Customer Reviews for

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(845)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

128 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!

I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names o...
I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names of characters and places had secret meanings hidden in them. This was definitely one of the best book I've ever read.

posted by FHResident on October 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a funny and great book for children of all ages!

I read the book very quickly because it was great. I would recommend for people 9-15. It all depends on the reading level. I enjoyed and bought the second book soon after.

posted by Will_Read_for_Fun on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names of characters and places had secret meanings hidden in them. This was definitely one of the best book I've ever read.

    128 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story, challenging vocabulary, Kid affirming!

    My son and I really enjoyed reading this book together. It had many great lessons and principles about friendship, teamwork, persistence and loyalty. It really lent itself to deeper discussions about life and values. The plot was captivating and it was easy to see yourself in the action. Consequently it was fun to ask my son what he would have done or done differently than the characters in the story. <BR/><BR/>Even though the children in the book were uniquely gifted, they retained some of the common,ordinariness of all kids and so were easy to identify with. It reminded me of the Harry Potter and Series of Unfortunate Events series without the supernatural or bizarre. Despite the realism, the storyline was exciting as the kids defeat the mad genius villian bent on world domination. It's a great read and you and your kids will love it!

    50 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE CRITIC: The mysterious Benedict Society

    This is a great book about some extraordinary kids. A great book, a classic. I love it. I highly recommend it. They get into some "STICKY" situations, and just barely get out of them. A MUST READ!

    42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is a funny and great book for children of all ages!

    I read the book very quickly because it was great. I would recommend for people 9-15. It all depends on the reading level. I enjoyed and bought the second book soon after.

    41 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Attention all kids and kids at heart!

    I'd never heard of the mysterious benedict society when I sat started reading it, and after a few pages I was blown away. As I am personally an adult, the story brought be back to my childhood reading the hardy boys and nancy drew. I loved the concept of 4 kids trying to solve interesting mysteries. The really great thing about this book is that it is really a pretty unpredictable storyline, and the puzzles and problems that the 4 kids have to solve are intersting for the reader to try to take a crack at too. Overall it was an excellent read and I highly recommend it!

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    this book is amazing. enjoyed it a lot and will order the next one.

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My 10 year old loves this book

    Engaging, diverse characters find themselves trapped in a dangerous world... and combine their unique talents (and the help of unusual friends) to overcome obstacles in order to save the world. A tale of bravery, determination and friendship.
    Caution - if you're opposed to the casual use of the word STUPID, be aware that the characters in the book (including the children) favor this word. Otherwise, the language is OK.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    I loved the series. Reynard, Constance, George(Sticky), and Kate were four smart kids going through this adventure. I love Kate's creativeness, Reynie's Cleverness, Sticky's mind and Constance's stubborness. All essential to their mission. I'm 12 and loved this series since I was 10. Trenton Lee Stewart forever!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Amazing

    Before I got my Nook, I was at my friends house amd I was reading this book. They probably got very annoyed that I wasn't listening to them, but this book got me very hooked. I never bought it, but I really want to.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book for all ages!

    This was a well written, exciting and fast moving book. The characters are developed nicely. The story is detailed, yet does not drag on.

    It is intended for children, but I would recommend for any age. great book for the family to share.

    Look forward to reading the next.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    Great book!

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is definitely my favorite book. I thought the name of the villain, Ledroptha Curtain, is kind of clever because it sounds like "let drop the curtain." In the book, Mr. Curtain tried to gain mind control over millions of people by sending hidden messages through radio and TV, and four kids, Constance Contraire, Reynard Muldoon (better known as Reynie), George Washington (better known as Sticky), and Kate Wetherall, tried to find out exactly what he was doing and stop him with the help of Mr. Benedict, who wrote the tests that got the kids on their mission in the first place, and his assistants, Rhonda and Number Two, who also passed the tests. Sticky is the one who knows all the facts. Reynie is the puzzle solver. Kate is the athletic daredevil who isn't afraid of things most people would be terrified of. And Constance is the cranky one who just seems like a burden towards the begining of the story, but ends up playing an important role in the mission. At the ending there was a letter from Mr. Benedict that said he knew that some people wanted to know his first name and that people could figure it out if they knew what "the code" was. It took me forever to figure that one out. I think that anyone age 9 and up looking for a long action-mystery-science fiction book that they can get really absorbed in should read this book.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Best book ever!

    I am a total bookworm and was looking for an awesome read this summer. I looked at the reviews and went ahead and bought it. Reading the first book and HOOKED!!! I've finished both the harry potter and percy jackson series and recommend this book to anyone who likes them too. This is NOT a waste of money at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Must read!!!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS TOTALLY FREAKIN AWESOME! if i could, i would rate it over 900,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000!!!!!!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing! *****

    I really enjoyed The Mysterious Benedict Society. I recently got this book last Saturday (Jan. 16, 2010) and now I am very close to finishing and it has been less than a week! I could not put this book down! I didn't even know what the book was about when I bought it, and now I know plenty. This book is great for many ages, but has more advanced vocabulary. This book is amazing!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    LCP age 11

    This is one of the best books i have read in a long time. My grandparents got me this book and i thought i would hat it. I was really wrong. This book is full of myateries and puzzles and sleep. ;) i loved this book so much just like two days later i finished and they got me the next two. I finished those just as quickly. Nicholas Bennedict has my vote for best book character in this whole series. My expectations are very high for books amd if they domr meet them i put the book down. I never put this book down. I hope you read this book and agree that is book is superb. If you dont i will shun you until you agree even if i dont know you. I will shun you from a distance. I hope you love this book just as much as i did. Remember if you dont like this book i will shun you l: )

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    A fun book about four children sent to stop a mind-control consp

    A fun book about four children sent to stop a mind-control conspiracy, &quot;The Mysterious Benedit Society&quot; is a smart children's book for young and older. I could easily imagine parents reading this to their children, and after the kids have fallen asleep a parent taking this to their own room to continue reading. Some decent twists and turns, some nice action, and good illustrations make this an easy and entertaining read. Definitely looking forward to book two in the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    The book im reading

    I think the book is brilliant and exiting!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Awesome Book!

    This book is a mix of adventure, humor, and science. I would reccomend this book to kids ages 10 and up along with all adults! Great book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Good read for young and old.

    The entire series is a great read for everyone that likes to solve childhood mysteries.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    A Little Bit of Everything for Everyone

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is part mystery, part adventure, and part science fiction. You will love it like crazy. Trust me, I did, and I couldn't put it down. Reynie, Sticky, Kate, Constance, and everyone else at the Society are every day characters you can't help but fall in love with. I guarantee you will love this book. Why else would it have a four and a half star rating? You'd better set aside sometime to read this book, because you won't be able to stop.

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    Posted by: Lauren Kellie

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 57