BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mystery (Alex Delaware Series #26)

Average Rating 3.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

a straightforward urban whodunit

LAPD Homicide Lieutenant Milo Sturgis asks psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware to look at a shotgun victim whose face was blown away. Alex is shocked not by what he sees as he has been privy to humanity's cruelty, but who he sees. He recognizes the young female as someone ...
LAPD Homicide Lieutenant Milo Sturgis asks psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware to look at a shotgun victim whose face was blown away. Alex is shocked not by what he sees as he has been privy to humanity's cruelty, but who he sees. He recognizes the young female as someone he and his wife Robin saw last night at a restaurant bar with a nasty looking male with her.

The cop receives an anonymous tip about an online service that matches "sugar daddies" with "star-quality sweeties." Apparently, the "daddy" to the victim "Mystery" was affluent Markham McReynolds. Besides him, his family fills up the suspect list as his wife, two adult sons and their spouses have motives and the sextet is known for out of control behavior.

The latest Delaware-Sturgis collaborative police procedural (see Evidence and Deception) is a fun buddy tale as the cop and the doc work the mean streets of Los Angeles. The story line is fast-paced but has a breezy feel due to the teasing barbs between the lead pair. Readers who appreciate a straightforward urban whodunit will want to join Sturgis and Delaware as they tease each other while following clues that lead to where the affluent can buy and do anything with immunity.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Overly hyped

I found the story boring. The humor seemed forced and the story uninteresting

posted by 3481815 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Another Good One

    I love Jonathan Kellereman's books. This one was a little bit disappointing because the mystery builds and builds but the climax comes very quickly and sort of out of left field. No matter. I'll read anything he writes especially the Alex Delaware series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    i recommend this book

    jonathan kellerman is one of my favorite authors in the alex delaware storyline. i have just started and it is already full of mystery and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Another Great Alex Delaware series

    Love Jonathan Kellerman books!! Cannot wait till the next one!!!!
    Mystery will keep you on your toes!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Delaware novel

    The gangs all here Alex, Robin, Milo. Great story line. Universal theme, tearing down the old to make way for something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    The cover catches your eye with it's brilliant red, then you scroll down and it looks like a hazy night in the city of LA. Which it is...a little melancholy about the way Los Angeles tears down the old with barely a thought to move onto bigger, better and newer.

    Robin and Alex decide to spend an evening at a favorite old haunt that is set to be torn down soon. The hotel has already begun to be emptied, it has a funeral feel. Alex is very good at noticing people and his surroundings, and that helps in this case, as the girl found murdered the next day was sitting at the next table.

    That's also how Alex gets drawn into helping Milo, his lieutenant friend. Kellerman writes a great mystery, because even though you know the main characters very well after 26 books, the mystery is deep. I was over halfway through the novel before they even found out her real name. Nearly finished before he told us who done it. Excellent mystery novel!

    I also really like the characters, they are human and written with all their failings. Alex had a rough childhood that still haunts him, he is a psychologist who through good investments only works when he wants to. When he takes on a patient, the best of the inquisition wouldn't get him to talk. Milo fully respects that.

    Seriously a great book, as all Kellerman's works are. If you do like this, you might try his wife - Faye Kellerman. They have a similar style, not surprising they are married. She also has the returning characters of Decker/Lazarus.

    I'm giving this 4 stars. Fully enjoyable mystery...gets me my crime drama fix without traumatizing my family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Definitely Not One of His Best!!!!

    I have followed the Alex Delaware Series -- believe I have read or listened to all of them -- even though I enjoy this series and this author, Mystery was not one of Kellerman's best. I am one that when I begin a book I have to finish it even though I might not enjoy it completely, I couldn't complete this one -- got almost 3/4ths of the way through the audiobook and then had to put it down - I am not even interested in finding out what happened, which is very unusual for me. Hopefully, the next will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Boring

    Loved all the Alex Delaware series books but this one did not live up to the others. Very boring story J. Kellerman is better than this book, had a hard time keeping interested. Milo was not his usual self and as far as Alex and Robin are concerned they have been made to be a very boring couple. The last chapter was the best in the whole book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery

    Alex Delaware and his girlfriend Robin are having a drink in the soon to be demolished Faubourg Hotel when they notice a beautiful woman and her bodyguard. The next day they her that she has been killed and Alex offers his assistance to his cop pal Milo Sturgis. Alex has been on the LAPD payroll as a consultant for a long time now. He was and is a child psychologist and takes the case of the child of a former patient to add to this story.

    I have read most if not all of the Alex Delaware novels as the character is a favorite of mine. Although, sometimes I think the character has been played out, this is not the case with this novel. It's nice to see that secondary characters such as Robin and Milo's doctor boyfriend, Rick are active in this one. The mystery itself was nothing out of the ordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Not one his best

    I didnt care for this one at all. I like Kellerman but this one wasnt worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Just OK

    Being a huge Alex Delaware fan, I looked forward to this new adventure. I don't know if Jonathan Kellerman is going the James Patterson route or what, but this story was so drawn out and boring, I was happy it ended.
    Page upon page of description and repitition and not nearly enough dialogue between the characters. The ending was way too drawn out and left a lot of unanswered questions.
    Come on, Mr. Kellerman....lets get it back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    just okay

    was disappointed with this book. it just meanders and i was glad when i was done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17