Customer Reviews for

NOOK Charging Cable for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 2
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(88)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally have had no problems with mine, but for those who do, know this: it's just a micro USB to USB cable. It's not proprietary. You can buy them anywhere. Anyways, my 2 cents.

posted by d010060002 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Nook charging cable

I to have had my nook color for less than a year my cable broke 2 days ago where it plugs into the nook. I think it is because of the charging port being on the bottom of the nook and if you are like me and charge while you read cause you don't want to put it down yet, ...
I to have had my nook color for less than a year my cable broke 2 days ago where it plugs into the nook. I think it is because of the charging port being on the bottom of the nook and if you are like me and charge while you read cause you don't want to put it down yet, you most likely prop it on your leg or your chest while your reading. In this case I think it bends the charging cable causing it to break. But there is good news I called nook with this complaint and they are sending me a replacement charger for free. So if you haven't had your nook long and don't want to spend the money for a new charger call 1-800-the-book and see if they can help you.

posted by serenity8327 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    I've had my NOOK tablet more than 2yrs and use it on a regular b

    I've had my NOOK tablet more than 2yrs and use it on a regular basis. I've recently had to replace the USB cord. I was given a free replacement cord @BN store. No questions asked. One thing, the first sales associate thought the only way to get a cord would be to buy the car charger kit. A more knowledgeable associate, just gave me the cord.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    I see that I am not the only person having to get a THIRD cord f

    I see that I am not the only person having to get a THIRD cord for my Nook Color! This alone will make me think seriously before buying another Nook reader/ product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord cont

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord continuously breaks at the connection that goes into the Nook. B&N needs to fix this problem or even start giving their customers a free cord after the 2nd on breaks. This is becoming very expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2014

    Like all am frustrated. No other charger works with the Nook and

    Like all am frustrated. No other charger works with the Nook and the charger they sell with it keeps breaking. So what does that say? It is just a way to get more money from you. They know it doesn't work. The only place you can buy one is from Tech. support . They can't speak English. I refuse to give my credit card to anyone who can't speak English.The tech support person told me if I didn't get it from him I wouldn't find it anywhere else. Like he was bragging. I'm done. Shame on you Barnes & Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    I absolutely love the Nook color and have been using daily since

    I absolutely love the Nook color and have been using daily since 2011. I am very dissatisfied with the power cable. I am in the process of ordering my 4th cord. The part that plugs into the Nook is very cheaply made and very poorly designed, expensive too! I've tried other cables but can't find one that fits just right and works so have to keep buying the Nook cable. Barnes and Noble? I've been a loyal customer for many years - Shame on You!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    I have had my Nook Color since they came out in 2011. I love it

    I have had my Nook Color since they came out in 2011. I love it and never leave home without it. That said...I agree that the cord design is the worst. I have gone through 5 cords and now I cannot use it anymore. For those that say you can use any USB charger....apparently my Nook did not get that memo because I can't. My Nook is dead and I cannot get a charger to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    My third charging cable...what a rip-off. Will be purchasing APP

    My third charging cable...what a rip-off. Will be purchasing APPLE products (iPad) AND encouraging friends & family to purchase ANY OTHER reader but NOT a NOOk. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    It seems like at least most of the negative reviews are for the

    It seems like at least most of the negative reviews are for the Nook COLOR.
    The title I am seeing for this product is clearly labeled Nook GlowLight and Simple Touch. Maybe the difference has something to with it.
    Can someone with GlowLight please write a review and clearly state they also have a GlowLight?
     My ORIGINAL chord that I've been using for the past 2+ years recently died
    and I have been using my phone's charger which is also going weird because I carry it around a lot.
    I am currently trying to decide if I should bother getting a new one right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    This is the Second purchase of the charging cable on top of the

    This is the Second purchase of the charging cable on top of the one that came with the Nook! I wish it would charge with my phone charger,but it doesnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Nook color

    Nook color

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Well as the 77 other customers view for the charger cord I am ow

    Well as the 77 other customers view for the charger cord I am own my third cord!!! The last one didn't even last 6 months. And yes the customer service is terrible, it's always "well they all do that, it's probably the way YOU are handling it". Not happy but have to order one more cord until I can save up for my new Kindel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    If the ratings are so bad why aren't they fixing the problem. I

    If the ratings are so bad why aren't they fixing the problem. I just bought a replacement and charged the Nook twice and now the cable is broken!!! I can't return it because it's past 14 days.
    I will never buy another Nook product. I should have listened to people when they told me they don't care about their products. I refuse to get another cord because I'm sure it will not work just like
    this one (hence the poor ratings)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    the Nook charger is not what is expected to be. The end has brok

    the Nook charger is not what is expected to be. The end has broke on mine 5 times now and I am tired of replacing the cord. I have many books I want to read and cant because I cannot charge it. With what I read I need a daily charge and plug it up every night. VERY carefully. Not sure I will buy another nook or just get something different like the Kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Just got home from B&N with a NEW cord ~~ they've added a 'b

    Just got home from B&N with a NEW cord ~~ they've added a 'brace' :: there is a 3/16" rubber bracket that sits behind the Nook when you plug the USB jack in.  It no longer lights (which I don't like), but it seems more secure & more stable.  Also ~ for the 1st time in nearly 8 months, my NC seems to be charging WHILE it's turned on.  Fingers crossed.

    I'll give them a little bump for the new design, but really?? Why the *($% did it take so long?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Both of my charging cords have come apart and someone recommende

    Both of my charging cords have come apart and someone recommended using just your basic charging cable so I got one of those that adapts to everything and it doesn't work well with the nook. So you basically have to use the Nook charging cable to get a full charge. The charging cable that lights up is the best one and charges it the best, the one with just the N on it doesn't work very well and generic ones don't hardly work at all. This cable is a real downer especially since I read hours a day on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    I love my nook color, but hate the charger! Im ordering my 3rd o

    I love my nook color, but hate the charger! Im ordering my 3rd one now! Ithink they need to make serious changes to the design of the charger to make it more durable! This is getting ridiculous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    This will be my third cable.  Seems that other micro USB charger

    This will be my third cable.  Seems that other micro USB chargers won't work. Why???
    I know things ware but this is ridiculous.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    This product definitely needs to be improved... way too flimsy o

    This product definitely needs to be improved... way too flimsy on the nook end of the cord. I am very disappointed, BN could do a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    I went into my local B&N store to get another charging cable

    I went into my local B&N store to get another charging cable since this cable no longer works. I was informed that B&N no longer are making the charging cable for the Nook Color. The store didn't have any in stock and weren't sure if they would even get more in. This is my 3rd cable in less than 2 years. I guess when I can no longer charge my Nook I will be buying a Kindle. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    My Nook charger just broke and I have had my nook color since it

    My Nook charger just broke and I have had my nook color since it first came out. However, it has been broken for a while and JUST finally snapped off. I have tried using other USB cords and they don't charge my nook. It has to be charged with the Nook cord, right? With how quickly my cord broke I am not looking forward to buying another one...just to have it break. Does the Nook simple touch use the same cord to charge? I am tempted to buy the simple touch instead of spending all my money on multiple cords. This is a major design flaw and really disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8