Customer Reviews for

NIV Real-Life Devotional Bible for Women: Insights for Everyday Life

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!!!!!

I just bought this book for my nook. And it is really great over 3000 pages very nicely laid out. You can pick authors or topics skip to do what ever you want. They have 336 devotions! They also have about 3 additonal spripture verses to look up with each devotion and a...
I just bought this book for my nook. And it is really great over 3000 pages very nicely laid out. You can pick authors or topics skip to do what ever you want. They have 336 devotions! They also have about 3 additonal spripture verses to look up with each devotion and a link to skip to the next one. I would highly recommend this book, if you love the Bible and the Proverbs 31 ladies this IS the book for you!!!!
Heather

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy

If you have a Nook Simple Touch it wiil continually go unresponsive and/or crash. NIV is my favorite version of the bible but most reviews say none of them work right. I seriously need one NIV which will not make me want to throw my Simple Touch out the window.

posted by 17443427 on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great Book!!!!!

    I just bought this book for my nook. And it is really great over 3000 pages very nicely laid out. You can pick authors or topics skip to do what ever you want. They have 336 devotions! They also have about 3 additonal spripture verses to look up with each devotion and a link to skip to the next one. I would highly recommend this book, if you love the Bible and the Proverbs 31 ladies this IS the book for you!!!!
    Heather

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Don't buy

    If you have a Nook Simple Touch it wiil continually go unresponsive and/or crash. NIV is my favorite version of the bible but most reviews say none of them work right. I seriously need one NIV which will not make me want to throw my Simple Touch out the window.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lysa TerKeurst in her new book, "NIV Real Life Devotional B

    Lysa TerKeurst in her new book, "NIV Real Life Devotional Bible for Women" published by Zondervan provides us Insights for Everyday Life.

    From the back cover: You spilled coffee on your shirt before walking out the door. Ran late to your appointment. Snapped at your children, then regretted it all day. And spent an hour at the grocery store with no dinner on the table to show for your efforts.

    A typical day has come and gone.

    Life is full of obligations, emotions, and relationships. Some are life-giving, yet sometimes the weight and responsibility of everyday life is heavy to bear. As wives, mothers, friends, and daughters, we need to know we're not alone. We long for someone who understands--someone to help us find perspective.

    When our days are long, and our nights are restless, it's easy to think we should be able to handle things on our own. Or that no one struggles like we do. And that's when we need a friend ... to encourage us, to understand us, and help us become the woman God wants us to be.

    You'll find that friend on the pages of the NIV Real-Life Devotional Bible for Women. Filled with insightful daily devotions written by Lysa TerKeurst and the women at Proverbs 31 Ministries, the devotions in this Bible will meet you right where you are, in the good days and in the hard days, in the car pool line or the doctor's office. With God's truth as the foundation, this Bible will help you maintain a peace-filled place of balance in spite of your life's hectic pace.

    Features:

    The beauty and clarity of the New International Version (NIV) Bible
    366 daily devotions from the women at Proverbs 31 Ministries inspire you to live authentically as a woman of God
    Author biographies
    A helpful subject Index

    Lysa TerKeurst and a team of writers from Proverbs 31 Ministries have written 366 devotions to help find practical and spiritual insights from God's Word. The "NIV Real Life Devotional Bible for Women" is arranged in 366 readings that follow a daily format. The readings are not dated, which means that any days readings can be read whenever you can get to them. The devotions are also listed by topic in the Topical Index section. You can also follow a particular author by the Index of Devotions by Author. This a wonderful version of The Bible that we will use constantly. Lysa TerKeurst has done a truly magnificent job with it. Not only can we use it but we can give it as gifts to our friends and family.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from The B&B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Simple Bible - not what I'm looking for

    If you're looking for a bible to read on a daily basis with an occasional devotion deposited in the midst of your reading, then this might work for you. I'm looking for a good study Bible, one with a good concordance, maps, encyclopedia, tabs to navigate from book to book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    A lot to it - recommend.

    There is a lot to this book, my wife enjoys it every time she picks it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Great book

    Great book and nice author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Hey

    Where is the story?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Down to earth, a beautiful cover for both the hardcover and leat

    Down to earth, a beautiful cover for both the hardcover and leatherbound, I was really impressed with the "Real Life Devotional" Bible and geared for real life it is; Although I normally prefer the ESV translation, the NIV translation is beautiful written and with annotations along each page of the Bible, containing keywords and notes and devotionals that blended beautiful with the books, they were contained in, this is definitely a
    great devotional/study Bible for busy women.

    There are well known writers that have contributed to the devotionals, but for me, it is the visual appeal of this Bible,
    that really makes it stand out.

    The devotionals are beautiful and relevant, but the visual layout of the Bible makes this both a calming and
     visually friendly Bible for women and the duo-tone leather bound version, though I didn't get a chance to review
     that copy, looks to be easy to open and lay flat while in use, which is important for many using a Bible, since one
     doesn't want to worry about cracking the spine or having to use something to have the Bible lay flat open.


    Along with a list of devotions that are scattered within the Bible, the Bible also has the usual topical index
    to make finding key topics easier and the pages for the hardbound copy, are thick enough for highlighting,
    although there isn't much space for note taking, if one is prone to do that, so use of post it notes are more in favor.

    I don't use regular highlighters since the ones I use are either dry highlighters or colored pencils, so
     bleed through maybe possible with "wet" highlighters or pens, so care of what is used is recommended there.

    The font is approximately 7-8 point so its very easy on the eyes, particularly if bleary eye from just waking up
     or tired and ready to go to bed, so straining to read the words isn't a problem either with this Bible.

    With the devotions, they are like self-contained "Bible study bites" with "more verses to explore" at the lower left hand corner,
    so this really is a very self contained devotional Bible to either use with a Bible study or stand alone as both a source to read
    the books of the Bible with a devotional break contained in the Bible.

    Personally, this is a beautiful Bible....and a Bible that one would be very reluctant to use a bible cover with,
     due to the beautiful design of it; Though this isn't a reason to use a Bible, it still doesn't hurt how the aesthetics
     of the Bible was well thought out.


    The hardbound is actually "light to the touch" and easy to drop in one's purse or backpack for travel;
    The clarity of the devotionals combined with the Scripture, really has brought to busy women, a Bible that....
    "You spilled coffee on your shirt before walking out the door. Ran late to your appointment....." brings with it, the
    encouragement, clarity and comfort that our busy world needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was excited to receive this beautiful bible. It comes with a v

    I was excited to receive this beautiful bible. It comes with a very pretty dust jacket, and when I took it off the same print is on the hard cover.
    I've been using this bible for a few weeks, and greatly enjoying it.
    There are 365 days of devotionals done by the woman at Proverbs 31 Ministries, which I love reading. One of the authors is the President of Proverbs Lysa TerKeust...awesome!
    Should be noted that some people have mention that the print is small, now I wear glasses and no problems at all. This Bible is a definite keeper. It has become my daily to go to. I feel so blessed that I was given the opportunity to review. God is Good!

    I received this Bible through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Love it!

    I have to wait for a few minutes for it to load it. But man its worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great book

    If you are looking for a great book to help with your connection with god then this is the book for you share this gosple and all the contents with nonchristions because they need to know what god has planed for them because this book trlls you that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great deal but............

    The Bible is great but the devotionals are not fitting on the Nook correctly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1