art learned during this one summer but it wasn´t easy like it sounds. Art got in contact with illegal businesses, alcohol, wasting time by doing unimportant things and at last with homosexuality. He was so confused and didn´t know what to do but then he found the right way. When he lost all his summer-friends and at last broke up the contact with his dad Art realizes that he´s grown up and needs nobody who influences him. During reading the book it´s easy to identify with Art. Therefore I recommend 'The Mysteries of Pittsburgh' to everyone who wants to become independent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    Into the Depths

    I own 8 copies of this book, including two signed. Granted, it has all the failings of a first novel--but it reached into the depths of these characters, and I found myself there. This book kept me going when I was a novice in a monastery, because it connected me to a world where people struggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    How about 'no'?

    I can't believe all the good press this book gets. It's disappointing, to say the least. The main character is a pansy and all of the characters are developed poorly. 'Coming of age'? Isn't this Art guy supposed to be out of college now? Shouldn't he already be 'grown up'? Isn't that what the whole college experience is about? A waste of money if you ask me; the only semi-developed character in the book dies clutching a dollie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Linsey

    Art is the son of a wise Jewish gangster. Recently graduating from college, he is ready to begin his personal journey to find his identity, his true self. Chabon has created a very interesting and diverse cast. The various situations and environments were portrayed very realistically. I felt, at times, Chabon dragged out the character Art and some of his dilemmas so far and dramatic that it became annoying at some points. Overall, this novel is a light read and interesting, and at times, thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Clueless

    He seemed to have trouble writing credible characters. His gay character was especially two dimensional. I won't be buying any more of his books again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    WOW!

    A different take on relationship and life. A great writer with uniquw ideas and ways of expressing them. This one can be read more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2