Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Awsome

    I loved this book. It was awesome . I learned alot about greek and roman mythology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    FANTASTIC BOOK THAT SETS LIGHT ON GREEK AND ROMAN MYTHOLOGY

    I am reading the book because it is the book of choice for Pre-AP English. It is very interesting and I am learning more on the myths that I already knew. It is just fact at first but then it gets into the stories and becomes more interesting. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in Greek and Roman mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Awesoe

    Awsome..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    School

    Reading this now for my english class. It can be a bit confusing but after a while you get used to her form of writing amd everything begins to make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Its good if your looking for a basic understanding but you will

    Its good if your looking for a basic understanding but you will need other books for the full story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Okay. Its good .

    It is a smidge boring but the english teacher at this school i might go to has you read it. I love mythology. If you dont like it..
    I dont know much about you but you dont appreciate mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Easy read and hard to put down.

    Besides some typos and artistic license by the author, this is a great book that covers most of the great classic myths. I would recommend this to anyone as a fun read or reference book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    A great overview!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was topical and really focused on the Greek mythos. I would reccomend it for anyone studying myth, as it makes a really nice primer text.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So glad I found this book again

    I owned one of the earlier releases as it was given to me as a gift about nine years ago. Since then, I've moved several times even cross country and somewhere along the line, I lost my copy. When I got into my Greek phase which comes along more often than not, I realized I didnt have it and immediately when to B&N looking for it. To my delight I found it again, same cover the whole nine and was glad for it! This is great to relax with, have a fantasy or two with the fights, the struggles between the Gods and all around good time.... I totally recomend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice little book

    This has greek mythology stories that I hadn't heard of in there. Great stories. Would be a good gift if someone likes greek mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Still the Best!

    Edith Hamilton's Mythology is still the go to source for anyone who needs background information on greek mythology. I am a high school teacher and it has been invaluable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    Pretty good

    This is good if you like mythology it is dry at the beggining but it gets better. I really think it gets to the point and also tells the stories in a fun way. I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Required reading isn't always fun...

    I find the reviews left by the Eighth grade students quite humorous. Get used to reading books you don't like in highschool, kids. I purchased this book used as part of a grapic novel I'm developing with a few other people, and I have to say this is quite the read. From what I can tell (after cross referencing information with other books) that the info provided is on the ball, and the book is really well translated. Great source of information on Mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    if you all think this is such a confusing read..look at me! im in sixth grade and i get it perfectly i recommended this book to some of my friends and they liked it too.also i dont know about you guys but i absolutly love mythology and ive read many books about it,maybe thats why i get the book so easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Interesting, but the beginning is boring

    I read this book for pre-AP english for 9th grade, and at first I thought this would be another one of those long and boring books the school made us read. The first chapters of the book were VERY boring, but I kept reading and the book started to get my attention. This is actually a pretty good book for all readers in general, because it has alittle bit of everything. It has adventure, horror, and even some romance. It's not a bad book over all, but reading past the first two chapters is a chore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Brilliant

    I had to read this book for 9th grade English Honors, but if someone would have told me about this book before I would have picked it up sooner!! For highschoolers that think that this book is boring just think of the people as real everyday friends of yours and the DRAMA will unfold. It's just fun to read. She did a marvelous job on this book. For me it's really fun way to understand Greek Mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Confusing... but some of the anecdotes are pretty cool!

    My favorite story out of this 'collection' of stories was Kind Midas (see 'Brief Myths'). He is the most memorable because he has distinct charateristics that set him apart from everyone else. The part about this book was that there wasn't a consistency- there might be a couple of awesome parts in a row, and then suddenly, blah, blah,blah. Then she keeps switching from Latin to Greek, and more names, and it is pretty hard to remember all of the characters, but it is an advised read. It is interesting at parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    A different time

    This book is really great, it explains it's stories well, and clear, yet to the point. I was satisfied with the information it gave, and left me with a picture in my mind, of the ancient times. I've learned alot about the gods,and of there lifestyles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    It is a good book

    I have to read this for school but so far, I really enjoy reading about the gods. It's much better than having a long drawn out boring book, it's instead a short story about each god. I would highly suggest this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    A Classic Book on Mythology

    This is a classic treatment of Greek, Roman and Norse myths. I first read it as a teenager and also as an adult, and still appreciate it; Miss Hamilton has a clear and poignant style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3