Customer Reviews for

Mystery (Alex Delaware Series #26)

Average Rating 3.5
( 320 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

a straightforward urban whodunit

LAPD Homicide Lieutenant Milo Sturgis asks psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware to look at a shotgun victim whose face was blown away. Alex is shocked not by what he sees as he has been privy to humanity's cruelty, but who he sees. He recognizes the young female as someone ...
LAPD Homicide Lieutenant Milo Sturgis asks psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware to look at a shotgun victim whose face was blown away. Alex is shocked not by what he sees as he has been privy to humanity's cruelty, but who he sees. He recognizes the young female as someone he and his wife Robin saw last night at a restaurant bar with a nasty looking male with her.

The cop receives an anonymous tip about an online service that matches "sugar daddies" with "star-quality sweeties." Apparently, the "daddy" to the victim "Mystery" was affluent Markham McReynolds. Besides him, his family fills up the suspect list as his wife, two adult sons and their spouses have motives and the sextet is known for out of control behavior.

The latest Delaware-Sturgis collaborative police procedural (see Evidence and Deception) is a fun buddy tale as the cop and the doc work the mean streets of Los Angeles. The story line is fast-paced but has a breezy feel due to the teasing barbs between the lead pair. Readers who appreciate a straightforward urban whodunit will want to join Sturgis and Delaware as they tease each other while following clues that lead to where the affluent can buy and do anything with immunity.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Overly hyped

I found the story boring. The humor seemed forced and the story uninteresting

posted by 3481815 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoy Kellerman's "Alex Deleware Series" and this was another good one. I like it when i cant figure it out right away.
    If you like murder mysteries then you will enjoy Kellerman's books and especially this serires.
    I could do with out all the directions and California GPS but it is esay to skim through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    I've been a fan of the Alex Delaware Novels for years, and Jonat

    I've been a fan of the Alex Delaware Novels for years, and Jonathan Kellerman, has always been one of my favorite authors to read. This one did not disappoint, I read it within 2 days and found it just as intriguing as the rest in this series. I love good series because I get involved with the characters, and it's nice to be able to continue to enjoy Alex, Milo, Robin and Blanche.. The mystery was well done, and the who done it left me wondering until almost the end. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Retake

    Sometimes the adage “the more things change, the more they stay the same,” refers to a good thing. Certainly it applies to the Alex Delaware series. For 25 novels, the basic plot has remained the same: a crime is committed and Dr, Delaware and Lt. Sturgis investigate, analyze, philosophize and eventually solve it. This 26th story in the series is no different.

    A beautiful young woman, obviously waiting for a “date,” first observed in a rundown hotel by Alex and his paramour Robin, is found later up in the Hollywood Hills shot in the face. Sturgis invites Alex, by chance, to witness the scene, and the good doctor is able to identify the victim by the way she was dressed. There is little in the way of clues or evidence, but that doesn’t stop them from researching and theorizing ad infinitum.

    One would think that an author would tire of characters and plots after so many novels, but they remain fresh and interesting, readable and enjoyable. [The 27th book in the series, “Victims,” was published by Ballantine in March, 2012.]

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Another Good One

    I love Jonathan Kellereman's books. This one was a little bit disappointing because the mystery builds and builds but the climax comes very quickly and sort of out of left field. No matter. I'll read anything he writes especially the Alex Delaware series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    The cover catches your eye with it's brilliant red, then you scroll down and it looks like a hazy night in the city of LA. Which it is...a little melancholy about the way Los Angeles tears down the old with barely a thought to move onto bigger, better and newer.

    Robin and Alex decide to spend an evening at a favorite old haunt that is set to be torn down soon. The hotel has already begun to be emptied, it has a funeral feel. Alex is very good at noticing people and his surroundings, and that helps in this case, as the girl found murdered the next day was sitting at the next table.

    That's also how Alex gets drawn into helping Milo, his lieutenant friend. Kellerman writes a great mystery, because even though you know the main characters very well after 26 books, the mystery is deep. I was over halfway through the novel before they even found out her real name. Nearly finished before he told us who done it. Excellent mystery novel!

    I also really like the characters, they are human and written with all their failings. Alex had a rough childhood that still haunts him, he is a psychologist who through good investments only works when he wants to. When he takes on a patient, the best of the inquisition wouldn't get him to talk. Milo fully respects that.

    Seriously a great book, as all Kellerman's works are. If you do like this, you might try his wife - Faye Kellerman. They have a similar style, not surprising they are married. She also has the returning characters of Decker/Lazarus.

    I'm giving this 4 stars. Fully enjoyable mystery...gets me my crime drama fix without traumatizing my family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5