Customer Reviews for

Mythology

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

How come everyone is giving it one star? I was in 6th grade when I bought/read this, and this told me all I wanted to know about mythologly. Sure, the names got me confused, but it was a good read.

posted by Courtney_Books on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Definitely should have been better

I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit l...
I first read Edith Hamilton in 8th grade, because I needed a general overview of a lot of mythology. Though I didn't know it at the time, Hamilton's stories are rather general; they don't include a lot of important character names and events. In that sense she's a bit like Bulfinch. It's good for someone new to mythology but anyone looking for something more comprehensive should look into Robert Graves.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Boring

    I had to read this book for english and it is poorly written. Edith Hamilton has no idea how to use fun or interesting grammer. This book is one the most boring books i have ever read. I actually enjoyed mythology and she has made me hate it. It is no longer interesting to me.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Wow.........BORING!

    For a second i thought reading was fun, except for this book. I was so bored i barely understood it. if u hav 2 read this, just go to sparknotes, it'll save u from extreme boredom, that a fact

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Horrible

    I love reading mythology but this book ruined it for me. I had to read it for my 10th grade English class. I was looking forward to reading it until i started it. I didn't like how the book overviewed all the stories instead of telling them. I also didn't like that fact that the author switched between the Latin and Greek names of the gods. Another thing was the fact that she took the stories from different books and mixed the stories. I really wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Its about mythology ass hole

    T

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    B

    Boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I heart EH!

    I had to read this in sixth grade. Most boring book in the world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    borrrrrrrringggg

    waste of 10 dollars
    it had nothing unique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Dry Writing, Very Hard to Comprehend

    I had to read parts of this for school, and let me start by saying, I like Greek and Roman mythology and I find it very interesting. However, this novel does not do the subject justice. All the "interesting" was sucked out of the tales and turned into confusing stories that drone on and on. The text is very small, and I know that is not a very valid argument point, but it factored into my dislike for this book. The sentences are very long and set up strangely. I do not see the purpose of this novel, as it is just retelling the myths in a more confusing way. Hamilton does not translate them into normal speech, therefore rendering this book hard to follow and one often ends up reading robotically, and not comprehending, an horrible waste of time. My advice is, if it is not mandatory you read this, and you aren't a mythology junkie, don't read this.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    If you want to read a boring book, go ahead.

    OK, first of all this book is the most boring book I ever read. -_-''
    This book is like reading a dictionary in a foreign language.
    I had to force myself to read each page. I even feel asleep while reading this. (not a shocker).

    Do not read this, if you aren't required to.
    It was a waste of my time, and 8 dollars.
    If you have to read this book, go to spark notes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    uuuuummmmmmm........ wow

    I had to read this book for school a few years ago. Some of the stories are ok, but they go on and on and on. takes forever to read and is hard to hold my interest. Unless you are required to read it 'good luck' or have a MAJOR obsession with mythology, then don't bother with it. im sure there are shorter, better mythology books out there for you to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    what do you belive

    well i do not quite belive in the whole mythology stuff. i have a christian background. and there is one god and one god only. and that is Jesus Christ. i will have to face this stuff in college but i have things and ppl to back me up...

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    BOOORING

    I would rather read an encyclopedia than this book. my advice to any one who has to read this is buy the sparknotes instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    What a Way to Ruin Mythology

    My son (6th grade) has been required to read this book for his English class... I read this type of book in college! It is extremely arduous to read. This book takes all the fun out of mythology.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    never want to look at it again

    horrible. I have to read this book for nith grade honors english and it is just too confusing! she continues to switch back from latin to greek and she makes everything sound so boring. And i had to annotate the whole thing. It was horrible. Don't read this book unless you want to get really CONFUSED!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    ugh soo confusing!!!

    ok well i have to read this book for honors english 9 and take notes of the first three chapters, actually all i have to read is the first three chapter oh and the introduction, it is very confusing!! i dont like it. it takes forever to read like 10 pages. i think learning about the greek mythology might be cool and interesting but this book is not. i guess if you like this kind of stuff you'll like the book. but i dont so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Yuck

    I didn't like this book at all. The author confused me by using all sorts of similar names and the Latin names for the gods. I got lost and forgot who I was reading about. I would recommend making a chart to keep characters straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Confusing

    The book is very confusing since every god has about five names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Required Reading Sucks!

    I did not like this book. Usually, mythology is ok, but this book made it seem so boring. I suffered through the introduction. If you like to read extremely dry and boring books, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Required Reading Sux

    This book is so boring. The myths are written in a confusing way without the character and liveliness that makes Greek and Roman myths fun and interesting. THis book is dry and reading the introduction is actually difficult. I love reading Greek myths usually because they combine real human chacteristics with godly powers and the outcome is funny, realistic and interesting but this book really didn't do it for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    Leaves out a lot: There are better mythology books.

    This book is a watered-down version of a few mythological tales. There are many other collections of Greek mythology that contain more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2