BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

NIV Study Bible

Average Rating 3.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great

I don't know why there are so many complaints. Navigation is easy. The key is to read how to use the study bible at the very begining. It tells you how to navigate around the book. It tells you in the first pages what the different links are and do. I am having no tro...
I don't know why there are so many complaints. Navigation is easy. The key is to read how to use the study bible at the very begining. It tells you how to navigate around the book. It tells you in the first pages what the different links are and do. I am having no trouble with this bible at all. I have had it not want to open uo once but every book I have had on my nook has done that once in awhile. I just turn the nook off for a minute and turn it back on and it works fine. This is a good study bible. Has a lot of great study notes.

posted by 5160091 on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Needs to be more user friendly

It's very difficult to find where you want to be as there are no references along the bottom. Not easy to get to where you want to go. Also, I was unable to find a way to highlight and take notes. Disaapointed with product.

posted by 6146221 on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I dont know

    I dont know how it works because ir wont load and i cant turn the pages and i paid nine bucks for nothing i am really dissapointed with this and i want my money back

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    NOT USER FRIENDLY!

    I would have given this zero stars, but I couldn't! This Bible is VERY difficult to use! The New Testament is SO far down the contents that invariably I tap another book I didn't mean to open and then have to wait for it to upload, go back to contents and try to scroll thru all over again to find the book I'm looking for. Don't waste your money on this one. I hate to say that about a Bible, but this is a rip off!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not Good

    0.0 Because Had to restart Every Page. and It 50MB Come On! deleting Now, and They Lied about #1 NIV Bible, Cuz its the Worst Rated

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Doesn't work on Nook Simple Touch

    I cannot get it to load. It will open, then freeze and return to my home menu. Contacted B & N about this and they never responded. DO NOT BUY!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Does not work!

    I was very disappointed in the e-version of the NIV Study Bible. It would not load and hosed up my entire NOOK. The customer service rep at the B&N store in my city tried to help me, but was unable to resolve the issues. Online chat help and phone calls to Customer Service were an exercise in frustration. All they wanted to do was have me delete, reload, revamp my entire NOOK setup - on and on - I finally just had to demand that they remove it and reimburse me for it. I found out that there are multiple problems with study Bibles because they are difficult to configure for electronic devices. My advice - buy a print Bible!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    This is not good

    This book woulfnt open and i wsnt my nine bucks back!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Problems with opening

    The book will not open but nook support is aware of the issues and are working on the problems.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    This is a digrace to the Lord

    FIRST OF ALL THIS DESERVES NOT 1 SINGLE STAR! This will not open, and automaticly locks me out. I hate to say this about the bible but it is the plain truth. It is a waste of money and tech support didnt help. My advise to you is GET A PAPER BIBLE!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Don't order this because it will not load onto your Nook.


    Don't order this because it will not load onto your Nook. Even technical support could not help.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Does not work

    Locks up your nook

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Trouble

    Will not work

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Problems

    Do not get

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Progamming errors make it too cumbersome to use

    Almost impossible to navigate. Lots of progam errors cause the screen to change in unexpected ways. Content redirect don'f work. I have the hard book and love it. This soft book is a mess.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Er...

    I love the bible. LOVE IT. But this is impossible to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Not for the technically challenged!

    For a new Nook owner this was probably not the best version to buy. The footnotes and references are a little difficult to follow unless you are already skilled in Nook use. This makes the reading confusing instead of conducive for in-depth Bible study.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Don't buy it

    This bible is very difficult! Pages dont turn, its very hard to navigate . A waste of money!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Crap book

    Better off not buying from at all or anything from them

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Table of Contents

    Not sure how to use this item - there does not appear to be a table of contents to be able to navigate to various books of the bible?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Diappointed

    Disappointed in the whole thing. I thought I was getting just the book it doesn't load properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Nearly useless

    I gave it one star because it is, after all, the NIV Study Bible. But trying to get to a specific verse is so convoluted it is nearly impossible. The TOC only takes you to a list of books. Once you select a book you're taken to its Introduction - no chance of ever selecting a chapter and verse. The previous version of this NookBook did have at least a chapter picker, which was very wonky, but no verse picker. C'mon guys, it can't be that hard to fix this. In the meantime use the free YouVersion Bible app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3