BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mystic River

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Well Written, but dark

Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple diffe...
Lehane has an excellent style. This book is a page-turner. The characters are very well developed. The story has quite a few unexpected twists and turns. He does an excellent job of describing the motivations behind actions. The story was told from multiple different character's viewpoint, which, while somewhat distracting, was also very well done. If you are looking for a feel good book, this isn't it. My husband felt it was a book about redemption. It left me feeling slightly sick to my stomach. I almost stopped reading it on multiple occasions. It dealt with dark topics, and drug them through the mud of human motivations. In my opinion, there were too many violence-laced sexual scenes. I, personally, don't care about gratuitously exploring every main character's sex life. While it's a part of a healthy life, I don't want to go crawling into my neighbor's bedrooms...and that's what it felt like.

posted by clearwatersflowafter on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not...
Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not an occasional appropriate to the character bad word - but horrible, unnecessary profanity. I'm sure some people don't mind this and even think it adds realism to a book. To me - it is not reality - my associates do not speak that way and it offended me. Sorry - I know many people love this book - but I think they need to be aware of the language. The plot is also quite dark and depressing. so I definitely would not recommend this book.

posted by Momto2 on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Disappointing

    Well.... I found this from a list of "Best Mystery Books of the Decade".... and was intrigued by the description. I wish I had previewed it for even a second in the bookstore. The language is so gross that I could not enjoy the book. It is on almost every page. Not an occasional appropriate to the character bad word - but horrible, unnecessary profanity. I'm sure some people don't mind this and even think it adds realism to a book. To me - it is not reality - my associates do not speak that way and it offended me. Sorry - I know many people love this book - but I think they need to be aware of the language. The plot is also quite dark and depressing. so I definitely would not recommend this book.

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Disappointed for the first time in Lehane

    Mystic River was a far cry from the witty, exciting past books by Lehane. The book is entirely too wordly, too many useless description of everyday events and human action. I also felt there was entirely too much foul language (cussing) when the character could make the point without it. Even sever cussing in their own thoughts. I was looking very forward to Lehanes new characters, the this set of people were very mentally and emotionally messed up. Hard to find humor, plot or entertainment in a city that is described as a hell and charaters who only know hate. I will be looking forward to your next novel Lehane, I know you can do much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Literary in Emotion Alone

    Few novels of recent authorship have really been intended to linger in the reader's mind beyond the closing words -- which was why this story of such amazing emotional depth and maturity was as pleasantly surprising as it was to me. When nearing the finish, I honestly believed I was reading something deep and interesting, dramatic when the plot required it. Sixty or so pages from the end, however, it collapses on itself with all the weight of its own empathetic spirit. The story lapses into typing up the murder's mystery -- doing so in a rather shoddy manner that makes me wonder if Mr. LeHane didn't come upon his deadline in the midst of writer's block and hire an amateur noir novelist to finish it for him. In the end, the unneccesary details of the end feel poorly crafted and lazily drawn, the broad and introspective scope of the previous chapters moot. It's still worthy of a read, but don't expect an ending as dazzling as its brilliant lead-up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Mystified River

    Having read all of the previous reviews and accolades that Lahane received for this book, I just knew that it would be the best book I read this year. NOT! The characters were all murky, with not one--including the poor murdered girl--who was worth saving. The plot was right out of 'The Sopranos,' minus the colorful mob characters that help keep the series from taking itself too seriously. I disliked the book so vehemently that when Lahane had a book signing in my town, I refused to go, even though I have a hard copy, first edition. Interestingly, I've heard from several people that the movie is much better than the book, and that's usually a sign of a very bad book. In fact, one friend said that the director of the movie filled in and fleshed out what was missing in the book, and that was what improved the movie. However, my reaction to the book was so negative that I doubt I'll ever see the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Boring, very slow, and disappointing !

    Having read and enjoyed all the previous Lehanne books I was very disappointed with this one. In addition to being a very slow read the characters in this book were the type that were very difficult to care about. I was barely able to finish the book. A total waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    words

    Mr Lehane seems to enjoy the use of a great many words, most of which when strung together are boring.It is true that the author needs to describe the characters,and action, but common. A description of 411. I thought I was going to die from verbosity. I guess I'm angry because I looked forward to so much from this author and got so little.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Silentdamage

    She watched from the bushes but slowly fell asleep.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Ok

    Ok

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Expected too much

    Dennis Lehane usually gets better with each book. When I read his last Kenzie book, I almost read it straight through. This one was kind of slow, kind of dull, and almost boring. Maybe the next one in this series, if there will be a next one, will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Very Predictable

    Although the characters were well developed, I figured the story out when the killer was first introduced. Even the twists were very easy to unravel. This is not at all worthy of his earlier novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1