Customer Reviews for

Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    It was OK....

    Personally i love reading about mythology, but Edith Hamilton made many of the stories very dry, in trying to shorten them all into one big book. So, having to read this book for summer reading, i would probably not read it for pleasure, but i can assure you it will help you tons if you are taking some sort of mythology course. The subjects are interesting. Not so much the book. So it was OK, enjoyable but not great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love this book!

    i love mythology! the more stories i read in this book, the more i grew to love mythology. my favorite story is the one of Psyche & Cupid & how Cupid's mother, Venus (Aphrodite), tries to keep Cupid from falling in love by sabotaging Psyche (which means "spirit"). It is a fascinating book. I definitely give this books 5 stars! :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Easy read and hard to put down.

    Besides some typos and artistic license by the author, this is a great book that covers most of the great classic myths. I would recommend this to anyone as a fun read or reference book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    School reference book

    I bought this for my daughter for school. She loves it. it's got good artwork, detailed information and it's definitely a book she will keep into adulthood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    A great overview!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was topical and really focused on the Greek mythos. I would reccomend it for anyone studying myth, as it makes a really nice primer text.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    was out of this world...

    I enjoyed this book and read it just in time about the characters poseidon, hades ect with the new movies coming out the titans and the lightening thief ect. I knew what they were talking about felt alittle smarter for an old broad...lol.. and it took me to another place..its a good read to escape the real world...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Mythology is the first step!

    Mythology is the beginning of it all, and Edith Hamilton lays out everything you need to know about ancient ideals precisely, yet still rich in detail. Understanding Mythology is key in appreciating other works such as Shakespeare, Paradise Lost, even many contemporary works. I definitely recommend Mythology for anyone hoping to expand their grasp of literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Dry Writing, Very Hard to Comprehend

    I had to read parts of this for school, and let me start by saying, I like Greek and Roman mythology and I find it very interesting. However, this novel does not do the subject justice. All the "interesting" was sucked out of the tales and turned into confusing stories that drone on and on. The text is very small, and I know that is not a very valid argument point, but it factored into my dislike for this book. The sentences are very long and set up strangely. I do not see the purpose of this novel, as it is just retelling the myths in a more confusing way. Hamilton does not translate them into normal speech, therefore rendering this book hard to follow and one often ends up reading robotically, and not comprehending, an horrible waste of time. My advice is, if it is not mandatory you read this, and you aren't a mythology junkie, don't read this.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So glad I found this book again

    I owned one of the earlier releases as it was given to me as a gift about nine years ago. Since then, I've moved several times even cross country and somewhere along the line, I lost my copy. When I got into my Greek phase which comes along more often than not, I realized I didnt have it and immediately when to B&N looking for it. To my delight I found it again, same cover the whole nine and was glad for it! This is great to relax with, have a fantasy or two with the fights, the struggles between the Gods and all around good time.... I totally recomend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I love this book! I've read it three times.
    At first, I was going to get it as a reference book for a few myths and the Greek Gods, but I found that it was wonderful to read for enjoyment. It has a very unique writing style and vivid illustrations. It has every myth I could think of, I love it! I reccomend this book very much if you enjoy complicated storylines and characters, and if you like big words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    If you want to read a boring book, go ahead.

    OK, first of all this book is the most boring book I ever read. -_-''
    This book is like reading a dictionary in a foreign language.
    I had to force myself to read each page. I even feel asleep while reading this. (not a shocker).

    Do not read this, if you aren't required to.
    It was a waste of my time, and 8 dollars.
    If you have to read this book, go to spark notes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice little book

    This has greek mythology stories that I hadn't heard of in there. Great stories. Would be a good gift if someone likes greek mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Still the Best!

    Edith Hamilton's Mythology is still the go to source for anyone who needs background information on greek mythology. I am a high school teacher and it has been invaluable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    Pretty good

    This is good if you like mythology it is dry at the beggining but it gets better. I really think it gets to the point and also tells the stories in a fun way. I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    :D

    I did not expect to like such a book as I am accustomed to reading books on military or political history, however, I found this very enjoyable. It is not that hard to read and the stories are each fairly short - you don't have to read the entire thing at once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    BORING!!!

    this is the most boring book i've ever read in my life. i had to read it for school not cool. if you have to read if HA HA HA. this is the worst way to spend reading time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    It's quite dry

    I was required to read 'Mythology' for school and it took me 3 weeks to read a 300 page book. It is an extremely dry book and I had a lot of trouble staying focused. Hamilton dragged out simple stories and made it unbelievably boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    uuuuummmmmmm........ wow

    I had to read this book for school a few years ago. Some of the stories are ok, but they go on and on and on. takes forever to read and is hard to hold my interest. Unless you are required to read it 'good luck' or have a MAJOR obsession with mythology, then don't bother with it. im sure there are shorter, better mythology books out there for you to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Great book on mythology!

    I was assigned this book for summer reading before my Freshman year and I thoroughly enjoyed it! The introductory chapters are dry, but once you get past that part the book is quite impressive. Edith Hamilton manages to make all the famous (and not-so-famous) myths very interesting. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Not for the Shallow Minded!

    A worhty book. You must bear in mind that this is a study of MYTHOLOGY, and, as such, is not an attempt to either convert or alter any manner of belief that exists. Any individual who believes that mythology is a threat to their religion is to narrow-minded to study it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9