Customer Reviews for

Mystic River

Average Rating 4.5
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well Written, but dark

Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple diffe...
Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple different character's viewpoint, which, while somewhat distracting, was also very well done. If you are looking for a feel good book, this isn't it. My husband felt it was a book about redemption. It left me feeling slightly sick to my stomach. I almost stopped reading it on multiple occasions. It dealt with dark topics, and drug them through the mud of human motivations. In my opinion, there were too many violence-laced sexual scenes. I, personally, don't care about gratuitously exploring every main character's sex life. While it's a part of a healthy life, I don't want to go crawling into my neighbor's bedrooms...and that's what it felt like.

posted by clearwatersflowafter on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not...
Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not an occasional appropriate to the character bad word - but horrible, unnecessary profanity. I'm sure some people don't mind this and even think it adds realism to a book. To me - it is not reality - my associates do not speak that way and it offended me. Sorry - I know many people love this book - but I think they need to be aware of the language. The plot is also quite dark and depressing. so I definitely would not recommend this book.

posted by Momto2 on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Disappointing

    Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not an occasional appropriate to the character bad word - but horrible, unnecessary profanity. I'm sure some people don't mind this and even think it adds realism to a book. To me - it is not reality - my associates do not speak that way and it offended me. Sorry - I know many people love this book - but I think they need to be aware of the language. The plot is also quite dark and depressing. so I definitely would not recommend this book.

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Well Written, but dark

    Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple different character's viewpoint, which, while somewhat distracting, was also very well done. If you are looking for a feel good book, this isn't it. My husband felt it was a book about redemption. It left me feeling slightly sick to my stomach. I almost stopped reading it on multiple occasions. It dealt with dark topics, and drug them through the mud of human motivations. In my opinion, there were too many violence-laced sexual scenes. I, personally, don't care about gratuitously exploring every main character's sex life. While it's a part of a healthy life, I don't want to go crawling into my neighbor's bedrooms...and that's what it felt like.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    (insert headline here)

    I admit, after watching the movie version, probably the 10th time, I really had trepidation about reading the novel. Because, in my not-so-humble opinion, great novels and stories (The Queen of the Damned, Needful Things, even The Bridge of Teribithia for goodness sakes) don't transfer well onto the "silver screen".
    Since Mystic River (the movie) was such a awesome movie (again, in my opinion), I was genuinely concerned that it would be a bizzaro world version of my "great movie, not-so-great book" (*ahem* Fight Club *ahem*). I worried were for nothing.
    This novel is tremndous in so many ways. The layering of plots and subplots, the suspense and heavy tension, the pacing and the overall believability of the characters, even down to their idioyncracies and frailties.
    So, in closing, I would highly recommend it to anyone reading this review.
    Gordon
    Lake Station, IN

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystic River

    I have read most of the works by Dennis Lehane and Mystic River did not disappoint. Denni Lehane's prose is excellent and he always writes great characters that the reader can relate to. To set the record straight, writers like Lehane, George Pelecanos, Richard Price, and other writers like them, write books that are much more than the crime fiction class they are placed in. Books by these authors should not be compared to James Patterson. Mystic River should have been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, maybe even have won it. It was really that good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read and Writing Style...

    Best thing to say about any of his books is that they are NOT predictable!! Read Shutter Island before the movie and was impressed. Discovered later that Mystic River (I saw the movie when it first came out and liked it...)was by same author. Will now buy Gone Baby Gone by Dennis LeHane also, even though I have already seen that movie also.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Will you please just review the book.

    I'm not sure what all of the wierd back and forth is about, but it would really be nice if you guys could either review this book or just use text messaging for whatever you are talking about. Believe it or not when people look at the reviews, they are actually trying to get an opinion regarding the book. Your inappropriate use of this function is really inconsiderate. Thank you

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    A fantastic read

    A fantastic read. Just when you think you' ve got it figured out, Lehane turns everything on its head. One of his best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    A gripping, satisfying story

    I became involved with the characters immediately, caring about them and eager to find out what was going to happen to them. Also, I found myself frustrated with them sometimes because they couldn't see past the ends of their noses and over come their flaws. But that's the same with us real people, isn't it?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Disappointing!

    I am a reader, 2,3 books a week. While l admit that Lehane is a great writer, I feel like I need an antidepressant after reading Mystic River. Reading a book has a purpose. Entertain, teach, inspire, even spook, etc. What was the message? Couldn't one single person have a moment of joy? Just one little victory in their miserable lives? Such a dark, hopeless story with the bad guys winning. The perp figured out way before the ending. Disappointing!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Disappointed for the first time in Lehane

    Mystic River was a far cry from the witty, exciting past books by Lehane. The book is entirely too wordly, too many useless description of everyday events and human action. I also felt there was entirely too much foul language (cussing) when the character could make the point without it. Even sever cussing in their own thoughts. I was looking very forward to Lehanes new characters, the this set of people were very mentally and emotionally messed up. Hard to find humor, plot or entertainment in a city that is described as a hell and charaters who only know hate. I will be looking forward to your next novel Lehane, I know you can do much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting psychological thriller

    In the Boston area, Jimmy Marcus, Dave Boyle, and Sean Devine are best friends, playing together like preadolescents do everywhere. Their friendship and perhaps childhood ends when eleven-year old Dave enters the car of two strangers claiming to be cops, who sexually molest him. When he escapes and finally returns home he is not the same carefree child. <P>Twenty-five years later, homicide detective Devine investigates the murder of Marcus¿ nineteen-year-old daughter. His prime suspect is Boyle, whose own wife believes he is more monster than human being. Marcus, an ex-con, conducts his own inquiries because the grieving father plans to provide his own brand of justice to the culprit. These three former friends appear heading towards a bloody deadly collision. <P> Dennis Lehane, known for his Kenzie-Gennero series, has written his best novel to date. MYSTIC RIVER contains a who-done-it, but that is a subplot of the theme that centers on the impact on adults of their broken childhood relationships. This psychological suspense tale works because the three key players and several support members like Boyle¿s wife appear genuine and consistent so that their actions feel right for them. Though his Kenzie-Gennero series is very good, readers will demand Mr. Lehane take further sabbaticals from it so that he can concentrate on more stand alone novels like this excellent book. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Love all his books

    A great read from start to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Skytalon

    Waits

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Mysticsun

    *lapped his c.um up and c.um in his mouth.* more more!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Flamekit

    Walks in. "Are there any elders here?"

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great whodunnit

    I'm not generally a fan of multiple points of view in the same novel but this novel is one of the few exceptions.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Literary in Emotion Alone

    Few novels of recent authorship have really been intended to linger in the reader's mind beyond the closing words -- which was why this story of such amazing emotional depth and maturity was as pleasantly surprising as it was to me. When nearing the finish, I honestly believed I was reading something deep and interesting, dramatic when the plot required it. Sixty or so pages from the end, however, it collapses on itself with all the weight of its own empathetic spirit. The story lapses into typing up the murder's mystery -- doing so in a rather shoddy manner that makes me wonder if Mr. LeHane didn't come upon his deadline in the midst of writer's block and hire an amateur noir novelist to finish it for him. In the end, the unneccesary details of the end feel poorly crafted and lazily drawn, the broad and introspective scope of the previous chapters moot. It's still worthy of a read, but don't expect an ending as dazzling as its brilliant lead-up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Mystified River

    Having read all of the previous reviews and accolades that Lahane received for this book, I just knew that it would be the best book I read this year. NOT! The characters were all murky, with not one--including the poor murdered girl--who was worth saving. The plot was right out of 'The Sopranos,' minus the colorful mob characters that help keep the series from taking itself too seriously. I disliked the book so vehemently that when Lahane had a book signing in my town, I refused to go, even though I have a hard copy, first edition. Interestingly, I've heard from several people that the movie is much better than the book, and that's usually a sign of a very bad book. In fact, one friend said that the director of the movie filled in and fleshed out what was missing in the book, and that was what improved the movie. However, my reaction to the book was so negative that I doubt I'll ever see the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Boring, very slow, and disappointing !

    Having read and enjoyed all the previous Lehanne books I was very disappointed with this one. In addition to being a very slow read the characters in this book were the type that were very difficult to care about. I was barely able to finish the book. A total waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    words

    Mr Lehane seems to enjoy the use of a great many words, most of which when strung together are boring.It is true that the author needs to describe the characters,and action, but common. A description of 411. I thought I was going to die from verbosity. I guess I'm angry because I looked forward to so much from this author and got so little.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19