Customer Reviews for

The Myth of You and Me

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Not My Favorite

    I just finished this book, and didn't love it. The story rambles on and on and I kept waiting for the plot to begin. The apparent theme is finding Sonia --- but there is no ending to satisfy the reader's questions. I found this book listed in my local newspaper as new and promising -- it didn't keep its promise to me. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Relatable Read About Relationships

    This is a quintessential novel about relationships, whether between childhood best friends, parents & daughters, lovers, exes, colleagues or mentors. A quick & easy read, it follows the story of Cameron & her estranged best friend from high school & college, Sonia. When Cameron's boss & mentor passes away at the age of 92, he has left behind a package with instructions that she must visit and deliver the parcel to Sonia, whom Cameron hasn't seen in years. What exactly is it that has driven these former best friends apart? The story threads together theirs and many other relationships that contribute to the circumstances. This is a light, poignant and tender read for women of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    It's a deeply touching story about the loss of that first true friend a girl ever has and the search to reconnect once they're all grown up. It's well-written, moves at a good pace, has a bit of suspense, and wraps up nicely. It made me think of my "Sonia" and how our friendship fell apart, and left me longing to search for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    A Really Good Read

    An excellent story about friendship, love, forgiveness and betrayal -- all the components of life itself. Engaging the reader from the very start, this novel is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    loved it!

    This was a great book, I enjoyed it so much that I didn't want to put it down. Everytime I started to read it, i got so caught up in the book that I couldn't bare to put it down!! Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    Excellent read

    An excellent fast paced book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    Amazing!

    This book was great! About friendship and betrayal. Sort of, but not really, along the lines of beaches. I will be surprised if this doesnt become a movie. I cried! I actually cried! I have never cried reading a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Good book for girlfriends to read.

    I really like the dynamic of good friends. To me the relationship between two friends is on the most precious of all. And this book was a real glimpse into that kind of friendship. I found it sad though that they could let so many years go by without trying to reach one another. Forgiveness is so important.Without it we waste too much time ...There were some really powerful lines and I found myself seraching for a high lighter. Overall a good book ...With familiar characters. Didnt give it five stars because it seemed to drag in some spots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Mixed views for a good book

    The book started off quite well.It immediately drew me in, after so many months of no book holding my attention. I was ecstatic! It was refreshing and different. The subject matter was close to my heart, the vulnerability of girlfriends, especially in the teen years. The characters were not sterotypes.Sonia was well outlined including her family. We saw Cameron, her father but Cameron's mother was invisable. Still, we were able to see the family dynamics that influenced their choosing each other to be friends. The relationship between Oliver and Cameron was refreshingly different. Also, Cameron's relationship with Ruth, Oliver's daughter, was clearly defined. It helped illustrate that although the book was written from Cameron's viewpoint, it might not be the true perspective. When the story noted something, the reader still had to question whether that was what the author wanted us to think or was that just her version of Cameron's interruptation of what was happening. This gave more depth to the novel. Unfortunately,however, as the story progressed, it became more cliche. The boyfriends were boring,superfluous. The search lasted too long and the present was anticlimatic,who cares. Overall, I would say it was entertaining, insightful but not a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    A VERY GOOD READ!

    Wow, this book was extrememly interesting and poetic in a way. The author explores the intimacy of friendship, the very real and honest feelings we share rather it be happy or sad. Like all friendships, there are good and bad times, and this story digs deep into our soul, reminding us of our own friendships past and present. It was written beautifully. I read this book in a matter of hours and walked away with incredible feelings. I recommend to everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    great book

    this book was a great one. It was a page turner and I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Wow

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I love the way the author writes - realistically! The book flows along --- new plot --- not like every other book. I recommend this highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    An excellent novel!

    I was hooked on this book from the moment I started reading. The story is intruiging and masterful, and there are sentences that took my breath away. It's a very real look at intimate friendship and the things that can come between two people. If you're just going to pick up one book at the bookstore today, get this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    A must read for bookclubs!

    I read this book because of Leah Stewart's appearance at the Southern Festival of Books in Nashville. I will be encouraging friends around the country who are in bookclubs to place this book on the 'must read' list for the coming year. As wonderful as it is to read the Myth of You and Me, it is a gift to women everywhere to open up an honest dialogue with others. Many copies of this book will undoubtedly be packaged and mailed across country renewing old friendships in much the same way Oliver, in the Myth of You & Me, hoped his package would be a catalyist for renewing old bonds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    insightful fantastic look at friendship

    The letter contained a handwriting that looked familiar to that of the recipient twenty-nine years old Cameron Wilson. It came from her former best friend Sonia Gray they have not talked to each other in eight years. Now Sonia wants her to come to her wedding in Cambridge. Her employer and companion, nonagenarian Oliver Doucett pleads with her to go see her former friend but Cameron refuses still feeling that Sonia betrayed her. --- Oliver dies, but leaves one last request of Cameron. He wants her to deliver a wedding gift from him to Sonia. Stunned Cameron realizes her two best friends were communicating. Cameron honors Oliver¿s last wish of her, driving from Oxford, Mississippi to Sonia¿s house, but she is not there. She thinks back on when they first met in Clovis, New Mexico and became best buddies and later when Sonia was seeing Will Barrett who Camazon as she was called for her height hid her love of him. As Cameron tracks down her missing friend, she finds Will who she still loved and others from her past, but wonders what will happen when she runs into the girl she loved as her sister until she committed the ultimate betrayal. --- THE MYTH OF YOU AND ME is a fantastic look at friendship from the perspective of a person who felt her best friend betrayed her so she deserted her former pal. The story line follows Cameron as she tracks Sonia, but also looks back on her relationship with her beloved ¿sister¿. Readers will want to know what Oliver tried to give Sonia and Cameron, what was the betrayal and root for a happy ending with this insightful look at friendship. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2