Customer Reviews for

Mystic and Rider (Twelve Houses Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Feel Good Book Worth Reading Over and Over

    A totally enjoyable first book in an adventure/fantasy series. The unusual characters are well developed and have diverse and unusal life experiences and talents. In this book the characters get to know each other and form bonds of friendship and caring that continue throughout the rest of the series. Another favorite of mine is a later book in the series entitled Fortune and Fate that features an interesting and unusual heroine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Sharon Shinn

    Love the book and the series. Could never get enough of the world created in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Great Fantasy Series!

    After looking for high fantasy series/authors that were new to me, I stumbled upon Sharon Shinn's Twelve Kingdom series through a short story anthology, "The Queen in Winter." The world she was able to build, seemingly effortlessly, was unique, believable,and utterly immersive. I HAD to find the books! Depth of characters, underlying themes, and excellent writing have characterized the entire series. After the initial series of 4 books, I had some trepidation approaching the 5th book. Some writers, once their initial saga is finished, seem to flounder in later installments. I should never have worried. I can only hope for more installments!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    You have to read this!!

    This is a the terrific start to a great series I've read from start to finish. Great character development and descriptive language, you can't help falling in love with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun reading

    Love the characters. Wish I was a mystic of sorts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    My daughter and I both loved this book. We are excited about getting the next one in the series. It was easy to care about the characters and look forward to what was going to happen to them next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    An instant fan

    I picked up Mystic and Rider on an impulse, in search of the next read on my fantasy list. I became an instant fan of Sharon Shinn's work- her writing style is so easy to follow, yet isn't dumbed down in order to be so. The characters in this novel are very captivating, particularly Senneth, the main character. I love what Sharon Shinn did with this story, I was truly aching for more when I finished. I just picked up the next installment, 'Thirteenth House', and I can't wait to sink my teeth into it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    New admirerer

    I am a big fantasy fan, and on a whim i picked up this book. Half way through the book i fell in love with Sharon Shinn's style of writing. I found this book captivating, danger elegantly combined with reluctant romance. Sharon Shinn is a spectacular author and as an apirering writer i seek to emulate her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Great Book

    I loved this book! It has romance and adventure all wrapped in one. I picked up this book on a whim thinking it sounded good. Boy was I blown away. Sharon shinn is a fabulous writer. i strongly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Ready for Book 2!

    It has been a long time since I finished a book only to miss the characters! This book leaves you yearning for more. Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    WOW!

    I am completely blown away! This novel was one of the best I have ever read. The world of The 12 Houses was so real and I am in awe of Shinn's ability to create such a vivid and complex reality. The Characters were just awesome. They are also very real and complex. When they react to an event or make a decision it is true to there own unique character. I never doubted for a moment that these were real people with real problems. This was an excellent read for me, especially because I usually enjoy historical fiction. If you like Fantasy or Sharon Shinn, or just like to be entertained you MUST read this book! I finished this book craving more and I hope that this is a new series that she will be working on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic fantasy

    King Baryn orders the mystic Senneth to journey through the realm of Gillengaria to find out how the nobles feel about his rule because rumors persist that the aristocracy is unhappy. Accompanying Senneth is Riders( soldiers loyal to the king) Tayse and Justin and Mystics Kira and Donnal. Along the way they pick up Cammon, an indentured servant who isn¿t even aware he¿s a mystic until Senneth shows him how to use his powers......................... The journey is fraught with danger as a cult, the Daughter of the Pale Mother, headed by Conralinda Gisselness has amassed a large following of women who declare that Mystics are evil and must be destroyed. She whips the populace into a frenzy and has her soldiers kill the Mystics wherever they find them. Senneth and company also learn that several heads of the twelve houses are worried about the succession since the king has only a rarely seen daughter. Rumors that his queen is a mystic also upsets the people who think those who wield magic are evil. Civil war on a religious and politic front seems inevitable..................... Sharon Shinn demonstrates her amazing writing talent in MYSTIC AND RIDER the first installment in a great new fantasy series. Senneth risks her life to save a baby from its grandfather who wants it dead because the infant was born with mystical powers. Readers will adore this vulnerable heroine who is one of the strongest mages in the land and is completely devoted to the king. Riding through the realm, the riders and the mystics observe how much the common folks detest those with magic even killing their own children. The world of Gillengaria is so realistically portrayed; readers will be convinced that this world actually exists............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3