BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mysterious Affair At Styles

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining and full of surprises

I'm embarrassed to admit that, prior to reading this book, I had never read anything by Agatha Christie. Last week, PBS featured one of her books on their Masterpiece Mystery show, and I thought it was very well done. My interest was piqued as to whether the books were ...
I'm embarrassed to admit that, prior to reading this book, I had never read anything by Agatha Christie. Last week, PBS featured one of her books on their Masterpiece Mystery show, and I thought it was very well done. My interest was piqued as to whether the books were as good as the show. I decided to start with her very first book published, rather than start with a later book and run the risk of encountering spoilers. So, I requested The Mysterious Affair at Styles from my library, and hoped for the best.

I was not disappointed! One big plus to The Mysterious Affair at Styles is that the culprit is not obvious. At the end of the book, I was just as surprised as the characters to learn who the murderer was, and what had happened. It was refreshing not to have it be predictable. I also like that the reader is given lots of clues along the way, to try and piece things together. The book moves quick enough that you don't get bored, yet provides plenty of details and complex characters. I definitely plan on reading more by Christie, if this book is any indication to what the rest of her mysteries are like.

posted by kren250 on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Muder Strikes Poirot Again

This Novel is one of many. The way she has written her characters in this book is just amazing!!! The Mystery is one that you cant take your eyes away from the page!!

posted by Anonymous on December 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    the mysterious affair at styles

    I enjoyed reading this book it was very intriging. If you enjoy mysteries you will like this book

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    what a book!!!

    This was such an exciting book. i read it in one day. i couldn't put it down. it always kept me guessing and i didn't even think the killer was gonna be who it was. the only thing that bugged me was the fact that poirot kept not telling hastings his ideas. i wanted to know too, so it bothered me. other than that, the book was fantastic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    A Must for Christie/Mystery Fans

    This is where it started. Originally published in 1920, this is Christie's first novel and featured the debut of Hercule Poirot and friend Hastings. A harbinger of things to come, this is an intiguing blend of characters and plot that keep you guessing and reading. Any fan of the genre and author will love it. Sure this will lead the reader to Christie's other novels, many of which I have now read. Highly recommended reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    In her usual flair Agatha Christie does it again, this one is one of Poirot's finest mysteries. An absolute worthy read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Hercule Poirot!

    Hercule Poirot ahhhhhh....!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Right Out Of Today's Headlines

    I have been an Agatha Christie fan since high school and have just picked them up and started reading her works again. This one as usual did not disappoint me. I particularly like reading any with Hercule Poirot. The way they are written keeps you in suspence until the very end. Even though the publish date is 1916, it reads like a murder taken right out of todays headlines. A very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    The first of many to come

    This is Agatha Christie's first ever published novel. This is where all the magic started! I am a huge Agatha fan and will reccomend her to anyone. If you are interested in reading a book by Agatha Christie but don't know where to start -she has so many! - I suggest starting from the beginning with this book.
    It is captivating, intriguing and certainly keeps you guessing. It's got drama, thrill and excitement. Great characters, wonderful plot - this book has it all. Once of my all time favorite books.
    I espcially like this new hardback cover. They took a bunch of her books and re-did the covers in these brilliant bright colors that really catch your eye. I have collected all of them =)
    Wonderful book that I think anyone could enjoy.
    Agatha is a literary genius that doesn't disappoint. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    First case

    Twists and turns that lead you to believe differnt murderers at different times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    A great mystery.

    You can't go wrong with Agatha Christie's first Hercule Poirot book. Fun mystery written in great style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite brilliant. Better than I was expecting.

    Quite brilliant. Better than I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    she never disappoints

    As usual...lovely

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Dhdjdd

    Luv this one! Ive seen the movie and it was good 2!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Please answer.

    How many pages is this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    A must for Detective Novel Lovers

    Agatha Christie is well known as the queen of crime, and this novels illustrates the reason why, Intrigue, suspense and thrill are the words I would use to describe this masterpiece.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    By GamerGirl

    An incredible case as usual. I fear someday I might run out of Agatha Christie books to read. Then I'd have to settles for rereading my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Selina

    Fine its anonymous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Haley

    Oh i sowweh....lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5