Customer Reviews for

Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Its good if your looking for a basic understanding but you will

    Its good if your looking for a basic understanding but you will need other books for the full story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book. I am already half way through it (I got it like a day ago). It is worth $7. Buy it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Good for intense studies

    I first was introduced to this for a project in school. Now a must for those who study ancient cultures and lores

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Wow

    Reading through reviews, i notice some of the people rating it one star and claiming that it's badly written are obviously not even fluent in english. Just because it's your first language doesnt mean you're an expert or even any good at understanding english at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    I've seen worse books but I definitely don't recommemd this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I use this in my Mythology class as our class text book. It is a

    I use this in my Mythology class as our class text book. It is amazing, with each story ranging up to 10 pages tops. A quick read for what we need, and is super effective. Love the collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    WHY ARE PEOPLE CUSSING THE BOOK?!

    I love anything mythology related, especially greek myths. If you enjoy them as much as I do, than this is the book for you. Vm-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Its about mythology ass hole

    T

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    What is it about?

    I neee to know!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Claudia

    Walks in. May i join? Im a witch shapeshifter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Cloud

    I think u can

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Fervor

    *shakily stands*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Zero

    Ken it is me jt at the demigod rp i rp i kitsune here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Okay. Its good .

    It is a smidge boring but the english teacher at this school i might go to has you read it. I love mythology. If you dont like it..
    I dont know much about you but you dont appreciate mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    B

    Boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I heart EH!

    I had to read this in sixth grade. Most boring book in the world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    borrrrrrrringggg

    waste of 10 dollars
    it had nothing unique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great for your bookshelf (or NOOKshelf)

    This classic is one of my favorite reference books to have around. I had to get the Nook version so I always had it with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    It was OK....

    Personally i love reading about mythology, but Edith Hamilton made many of the stories very dry, in trying to shorten them all into one big book. So, having to read this book for summer reading, i would probably not read it for pleasure, but i can assure you it will help you tons if you are taking some sort of mythology course. The subjects are interesting. Not so much the book. So it was OK, enjoyable but not great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love this book!

    i love mythology! the more stories i read in this book, the more i grew to love mythology. my favorite story is the one of Psyche & Cupid & how Cupid's mother, Venus (Aphrodite), tries to keep Cupid from falling in love by sabotaging Psyche (which means "spirit"). It is a fascinating book. I definitely give this books 5 stars! :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9