Customer Reviews for

"N" is for Noose

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

N is for Noose

This is not my favorite, but I'll admit I was not expecting the murderer to be who they were. I always have enjoyed Sue Grafton and will keep reading, but this one was not her best.

posted by 16603009 on October 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not My Cup Of Tea

I have not really been a fan of Sue Grafton. I find many of her books too simple and boring. Which is exactly the case with 'N' is for Noose. Though this book does have some saving grace. A few of its characters are actually amusing and entertaining and give this slo...
I have not really been a fan of Sue Grafton. I find many of her books too simple and boring. Which is exactly the case with 'N' is for Noose. Though this book does have some saving grace. A few of its characters are actually amusing and entertaining and give this slow moving story some lift.

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    N is for Noose

    This is not my favorite, but I'll admit I was not expecting the murderer to be who they were. I always have enjoyed Sue Grafton and will keep reading, but this one was not her best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    Not My Cup Of Tea

    I have not really been a fan of Sue Grafton. I find many of her books too simple and boring. Which is exactly the case with 'N' is for Noose. Though this book does have some saving grace. A few of its characters are actually amusing and entertaining and give this slow moving story some lift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Xsdfv

    Fderggcswmllkkgmmmmnjdxemhldqwexdddffrot &: bvqeefflgfhhffdhqqqqqqqqqvggaa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Jake

    "To shoot the bastard."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    K

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Kailey

    Yo welcome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Not one of her best. I liked the main storyline of elder abuse

    Not one of her best. I liked the main storyline of elder abuse but there were way too many peripheral and mundane fillers of serving process etc that seemed designed to fill space and contributed nothing to the story. There could have been so much more depth to the underlying story which would have made for a great read. I skimmed through at least half the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    well written, good characters. Kinsey Millhone is fun to follow.

    Had read one or two of the early Sue Grafton, but was glad I came back to the Kinsey Millhone series. She is a good character, book is well written, and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Kyle

    No thanks. I'm flattered by ur offer though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This book......

    Seems boring:(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Claw

    "Who is the leader here!?!" He demanded.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    Noose held my interest , but Kinsey took a lot of risks chatting rather loosely to this collection of yahoos. If I didn't know that this was an A to Z series I'd expected her to have gotten wacked in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Nursury

    For queens and kits.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best in the series

    It was great in the beginning and middle, but the end confused me. I re-read it a few times and still didn't make sense of it. It's the first time that this has happened with this series.

    Kinsey Millhone should have done something else--she should have turned the car in the direction of home. Instead, she was about to put herself in the gravest jeopardy of her career.

    Tom Newquist had been a detective in the Nota Lake sheriff's office--a tough, honest cop respected by everyone. When he died suddenly, the townsfolk were saddened but not surprised: Just shy of sixty-five, Newquist worked too hard, smoked too much, and exercised too little. That plus an appetite for junk food made him a poster boy for an American Heart Association campaign. Newquist's widow didn't doubt the coroner's report. But what Selma couldn't accept was not knowing what had so bothered Tom in the last six weeks of his life. What was it that had made him prowl restlessly at night, that had him brooding constantly? Selma Newquist wanted closure, and the only way she'd get it was if she found out what it was that had so bedeviled her husband. Kinsey should have dumped the case. It was vague and hopeless, like looking for a needle in a haystack. Instead, she set up shop in Nota Lake, where she found that looking for a needle in a haystack can draw blood. Very likely, her own."N" Is for Noose: a novel in which Kinsey Millhone becomes the target and an entire town seems in for the kill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Highly enjoyable be sure to order

    I have read every book starting with "A" and love them all. We receive a christmas card from Sue and Kinsey every year and have saved them all I am very happy that they are now available in the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    14th Good Read in series

    As good as the other 13. If you like Kinsey you will like this one too. If you don't you won't. Who am I to tell you what you like or dislike. Buy it and try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another great Kinsey story

    This one really had me going until the very last pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Another great book by one of my favorite authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Exceptional AS USUAL !!

    N was really so intriguing -- her books always keep you till the end -- this one being no exception. Hard to pick a favorite - probably can't be done! Maybe she will start with numbers after the alphabet is finished?!! OR she could do AA, BB, ect?! Think of SOMETHING Sue -- we don't want you to stop!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cozy and rustic.

    Reminded me of times I spent camping and being out in the country. I enjoyed it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4