Customer Reviews for

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(869)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!

I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names o...
I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names of characters and places had secret meanings hidden in them. This was definitely one of the best book I've ever read.

posted by FHResident on October 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a funny and great book for children of all ages!

I read the book very quickly because it was great. I would recommend for people 9-15. It all depends on the reading level. I enjoyed and bought the second book soon after.

posted by Will_Read_for_Fun on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book for all ages!

    This was a well written, exciting and fast moving book. The characters are developed nicely. The story is detailed, yet does not drag on.

    It is intended for children, but I would recommend for any age. great book for the family to share.

    Look forward to reading the next.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    LCP age 11

    This is one of the best books i have read in a long time. My grandparents got me this book and i thought i would hat it. I was really wrong. This book is full of myateries and puzzles and sleep. ;) i loved this book so much just like two days later i finished and they got me the next two. I finished those just as quickly. Nicholas Bennedict has my vote for best book character in this whole series. My expectations are very high for books amd if they domr meet them i put the book down. I never put this book down. I hope you read this book and agree that is book is superb. If you dont i will shun you until you agree even if i dont know you. I will shun you from a distance. I hope you love this book just as much as i did. Remember if you dont like this book i will shun you l: )

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    A fun book about four children sent to stop a mind-control consp

    A fun book about four children sent to stop a mind-control conspiracy, "The Mysterious Benedit Society" is a smart children's book for young and older. I could easily imagine parents reading this to their children, and after the kids have fallen asleep a parent taking this to their own room to continue reading. Some decent twists and turns, some nice action, and good illustrations make this an easy and entertaining read. Definitely looking forward to book two in the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    The book im reading

    I think the book is brilliant and exiting!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    A Little Bit of Everything for Everyone

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is part mystery, part adventure, and part science fiction. You will love it like crazy. Trust me, I did, and I couldn't put it down. Reynie, Sticky, Kate, Constance, and everyone else at the Society are every day characters you can't help but fall in love with. I guarantee you will love this book. Why else would it have a four and a half star rating? You'd better set aside sometime to read this book, because you won't be able to stop.

    Can't wait to read the next one!

    Posted by: Lauren Kellie

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

    I enjoyed reading this book. It kept my attention through out the story. It had an interesting story in that a gifted, intelligent man wanted to rule the world by using hidden messages through TV to change people. I really like the idea that children were able to stop the genius by using their combined skills and intelligence to overcome the problem. It was a creative story line and I never figured out that the one character was just a toddler until the end of the book. It was nice to have a good ending and have things work out for all of the children.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    One of my top favorites!

    Its got action,happy parts,and sad parts(and aspecially confusing parts).i HIGHLY recomend this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    3.5 Stars: A book worth the time Quirky books are somewhat an

    3.5 Stars: A book worth the time


    Quirky books are somewhat an attraction for me. Books wherein the main characters are young, intelligent people who uses their brains most of the time in the story is fascinating. I first heard about this book when it was slightly associated to Series of Unfortunate Events so I gave it a try. Mind you this is somewhat of a lesser degree compared to SOUE since this has a little more fun here and there whereas in SOUE is serious most of the time.

    The first part of the story, just like in other books, introduces the environment and setting of the story. The mood is a little bit countryside with an air of a little bit mystery.

    I really liked the first part because there were many brain exercises and challenges and it was also explained what happened to this or why it happened like that. So you will not be left out. The 4 main characters each has its own unique characteristic so the interactions are fairly dynamic

    The magic slightly disappeared in between the book because there were some boring parts. But when you think it was boring something major happens so in a way you still cant put the book down.

    Towards the end it was really exciting and a little bit fast paced. Many thing are happening and there some twists here and there. The resolution of Book 1 is very good. It solves the problem presented in this first part but leaves an opening for a continuation.

    Overall it is a book worth the time so I can give this book a 3.5 whales.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    A fun mystery novel

    Recommended for ages 10+ and anyone who enjoys a simply delightful read. Lost a star for being a little predictable, but the plot is convoluted enough to engage this reader to the very end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Entertaining read

    Im about half way through the book and its an easy and fun summer read. I especially like all the riddles involved.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good

    Kind of boring at the very begining but is a great read .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    The Ladybug Princess

    A little slow at first but as the book the plot becomes more clear and more intreuging. I am 12 and I love it!!!My fave part is when everyone gets the stomach bug. :-P

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BUY IT

    This exceptional story will capture the awe and the attention of young readers. I certainly will purchase additional copies. I know a few young people that will relish it. Trenton Lee Stewart delivers beautifully. As a reader I enjoyed this novel, as an author I am impressed. Teachers and parents should definitely have this book in their libraries. It is not just for children either; people of all ages will love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    this book was engaging and well written. The characters were cha

    this book was engaging and well written. The characters were changing and very interesting, It had great puzzles and an 
    interesting conclusion. My only cons would be that it was dragged out at parts and a bit predictable. Other than that, it was 
    a fresh and interesting, and engaging read!! Go trenton LEe stewart 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I enjoyed this book, however it was a little long.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    So good

    Love it!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Lots of great surprises!

    I bought this book for an 8 year old who loves detective stories and is a very strong reader. She loved the book, and I enjoyed it as well. At bottom, it's a story about a group of children banding together to solve a mystery against difficult odds. Lots of surprises and plot twists, along with good writing and engaging characters. As an adult, I admit staying up late a few nights because I had to see what would happen next. One final note: it is great to see smart kids as the protagonists - it is tough growing up as a very smart child, and it is great that intelligence was one of the defining features of the main characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Great book

    I have read this book like 50 times its Asssssome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Pretty good book.

    Pretty good book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A mysterious beutifull book

    A great book forc ages 8-17 nothing inopropriat
    A great read though has hard vocab a wonderfull book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7