Customer Reviews for

NIV Bible

Average Rating 4
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

252 out of 271 people found this review helpful.

Best Bible Reader I have Ever Used

I have purchased Bible reading applications for PCs and laptops, and Palm Pilots. When I purchased my NOOK 1st Edition, I immediately began looking for Bibles that I could read on the NOOK. I found some, but they were very difficult to navigate. As you all know, the ...
I have purchased Bible reading applications for PCs and laptops, and Palm Pilots. When I purchased my NOOK 1st Edition, I immediately began looking for Bibles that I could read on the NOOK. I found some, but they were very difficult to navigate. As you all know, the Bible is a special book. Except for versions like The Message, you don't usually read it from beginning to end. You want to be able to navigate to a specific book, chapter, and verse. The best NOOK Book versions allow you to link directly to version from the table of contents, but you have to keep returning to the table of contents to navigate to a new book, chapter, and verse. This Bible reader is an application, not a book. It does everything you would expect a Bible reader to do and does it extremely well. Navigating is intuitive and fast. You can add bookmarks, highlights, and notes. This application has some additional features that are very powerful and very uncommon. If you have an WiFi connection, you can stream every version that Tecarta sells without paying extra. Not only do they have all the most popular English language versions including NIV and NKJV, they also have Chinese, Korean, and Spanish language bibles. They also have some commentaries available. If you stream or purchase another translation, you can have two versions opened and synchronized side-by-side in landscape mode. This is an extremely useful feature for me. I was looking for an application that would allow me to easily switch between the Spanish NVI and the English NIV translations. This lets me read both of them side-by-side! The other mobile versions (which are harder to read on a smaller screen) allow you to download other translations as plug-ins. You can't do that with the NOOK Color version of this application. However, if you purchase the other translations as applications (which I did), you can access any translation from any other translation, so you still only need one icon on your home page. This is only a minor inconvenience. In practice, it works the way you would want it to. Tecarta gives you the ability to synchronize all of your Tecarta Bible readers on all of your mobile devices through their web site. I don't have this app installed on any other mobile devices, so I can't review this functionality. This is the funnest, easiest, most productive way to read the Bible that I have ever tried, and it supports all of the most popular versions of the Bible available. I cannot recommend it more highly.

posted by Gimel_Vav on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't rate it one star just because you're atheist...

Seriously. If you don't subscribe to it, find something more productive to do with your free time.

posted by jhoyer on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bible Reader I have Ever Used

    I have purchased Bible reading applications for PCs and laptops, and Palm Pilots. When I purchased my NOOK 1st Edition, I immediately began looking for Bibles that I could read on the NOOK. I found some, but they were very difficult to navigate. As you all know, the Bible is a special book. Except for versions like The Message, you don't usually read it from beginning to end. You want to be able to navigate to a specific book, chapter, and verse. The best NOOK Book versions allow you to link directly to version from the table of contents, but you have to keep returning to the table of contents to navigate to a new book, chapter, and verse. This Bible reader is an application, not a book. It does everything you would expect a Bible reader to do and does it extremely well. Navigating is intuitive and fast. You can add bookmarks, highlights, and notes. This application has some additional features that are very powerful and very uncommon. If you have an WiFi connection, you can stream every version that Tecarta sells without paying extra. Not only do they have all the most popular English language versions including NIV and NKJV, they also have Chinese, Korean, and Spanish language bibles. They also have some commentaries available. If you stream or purchase another translation, you can have two versions opened and synchronized side-by-side in landscape mode. This is an extremely useful feature for me. I was looking for an application that would allow me to easily switch between the Spanish NVI and the English NIV translations. This lets me read both of them side-by-side! The other mobile versions (which are harder to read on a smaller screen) allow you to download other translations as plug-ins. You can't do that with the NOOK Color version of this application. However, if you purchase the other translations as applications (which I did), you can access any translation from any other translation, so you still only need one icon on your home page. This is only a minor inconvenience. In practice, it works the way you would want it to. Tecarta gives you the ability to synchronize all of your Tecarta Bible readers on all of your mobile devices through their web site. I don't have this app installed on any other mobile devices, so I can't review this functionality. This is the funnest, easiest, most productive way to read the Bible that I have ever tried, and it supports all of the most popular versions of the Bible available. I cannot recommend it more highly.

    252 out of 271 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Excellent!

    My wife and I love this app. We are avid Nook users and Bible readers, and have been searching for a good Bible. This is great and much quicker than our NIV Study Bible. This allows for a side by side translation comparison and with wi-fi you have access to roughly a dozen translations and even a commentary. We didn't require an sd card either. This app is totally worth it.

    97 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Finally, they got it right.

    I've struggled with the poor navigation of standard Nook bibles for a year. They are fine to read but moving back and forth between the different books of the Bible and even chapters can be slow and awkward. The NIV Bible by Tecarta resolves all of these issues. It is an application designed to handle the special needs of navigation in Bible study. This is the Bible I've been wating for. I highly reccomend it to anyone.

    73 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Just what I've been waiting for....

    Easy to navigate, and having streamed access to other translations is truly awesome! You do need an sd card, I got one at walmart for $10. You can't buy a paper Bible for the price of the sd card and app, and also have access to the other versions. This app will make using my Nook in church so much easier!

    44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Great

    Finally a Bible that is easy to navigate! The other Bibles available for the Nook were difficult tto navigate. I love the NIV translation too!

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Simple to navigate and fast.

    I wanted a Bible app that didn't take a long time to access the verses I was looking for. This app is great for that and also easy to use. Love it.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Great bible for serious study and taking notes

    I love the features of this bible. The layout is logical and smart. Great for taking notes and keyword searches. This is my favorite app on the nook color. It also now works without the sd card.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    NIV84

    I wanted an app similar to the youversion bible app and I found this to be pretty good. However, I did find a flaw. This is not the newest edition of the NIV. This is the 1984 NIV. There are some slight changes between the two. Still good overall.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Love this Bible!

    All digital Bibles should be built like this one! I wish my study bible (also on my Nook) did what this one does. This has some nice perk features, but mainly it is the speed at which you locate Book, chapter and verse that makes this a standout. Sitting in church when the pastor calls out a verse, 3 taps on the screen and you are there! Love the fact you can put 'margin' notes anywhere and in any quantity. It has 4 different highlight colors so you can personalize certain verses. This has a reading 'scroll' feature which allow you to read and entire chapter without touching the screen. If there is any gripe I have, it sometimes will skip to the bottom of the chapter if I happen to tap it twice and sometimes the screen will jitter in scroll mode when I attempt to stop and back up the page. All in all it has very few 'kinks' and much more positives. I highly recommend it for daily bible readings!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    God is awesome

    God is awesome he died for u and me

    17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Fast look up verses!

    I have been looking at this app for awhile, but the few bad reviews kept me from buying it. Finally I just purchased it. Love it! Fast to navigate, will be easy to look up verses during church. My other bibles purchased are slower to get to verses while listening to the service. With this app it will be a snap!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome app!

    I wish i would have spent my money on this app instead of the more expensive ESV bible ebook! This has multiple translations and is very user friendly once you figure it out :) I say buy this one if you have any doubts about if you want the book or app. Trust me, you won't regret it! God bless

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!!

    I am always looking for a bible verse for every situation i am in an this was great!it was easy for me to navigate.this is a must have!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Must have

    This is the only nook app that lets you compare translations side by side. This is a must have for any serious Bible study.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Wonderful

    I have been looking for a bible that has chap. and verse selection in the table of contents. This is simple to navigate as well. Also, the words of Christ are in red. It is a pleasure to use this app.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Best Bible App Ever

    I love this app. Well worth the 4 or 5 bucks I paid for it. It does more than I expected it to do. Search for a certain word or phrase (like a concordance). If wi fi is available you can compare versions with just a few clicks. Make notes. Keeps your history of visit pages. Awesome.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Awesome app

    I take my nook to church now. I can highlight the passages and take notes!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Easy to navigate but needs some tweaks

    Much easier to get around in this app than the B&N book. Nice that there the ability to have side-by-side versions but they don't stay in sync as you scroll. Still trying to get the hang of thep taps needed to highlight and enter notes. Not that it's complicated by isn't straightforward. Takes a couple of taps. History feature is nice. Makes it possible to jump books and get back easily to where I was. Biggest feature is the navigation. 4 taps and I'm at a new book! I can be at a new place faster than a paper Bible. Downside? Due to ghe number of features the interface cn be complicated to use. Takes some study. Nice app, thank you.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Crashes+the+app

    App+worked+fine+with+just+the+KJV%2C+but+installing+the+NIV+crashes+the+app.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    After I learned how to navigate the app I loved it. It is easy

    After I learned how to navigate the app I loved it. It is easy to use in church when following the pastors message. Easy to highlight the stress points to be gone over when I am home reviewing. Love that I can compare other versions at the same time. Easy to switch to another passage or book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22