BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(859)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

129 out of 136 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!

I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names o...
I am an 11 year old girl and I found this book was so engaging! I couldn't stop reading it! All the characters were so intersting and the story is very captivating. I loved the puzzles and the mysteries that the characters had to solve. I also loved that all the names of characters and places had secret meanings hidden in them. This was definitely one of the best book I've ever read.

posted by FHResident on October 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a funny and great book for children of all ages!

I read the book very quickly because it was great. I would recommend for people 9-15. It all depends on the reading level. I enjoyed and bought the second book soon after.

posted by Will_Read_for_Fun on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A mysterious beutifull book

    A great book forc ages 8-17 nothing inopropriat
    A great read though has hard vocab a wonderfull book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Love it

    I love this book i got hooked on the 10th page

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Found this children's book for 7-12+ a good read. It was fun and kept my interest. Read this so I could choose a chapter book to read with my kids this summer. Look forward to reading additional books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good first book...

    The book is filled with interesting, thougha bit one-dimensional, characters. The situation is a bit implausible, but that's the way of young adult books. A good, quick read with all the required themes of self-reliance, good and evil, and perseverance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    When you finish Harry Potter

    Really enjoyed the story line and character development! Reminded me somewhat of the HP series in that a kid or adult could enjoy the book.... I will definitely consider reading the other books in this series! Certainly a good book for young readers! Mystery, suspense, humor, and an overall good time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No name plz

    The girl from april 19. I dont care!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Okay

    Interesting book. Took a while to get interested in, but after that very compelling. Good book if you don't have anything else to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great

    This is the first of three books in the mysterious benedict society series. It is really interesting and it kindnof in a way a mystery. By reading this book i learned morse code which is really cool! Its like a whole different language!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    cool book

    I like this book good jelly peanutbutter samich?
    Troll
    TROLL
    Troll

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Good

    Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Read this!!

    I read this book about two years ago and i was ubsessd read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    The children have always been different, even ignoring the fact

    The children have always been different, even ignoring the fact that they are orphans and runaways. And it was their unique nature and position that made them the perfect candidates for the job. And shortly after meeting each other, Reynie and his three new companions must go into the enemy's territory in an attempt to not only uncover a dangerous plot, but to put an end to it.

    This book is a lot of fun. It is part mystery, part adventure [like most of my really fun books[, but it is also sort of a journey of self-discovery [beyond mere character development]. Your four main characters are Reynie [good with puzzles], Sticky [good with remembering], Kate [ready for anything--no really, she's like a Swiss army knife], and Constance [pigheaded does not even begin to cover how stubborn this girl is]. All are, pretty much, alone in the world for any number of reasons. Whether it is because of this or simply because they are children, a great deal of the adventure is coming into their own as individuals, discovering not only their self-worth but also their worth and weight as members of a team and family. And Stewart did this quite well--allowing for each skill to come into play without it feeling contrived, convenient or just awkward. These aren't just one-and-done deals like some sort of epiphany that brings completion. It is a decently long and involved process with a fair amount of, quite realistic, repetition.

    As a [mostly] open-minded and "grown-up" [more or less] reader, I am never quite sure how much of what I read and successfully solve or comprehend in kid books is my own cleverness, experience or age verses how obvious it is in the text. Often I find myself thinking, "oh, this is just blatant" but I always try to do a double check. Sometimes, yes, yes it is, and I don't much care for that.I do like some mental exercise despite my predilection for YA/Intermediate fiction and fantasy. But sometimes a book comes along with the perfect layer of puzzle spread over each chapter - like in The Westing Game. To be honest, The Mysterious Benedict Society does not have that same awesomeness blended throughout [acceptable, since I list Westing Game amongst my all-time favorites]. However, what it does have is the perfect spread of mystery and adventure to keep you reading and guessing without feeling insulted by ease or complexity.

    Although I thoroughly enjoyed the book, it did not capture me the way as my actual favorites, but I firmly support it and will recommend it freely. I'll also likely collect the rest of them in the end.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    ********

    Srry bout my heading but this is a really good book i read it in third or fourth grade but then it got boring so i quit in the in the middle of the second book but as soon as i finish son of neptune im gonna read it again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Smart

    If you like fun and exciting books that make you think, this book's for you. It doesn't matter why you're reading it, just read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Good book

    This is an excellent book with a spectacular ending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Good

    It was very entertaning it was a huge page turner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    This is a great book for anyone who loves action packed fiction!

    I just read the amazing book The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. The book is about four friends that take a special test given to them to a man they meet named Mr. Benedict. Mr. Benedict wants them to go on a secret mission to stop an evil man named Mr. Curtain and his "executives" from building a powerful machine that could control everyone in the world! The four friends Kate, Sticky, Constance, and Reynard must rely on friendship, cooperation, and knowledge to stop Mr. Curtain from taking over the world. I really liked this book because there is excitement on every page. I couldn't put this book away! I would recommend this book for fifth, sixth, and seventh grades. When I read this book I though the author was trying to tell me friendship is very important. I loved this book!-KW

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Fantastic!!!

    This should be the official book for gifted children!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A good book for anyone!

    I loved how this book involved puzzles and mysteries, but the one thing that supurised me and was odd, was that they said Constance was 2! It's cool, but they didn't really give a lot of information about her life. Anyway, to readers all ages this will be the perfect book for you!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    OK book

    This was an ok book, not quite up to snuff with what I was expecting and what I'd heard about in. But still a good book. Sometimes tha characters got a bit to swotty. Like a lower grade version of 'Chasing Vermeer'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7