Customer Reviews for

NOOK Charging Cable for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 2
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally have had no problems with mine, but for those who do, know this: it's just a micro USB to USB cable. It's not proprietary. You can buy them anywhere. Anyways, my 2 cents.

posted by d010060002 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

58 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

I'm ordering my third cord for my Nook color. The end that goes

I'm ordering my third cord for my Nook color. The end that goes into the Nook is very flimsy. I also think there is something wrong with the outlet on the Nook, but they are unwilling to admit it when I talk to them. We'll see if this works but I'm not holding my bre...
I'm ordering my third cord for my Nook color. The end that goes into the Nook is very flimsy. I also think there is something wrong with the outlet on the Nook, but they are unwilling to admit it when I talk to them. We'll see if this works but I'm not holding my breath.

posted by ksfarmmom on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Contact the Better Business Bureau and fill out a complaint. It

    Contact the Better Business Bureau and fill out a complaint. It is amazing what kind of response you get from businesses when you do this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord cont

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord continuously breaks at the connection that goes into the Nook. B&N needs to fix this problem or even start giving their customers a free cord after the 2nd on breaks. This is becoming very expensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    I've had my NOOK tablet more than 2yrs and use it on a regular b

    I've had my NOOK tablet more than 2yrs and use it on a regular basis. I've recently had to replace the USB cord. I was given a free replacement cord @BN store. No questions asked. One thing, the first sales associate thought the only way to get a cord would be to buy the car charger kit. A more knowledgeable associate, just gave me the cord.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2015

    This is the 2nd time I have needed to replace this cable. Trie

    This is the 2nd time I have needed to replace this cable.
    Tried to buy a new one and it is out of stock and Nook is not sure when they will be available.

    I have over 400 books on this Nook and have decided to buy a Kindle to replace my Nook. I think it is very disturbing that cable is not available when it so often needs to replace, They have cables available for the newer and more expensive models but not for the color. Shame on them. They have just lost my business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2015

    i want to order this item

    i want to order this item

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2015

    This is my third charging cord for my nook. I feel that they are

    This is my third charging cord for my nook. I feel that they are made poorly and that they should be replaced by the manufacturer. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2015

    If I could rate the charger and the customer service at less tha

    If I could rate the charger and the customer service at less than zero I would. I ordered the wrong charger apparently, so I called customer support. I was told after 3 phone calls and 2 hours, that it would be 6 weeks before they MIGHT be in stock. I was then transferred to digital support and apparently, the woman that is supposed to help you keeps saying "We don't have that charger in stock (REALLY) and there is no other product we can recommend for your device. BASICALLY THEN WHY DO YOU SELL A PRODUCT THAT YOU DONT HAVE REPLACEMENT ACCESSORIES FOR? So until May I have a $200 paperweight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2015

    I have been trying to get a charger for my Nook and none of the

    I have been trying to get a charger for my Nook and none of the stores have them in stock and I have called customer service and they say they are out to call back in two to 3 weeks. I have tryed other chargers but they do not work. i was told it has to be a nook charger. So disappointed in Nook right now. I understand you are coming out with a new product and wnat to promote it but there are still people out here with perfectly good Nooks that are not ready to upgrade to a new product. Not fair to us and I would not buy one of the newer ones now with all of the problems over a simple charger 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2015

    I've run through three or four of these in a couple of years. T

    I've run through three or four of these in a couple of years. The end that goes into the Nook Color is very flimsy and

    breaks or bends easily. The local B&N in Bellingham, WA does not have any, says that they cannot get them. They gave me a number to call and polite guy on other end says that they are unavailable except in the store. Since I have read just about all in my Nook library, I think I will abandon the thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Why this company would not have the charging cable is beyond irr

    Why this company would not have the charging cable is beyond irresponsible, come on Barnes and Noble, get it together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    I am trying to purchase a new charger for my nook color tablet.

    I am trying to purchase a new charger for my nook color tablet. I have only had this nook for 3 years but this is the third time have had to purchase one because they break so easy. I went to Barnes and Noble store (which is a 50 mile drive) to purchase one and was told to order one on line. Now I find online is telling me to go to store to purchase one. What gives here. Very very unhappy with service from Barnes and noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2015

    I am on my 3rd charging cable. I went to the store and they did

    I am on my 3rd charging cable. I went to the store and they didn't have any there. So I ordered one on line. I guess this is just a sign of the times. I would hate to see the only book store in our area go out of business, but if they can't stand by their product, how can they expect to keep their customers. I had choices when I bought my eReader. I chose the Nook partly for loyalty to the book company. I am not sensing they don't have any loyalty to their customers. The gentleman at the store said that they know it is a fautly product. If so, then why aren't they replacing them for free, or at least at cost?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    I love the Nook itself. Very easy to read, good size, and used t

    I love the Nook itself. Very easy to read, good size, and used to charge fairly quickly. However....like most everyone else on here, I have complaints about the charging cable. I bought my Nook in 2011, and haven't been using my original charger in a long time because it quit working. Using generic chargers doesn't work too well...the salesperson in the store said this was because the metal end that goes into the Nook needs to be longer than what the generic chargers have...I need one specifically for a Nook. But gee, B&N no longer carry them in the store, you have to order them online...IF you can figure out just which one you need to buy. The chargers should still be available in the stores...this is ridiculous!!! I may just have to start using my Verizon tablet, which just happens to have the Kindle application on it. The same books I buy are less expensive off Amazon anyway. But I really like my Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    I went to a local B&N store to buy a new cord, they told me

    I went to a local B&N store to buy a new cord, they told me they don't carry it any more and tried to sell me a new reader. I found out that the power cord that I use to charge my mobile phone also works with my Nook Color. i don't know the name of the kind of cord but you can get these in any electronic stores, just bring in your old cord and tjhey will match up the correct plug. I find it takes longer to charge but it works. I will also end up buying a new battery from someplace else, I like my Nook Color. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    We have had 3 nooks in our house for less than a year and all ha

    We have had 3 nooks in our house for less than a year and all have had to replace the charger cord multiple times. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Third times a charm from the comments I see.

    Third times a charm from the comments I see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    ok you know what I have my Nook and use it frequently and I have

    ok you know what I have my Nook and use it frequently and I have never broke the cord it's working going on 4 and a half years now at least a couple of 1 star reviews seem to be the same person complaining about the same thing thats the problem with anonymous posting you can post over and over again. on top of that those of us that haven't broke the cables or those that are smart enough to use a standard micro usb instead of paying significantly more on here aren't going to visit and leave a review normally, I'm only here cause I ordered a overstock simple touch that is coming without a charger  (my guess someone broke theirs and went to the store and the rep opened another box and gave them the charger just to make them happy) I just wanted to make sure it was a standard micro usb and saw the horrible comments and had to leave one of my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    I love my nook, but the charging cords just don't work.  Three y

    I love my nook, but the charging cords just don't work.  Three years and I am ordering my 7th cord.  BN please fix problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    First, let me say that the people I spoke with were very profess

    First, let me say that the people I spoke with were very professional. Although they were professional, they did not want to replace the cord to our color nook. And for a good reason, it was out of warranty. The first fellow was very sorry that I had had the problem but he couldn't do anything,, and passed me to supervisor. The supervisor was very nice and concerned, but just as I stated before, "no we cannot replace the cord for free, it is out of warranty." Here is where you will note the difference in the conversation. Here is where we take a note on how customer service works. All the fussing in the world doesn't change anything, nothing. Customer service rule #1: If your warranty is out, they don't have to do anything about it...nothing, and you can't make them. But if you can convince them, without a b**** session, you are not gonna get anything near what you are asking for. Customer service rule #2: You have to convince them that they need your business to stay in business. Customer service rule #3:remain calm and explain how you appreciate their products and can't live without them. Customer service rule #4:If you are unable to get a satisfactory resolution, again, be polite and reiterate your position one more time. If after that you don't obtain satisfactory service? Tell them that you will not recommend their products or services to ANYONE, EVER!!! and politely exit the call...(HINT:they replaced my cord, and I will continue to do business with them and be happy about it...hope this helps, but remember they are doing their job. It is their job to save their company money, but also to assure return customers as well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Cleaning out the closet I found the two Nook Colors...ooh the jo

    Cleaning out the closet I found the two Nook Colors...ooh the joy we had when the kids got those in 2011. But five chargers later, we put them away a year ago. I now am back to the drawing board and finally looking online to see I am not the only one. Wow, the last five times I just simply walked in and bought a new charger kit for $25. Not this time. Do I use my settlement money for a new cord, nope not a chance B&N would love that. What junk. Pissed. And good thing I am a Paralegal and my two brothers are lawyers, I think it's finally time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9