BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Definitely should have been better

    I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    School book

    Had to read this for school it was okay

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    O.K.

    When i picked up the book, I thought "Hmm, I like mythology and I like to read". So, a perfect choice, right? Meh...it was okay, but not great. Don't get me wrong, Edith Hamilton is a good author, but she needs to put some life into her books. Most of the things I read was banal and lifeless. To be honest, the first part of the book is nothing but banter about how she found information and what we're about to read means. This book is intended for anyone wanting to learn more about mythology, but only if you have a lot of time on your hands and nothing to do.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    It was OK....

    Personally i love reading about mythology, but Edith Hamilton made many of the stories very dry, in trying to shorten them all into one big book. So, having to read this book for summer reading, i would probably not read it for pleasure, but i can assure you it will help you tons if you are taking some sort of mythology course. The subjects are interesting. Not so much the book. So it was OK, enjoyable but not great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    BORING!!!

    im a bookwurm but this book is so boring it almost made me cry!I mean it was alright, the stories were good, but the author made it so dry and boring! i had to read this for ninth grade english! i hate that teacher now!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    An ok Book

    this book was a interesting book. it was very hard to understand though. not because of how it was written, just what it was delivering was hard to follow. i had to read it for school, and i was somewhat forced to read it, but i need some extra help with it. i had to read some cliff notes on it so that i fully understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    Book has too many deep errors.

    This book is hard to trust or believe because of very obvious errors. The reference to 'corn' is made many times while there was never any corn in Greece. The author, Hamilton adds too many of her own interpretations. Her word choice (for example 'sin') is very poor in relating ancient ideas. If you can live with these problems, the book can still help you understand Greek tragedies and comedies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Ugh

    I had to read this book in Sophomore English and now I have to reread it in Senior English. I find all mythology fascinating. But this book was dry two years ago and all the water in the known universe could not hydrate this book. Overall the collection is good though. Her writing style is different from other mythology writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Pros and Cons

    Ok, well I read most of it, only because of the fact it was some what hard to understand. This book is good because it goes over all the gods, titans, heaven, the underwold, all but a small amount of it. Bad things is the book was hard to read, it would go from Greek to Latin names without warning. The parts that I read fully were great, the parts of the Gods, Underworld, and things like that. So basically it is that the book is good for some parts, like if you want to learn of the Titans or the Gods, though if you want to read stories, I highly suggest that you get the books that hold the stories you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2