Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Zero

    Ken it is me jt at the demigod rp i rp i kitsune here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great for your bookshelf (or NOOKshelf)

    This classic is one of my favorite reference books to have around. I had to get the Nook version so I always had it with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love this book!

    i love mythology! the more stories i read in this book, the more i grew to love mythology. my favorite story is the one of Psyche & Cupid & how Cupid's mother, Venus (Aphrodite), tries to keep Cupid from falling in love by sabotaging Psyche (which means "spirit"). It is a fascinating book. I definitely give this books 5 stars! :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    School reference book

    I bought this for my daughter for school. She loves it. it's got good artwork, detailed information and it's definitely a book she will keep into adulthood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    was out of this world...

    I enjoyed this book and read it just in time about the characters poseidon, hades ect with the new movies coming out the titans and the lightening thief ect. I knew what they were talking about felt alittle smarter for an old broad...lol.. and it took me to another place..its a good read to escape the real world...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Mythology is the first step!

    Mythology is the beginning of it all, and Edith Hamilton lays out everything you need to know about ancient ideals precisely, yet still rich in detail. Understanding Mythology is key in appreciating other works such as Shakespeare, Paradise Lost, even many contemporary works. I definitely recommend Mythology for anyone hoping to expand their grasp of literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I love this book! I've read it three times.
    At first, I was going to get it as a reference book for a few myths and the Greek Gods, but I found that it was wonderful to read for enjoyment. It has a very unique writing style and vivid illustrations. It has every myth I could think of, I love it! I reccomend this book very much if you enjoy complicated storylines and characters, and if you like big words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    :D

    I did not expect to like such a book as I am accustomed to reading books on military or political history, however, I found this very enjoyable. It is not that hard to read and the stories are each fairly short - you don't have to read the entire thing at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Great book on mythology!

    I was assigned this book for summer reading before my Freshman year and I thoroughly enjoyed it! The introductory chapters are dry, but once you get past that part the book is quite impressive. Edith Hamilton manages to make all the famous (and not-so-famous) myths very interesting. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Not for the Shallow Minded!

    A worhty book. You must bear in mind that this is a study of MYTHOLOGY, and, as such, is not an attempt to either convert or alter any manner of belief that exists. Any individual who believes that mythology is a threat to their religion is to narrow-minded to study it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    For students - or teachers

    This defiantly is not a book you snuggle up with on a saturday ngiht with a hot coco. Still, if your like me your school might require or you might just want to learn a bit. Take note cards!!! LOTS of note cards!!! the names are hard to keep straight- though 1/2 way through you get 'em down. the spark notes will just ruin the experience but as an additive they are okay 'thats what one of my friends did' good luck enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    Excellent

    An easy read- good for reading to children and making them familiar with mythology. Every art history major should read this book. It's an excellent and comprehensive compilation of Greek and Roman mythology that is often reflected in art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    THE BOOK

    I loved this book it¿s the most comprehensive anthology for Greek and Roman mythology that I have found. Edith Hamilton did a fabulous job of retelling the tales in an informative yet entertaining way. It helped me a lot when my English 4 AP class studied mythology this year. The book is entertaining and educational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Extensive, Interesting, and Accurate

    This book is a thorough compilation of many of the Greeks and Romans compelling tales. It has helped me for many a assignment in Latin, and despite the fact that it is often used as a reading resource, I find it still interesting to read. Definatly a must for any mythology lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    One of the most fantastic books on Greek/Roman myth

    How can anyone not LOVE this book ?! I was never 'forced' to read this at school! I grew up with this book alongside Andrew Lang's fairy books (blue, red, pink, yellow, etc.). This book has it all, seduction, intrigue, war, plots, and fantastical adventures. Edith Hamilton is one of the rare few to convey these myths with sensuality. A must have for any artist, Western Astrologer, or anyone working with Greek and Roman symbolism !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    To fly and be immortal.

    Super heroes of our post-modern, nuclear /space age draw their powers from beings inhabiting this book. Nothing is more refreshing, inspiring, or as entertaining as this collection of ancient myth and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Classical Inspiration

    Edith Hamilton's take on mythology sums the motivation and information partially used while creating my novel, Grecian Rune. Her outstanding take on mythos and human nature delves into the prose of early Western civilization, and probes the very essence of human nature and the use of stories to define our culture. Without her work, mine would not, could not exist. Much praise and consideration from one mythology lover to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Diet Mythology

    Edith Hamilton does a wonderful job of retelling the ancient myths of greek and roman mythology. I call it 'diet' because the book gives a run down of the important aspects and characters in a relatively short book. The book is an excellent, and should be the only, introduction to mythology for the average joe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    A must read

    This is one of the best books I have read on Mythology. Edith Hamilton is simply amazing! My friends have said that the introduction was a little drawn out, but I really liked the formatting, it seemed that this was a simplified reading, but it really made Mytholgy easy to understand for those who don't exactly enjoy it. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Very Good...

    This book is excellent...it makes you feel like you have returned to the age of these wonderful mythos. Don't listen to 'required reading sux'...they can't even spell correctly, much less write a decent book review. The information is the most readable and enjoyable of any book of similar material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4