Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it!

    How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Good

    I'm in academic superbowl at school, our topic being Greek mythology. This book helps me to study, and I recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Ken

    Whoa dead rp

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    I love greek/roman and egyptian gods and goddesses and mythology

    I wish I could know more about Greek mythology. I have the actual book. Did you know that Zues' father, Cronos, swollowed all of his siblings whole becuase he heard that they would be a thret to the crown. The mother of Zues tricked Cronos by hiding Zues as a baby in a cave on Mount Olypus. Instead of giving Cronos Zues she gave him a large rock wrapped in a blanket. He swollowed it qhole without noticing. When Zues grew up he gave Cronos something to make him puke up his brothers and sisters. First the rock and than the rest came up. (Thats got to hurt) He loved to have sex so he married and heard that she would become a thret so he did just what his father did, swollowed her whole. Then he married his sister. She groiped with the rest of the brothers and sisters and chained Zues when he was asleep. The thousand-handers helped him, as like with the war against his father.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    One word...Amazing! Every story, every detail from cover to cove

    One word...Amazing! Every story, every detail from cover to cover. Parables galore and I think all the characters were in it. Edith Hamilton really outdid herself. I'm a fan of Mythology and NOTHING that I have read relating to it tops this. One of the best reads ever! Two thumbs up! d(^u^)b

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Martina Svyantek for Readers' Favorite If you are

    Reviewed by Martina Svyantek for Readers' Favorite

    If you are looking for a classic book to listen to while driving to work or across the country, look no further than “Mythology” by Edith Hamilton. This audio book enriches a car ride and lets its readers get lost in stories of heroes, kings, gods, and goddesses. The quality of the stories captured in this volume is excellent and the retelling by Hamilton engages the reader, or, in this case, the listener. One of the best features of this unabridged collection is the fact that Hamilton includes the source of the myth before it is told, helping to shape the background for the listener. It was quite pleasant to see the names that my classmates and I had struggled with during high school flow so effortlessly off the narrator’s tongue.

    The most disappointing feature of this audio book has to deal with a lack in the original text. There is an overabundance of Greek and Roman mythology, with relatively little to no Norse mythology. However, this is not to say that “Mythology” is a disappointing read. Although this selection does not pay as much attention to the Norse myths as might be hoped, given that they are “advertised” as an equal partner with the Greek and Roman myths, there is enough material there to satisfy an initial jump into the world of the Vikings’ gods and goddesses. I personally have always loved myths and fairy tales, and the fact that I can listen to these stories and give my eyes a break is wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Great Book!

    I read this book just for fun, because I've always loved Greek mythology and my friend told me that this book was really good. And so far, out of all of the mythology books I've read, this was my favorite. It includes all of the most popular myths and also some little-known myths. It even has a little about Norse mythology, which I also find interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    unforgettable book

    One of my favorite books thru my whole life. Edith Hamilton was a well-versed Greek scholar, and takes everything in her book from the originals. She also gives us constant tastes of those originals. Norse legends thrown in as well. A book filled with wonders, no child should grow up without it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    blew me away........

    this book is absolutely perfect. i could not put this one down. it grabs you from the very introduction into a world that only the vast minds of the Greeks and Romans could have imagined. it goes into a lot of depth to get the gods, monsters, mortals, and warriors of all the Greek and Roman stories across to the reader. i highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to get a better look into the world of Greek and Roman mythology. the stories are very informative, telling why what happened, whether or not for this reason or that. this book was a completely and outstandingly well-written book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Praetors Council

    Chase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    I Loved it! great book it covers everything you need to know abo

    I Loved it! great book it covers everything you need to know about mythology edith Hamilton is a great writer and her book is great too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    A good overview of mythology


    Like many others, I read this for school it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book. I am already half way through it (I got it like a day ago). It is worth $7. Buy it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good for intense studies

    I first was introduced to this for a project in school. Now a must for those who study ancient cultures and lores

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Wow

    Reading through reviews, i notice some of the people rating it one star and claiming that it's badly written are obviously not even fluent in english. Just because it's your first language doesnt mean you're an expert or even any good at understanding english at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I use this in my Mythology class as our class text book. It is a

    I use this in my Mythology class as our class text book. It is amazing, with each story ranging up to 10 pages tops. A quick read for what we need, and is super effective. Love the collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    WHY ARE PEOPLE CUSSING THE BOOK?!

    I love anything mythology related, especially greek myths. If you enjoy them as much as I do, than this is the book for you. Vm-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    What is it about?

    I neee to know!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Claudia

    Walks in. May i join? Im a witch shapeshifter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Fervor

    *shakily stands*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4