Customer Reviews for

NIV Bible

Average Rating 4
( 448 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

261 out of 280 people found this review helpful.

Best Bible Reader I have Ever Used

I have purchased Bible reading applications for PCs and laptops, and Palm Pilots. When I purchased my NOOK 1st Edition, I immediately began looking for Bibles that I could read on the NOOK. I found some, but they were very difficult to navigate. As you all know, the ...
I have purchased Bible reading applications for PCs and laptops, and Palm Pilots. When I purchased my NOOK 1st Edition, I immediately began looking for Bibles that I could read on the NOOK. I found some, but they were very difficult to navigate. As you all know, the Bible is a special book. Except for versions like The Message, you don't usually read it from beginning to end. You want to be able to navigate to a specific book, chapter, and verse. The best NOOK Book versions allow you to link directly to version from the table of contents, but you have to keep returning to the table of contents to navigate to a new book, chapter, and verse. This Bible reader is an application, not a book. It does everything you would expect a Bible reader to do and does it extremely well. Navigating is intuitive and fast. You can add bookmarks, highlights, and notes. This application has some additional features that are very powerful and very uncommon. If you have an WiFi connection, you can stream every version that Tecarta sells without paying extra. Not only do they have all the most popular English language versions including NIV and NKJV, they also have Chinese, Korean, and Spanish language bibles. They also have some commentaries available. If you stream or purchase another translation, you can have two versions opened and synchronized side-by-side in landscape mode. This is an extremely useful feature for me. I was looking for an application that would allow me to easily switch between the Spanish NVI and the English NIV translations. This lets me read both of them side-by-side! The other mobile versions (which are harder to read on a smaller screen) allow you to download other translations as plug-ins. You can't do that with the NOOK Color version of this application. However, if you purchase the other translations as applications (which I did), you can access any translation from any other translation, so you still only need one icon on your home page. This is only a minor inconvenience. In practice, it works the way you would want it to. Tecarta gives you the ability to synchronize all of your Tecarta Bible readers on all of your mobile devices through their web site. I don't have this app installed on any other mobile devices, so I can't review this functionality. This is the funnest, easiest, most productive way to read the Bible that I have ever tried, and it supports all of the most popular versions of the Bible available. I cannot recommend it more highly.

posted by Gimel_Vav on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't rate it one star just because you're atheist...

Seriously. If you don't subscribe to it, find something more productive to do with your free time.

posted by jhoyer on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Crashes+the+app

    App+worked+fine+with+just+the+KJV%2C+but+installing+the+NIV+crashes+the+app.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    App+udate

    I+was+not+able+to+open+this+app+without+an+sd+card.+Barnes+and+noble+wouldnt+do+anything+about+it+so+i+emailed+the+developer.+They+have+now+developed+an+update+to+fix+the+problem.+Hopefully+B%26N+will+offer+the+update+soon.+Keep+checking+the+b%26n++store+for+the+update+to+download.%0A

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Be aware

    I love the ease of navigating and the notes feature on this app. I was completely satisfied UNTIL I became aware of discrepancies between my NIV Study Bible (paper version) and the same verses in this ebook. Especially in the book of Psalm, they don't always say the same thing. Then I discovered that where LORD is used in the OT, it is many times written as Lord. Which denotes an entirely different meaning to the word. These are just a few of the discrepancies. This is NOT A TRUE NIV VERSION! If it's not the NIV version, just say what version it is? Please just be truthful about whatever version it truly is. Just want people to be aware!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I did not receive the version of the NIV which I expected and wa

    I did not receive the version of the NIV which I expected and was told that I had to re-purchase the app if I wanted that version. The instructions say you can purchase more bibles to use with the app but the "buy more bibles" button doesn't exist and the the support team just tells you to buy the app again with the bible you want. Very Disappointed!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Confused

    Is this the version from 1984 or the newest version. I'm looking for an NIV 84 because I heard there were a lit of changes in the newest version that are unnacceptable in my church.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Size Matters

    I got this app on a recommendation from a friend. She really likes it, but I have vision problems and there is no option to increase the font size. I haven't even been able to really use the app.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Stupid awsome app but i cant open it , got any ideas??

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Help

    How is it easier than the other nook bible..give me differences. Thanks

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Help

    Can anyone tell me if this has both old testament and new.want to download if if has both. Thanks

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Processing????????

    I purchased this app 3 days ago and it's still processing, what gives?????

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Memory+card

    Don%27t+purchase+this+app+unless+u+have+a+sd+memory+card.+I+can%27t+open+the+app+without+one+%3A%28+

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Not worth the price!

    This app is a waste of time and money. If you purchase it, don't expect it to be user friendly and convenient in anyway. Stay away from this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Can,t navigate

    I just got a new update and my bible app is not working at all. I can,t seem to move from the different books. It stays stuck on one chapter. The search botton does not work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Difficult to use

    How do you get to the table of content or any book you are not currently in?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Not good

    I didn't realize this would not compatible with Nook ! Money wasted...... jabezbible 2 Corinthians 4:17&18

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Frustrated

    I loved my app until i did an update. Since then ive lost my streamlined....and its much harder to navigate. Im about ready to delete it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Keeps Shutting Down

    This morning my app has decided to just shut down. It wont open for longer than 3 second until it has to "shut down unexpectedly". :( Please fix soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Not working off the net

    For some reason after being updated app does not work when off the net. This very annoying when I am at church and do not have access to net connection. It works fine otherwise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    It was fine until it was updated, now nothing works right. Liked

    It was fine until it was updated, now nothing works right. Liked it better before it was updated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Great update....but

    I love the latest version of this app. I found it to be very stubborn. It is not working for me. I can only use it when i'm wifi enabled. Which is new feature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2