Customer Reviews for

Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    It's great

    Spectacular art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Crappy copy of a great book

    The glue for the binding really sucks. All the contents from my copy simply separated from the cover after two days of light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    He is a CLASSIC!

    Alex Ross is no Rockwell....if he is to be judged, it will be with the likes of Will Eisner and Alex Raymond. Alex Ross embodies both of these two geniuses........beautifully. The art of Alex Raymond, or Hal Foster, and the cinematics of Will, (if you dont know who Will Eisner is you shouldn't read any comic book. period.) Alex Ross is the 21st century comic artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    A BOOK FROM A TRUE ADMIRER OF SUPERHEROS

    Alex Ross, Chipp Kidd and Geoff Spear put out a book for comic and non-comic fans to enjoy. The book is sensational with beautiful color art contained in each page. You can not look at this book in one sitting to enjoy how detailed Alex Ross draws his DC characters to give them that extra dimenson rarely seen by artists. I brought to book to work and people who are not comic book fans looked thru it commenting on how well it was done. You can see the time and effort Alex Ross puts in his work for all to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Superheros Galore

    Superheros are indeed the new mythology. This is a great book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    The Most Beautiful Superhero Art Book Ever

    Alex Ross's work is magnificent. He perfectly captures the glory and majesty of the world's greatest super-heroes that we admired as children and still admire as adults. A brilliant and aweinspiring work of Americana. I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Alex Ross is the 'Man' hands down!

    I don't think there are enough adjectives to describe just how unbelievable his work is. And I know it's only going to get better and better. D.C. Direct made those Kingdom Come action figures based off of the artwork of Mr. Ross, I think they should base a set of figures off of his traditional look of Superman,Batman and the others. He is really the best I have seen in along time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    A 'Must Have' Book.

    This book is simply gorgeous! For some time now, I have been a fan of his work. I have been captivated by the hyper realistic renditions of the comic book characters that many of us have grown up with. With his work, he has been able to elevate the comic book medium into something more than just kid¿s stuff. The majesty of his work makes one expect these characters to leap off of the page. When you see his renditions of Superman or Batman, you see them as much more than just people in tights. You can see the weight of duty that sits on Superman¿s shoulders. You can see the smoldering need, in the eyes of Batman, to dispense justice to those who deserve it. For the uninitiated who may have never seen an Alex Ross work, this book is an excellent primer. Once you open it, you will be in for a jaw dropping feast. From beginning to end, we see the power of Ross¿ work, it is that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1