Customer Reviews for

NOOK Charging Cable for NOOK GlowLight and NOOK Simple Touch

Average Rating 2
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(103)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally

It looks like people really don't like the charger. I personally have had no problems with mine, but for those who do, know this: it's just a micro USB to USB cable. It's not proprietary. You can buy them anywhere. Anyways, my 2 cents.

posted by d010060002 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Nook charging cable

I to have had my nook color for less than a year my cable broke 2 days ago where it plugs into the nook. I think it is because of the charging port being on the bottom of the nook and if you are like me and charge while you read cause you don't want to put it down yet, ...
I to have had my nook color for less than a year my cable broke 2 days ago where it plugs into the nook. I think it is because of the charging port being on the bottom of the nook and if you are like me and charge while you read cause you don't want to put it down yet, you most likely prop it on your leg or your chest while your reading. In this case I think it bends the charging cable causing it to break. But there is good news I called nook with this complaint and they are sending me a replacement charger for free. So if you haven't had your nook long and don't want to spend the money for a new charger call 1-800-the-book and see if they can help you.

posted by serenity8327 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I'm ordering my third cord for my Nook color. The end that goes

    I'm ordering my third cord for my Nook color. The end that goes into the Nook is very flimsy. I also think there is something wrong with the outlet on the Nook, but they are unwilling to admit it when I talk to them. We'll see if this works but I'm not holding my breath.

    51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    As in previous comments, this is my 3rd cord that i purchase for

    As in previous comments, this is my 3rd cord that i purchase for my nook color, I do love my nook and I have had it for a while but the cord is very poorly designed. I wish that they could come up with a better design and send us loyal customers new ones.
    Come On Barnes and Noble create a better solution.

    36 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Now I understand why Barnes and Nobles continues to lose money.

    Now I understand why Barnes and Nobles continues to lose money. What terrible customer service as well. The charging cable for our nook color which was purchased in December 2011 broke. The metal piece on the end fell out. I went to the local store and they had none in stock so they ordered one for me. The next day I get an email stating B&N can't fulfill my order and to call the stored again. I did and they refer me to B&N 800#. First lady told me I have warranty until 11/2013 even though I told her I did not buy the extended warranty. She said since under warranty their digital/technical dept has some they can mail. Person in that dept. informs me I am not covered under warranty which I already knew. He said it shows they have some in stock so he transfers me to customer service who tells me they are out of stock and they will be available in 2 to 3 weeks. She said they just ran our a few minutes ago even though I received an email yesterday that said they could not fulfill my order. To sell a product 15 months ago and now not provide replacement parts for it is terrible. Why would I ever consider upgrading to an HD nook? I won't. I will stay with the Apple products from here on.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    The Nook Color chargers are the wost they have made and you don'

    The Nook Color chargers are the wost they have made and you don't have to be a gorilla for it to go bad JBUMP, they are made very poorlu

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    This is the third time I am needing to by this. It really SUCKS!

    This is the third time I am needing to by this. It really SUCKS!! I have been really careful with it but it just doesn't plug in all the way while charges so it ends up bending and breaking!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Very poor.

    Have had my nook simple touch for only a few weeks, and the plug no longer stays in to charge. Same as most other reviews, unfortunately. Obviously very poor design. Am having to tape the charge cord onto the nook, and even that's not working well.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I purchased my Nook Color in December 2011. I'm about to purcha

    I purchased my Nook Color in December 2011. I'm about to purchase what will be my 5th charging cable. The sales people at my local B&N recognize that it has a poor design. But what can they do? My charging cable is always on the nightstand and never gets carried around. The only 'misuse' it gets is when it's charging and I"m reading. I've come to enjoy the Nook Color but the charing cable issues leave me to believe I need to consider switching to Kindle before I invest in any other books for my Nook.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    After one year of average use, my cord broke. It was very diffi

    After one year of average use, my cord broke. It was very difficult to plug into the device. Poorly designed.
    Felt duped by B&N, when I could not purchase a new cord in the store. Of course, a newly designed Nook along with a new cord design. I agree with all of the other 1 star reviewers!


    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    If only any micro USB cable would work, I wouldn't be so peeved.

    If only any micro USB cable would work, I wouldn't be so peeved. Only Motorola cables (from my phone) seem to work for it to connect to my PC, and the device doesn't charge from that, nor connected to a USB wall charger. It's very frustrating to have to scramble to get a replacement in order not to interrupt my usage of my NOOK Color, which I love.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I have to replace the cord for my Nook Color for the third time.

    I have to replace the cord for my Nook Color for the third time. I went into my local BN store, expressed my frustation of the cord's design flaw, the micro USB is loose and ultimately bends/breaks, upon which the clerk shared with me that if I called Nook support they would send me a replacement at 'no cost' to me. I just got off the phone with a support representative, who could barely speak English, and had to explain to this individual multiple times what the issue was, what was told to me at the store. Upon being on hold for a short time he came back and said that I would have to pay for a replacement cord. I told him I was not going to purchase a third cord due to the micro USB pins breaking due to their design flaw. The NOOK HD's cord has a much better design. However, that won't necessarily change my mind if from switching to a different ereader brand. Poor customer service and poor design of essential equipment = unhappy end user!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    I again have to order another charging cable as the end that goe

    I again have to order another charging cable as the end that goes into the Nook has come apart. B&N doesn't seem to care. Which makes you wonder how poorly made is their other products. This is my 3rd one in 2 years.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I am horribly upset about this order. I placed a order for 2 of

    I am horribly upset about this order. I placed a order for 2 of these on June 16th. I paid for express delivery, I checked checked the
    status of my order it is not due to be delivered till June 21st. It was supposed to be 2-3 days. I have purchased a book almost every day over the course of the last month for my Nook Color. I will not be buying anything for a good long while. I dont expect special service, but I do expect a company to do what it says it will do!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    So...unfortunately I must leave a not so satisfied customer note

    So...unfortunately I must leave a not so satisfied customer note. The cord/cable that the nook tablet uses is poorly made. It no longer charges my nook. I went to Barnes & Nobles and I was told they no longer carry the cords and that it would be better to order one on line. However, "they may not carry my cord any longer because of the new Nook HD. I personally will know longer invest in this product. I have decided to go to the Kindle.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    This will be the fourth charging cable for my NOOK. The first w

    This will be the fourth charging cable for my NOOK. The first was free because of design issues. The next three I have had to pay for and they all break at the metal piece that plugs into the NOOK. I am not sure I will by a fifth, or update to a different NOOK. When is Barnes and Noble going to read these reviews and fix the power cord and let us know that the design of it is fixed once and for all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Sorry to say that I believe this product is of poor quality. I

    Sorry to say that I believe this product is of poor quality. I am beginning to think that both the plug on the cable and the outlet on the Nook are both poorly made. It's a shame, because I really enjoy using my Nook. Probably will not purchase another B&N Nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    SAME PROBLEM WILL BE BUYING MY THIRD CHARGER!!!! When is B&

    SAME PROBLEM WILL BE BUYING MY THIRD CHARGER!!!! When is B&N going to FIX this? For now I am
    reading printed books!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Cheapest piece of crap ever. Have replaced this cord on both my

    Cheapest piece of crap ever. Have replaced this cord on both my Nook Colors at least a half dozen times. Complete GARBAGE. Customer service says "NOOK charging cable are very delicate. It is suggesteble to use them smoothly. I suggest you to not to use your NOOK while is connected to charging." Barnes and Noble KNOWS this is an issue and simply doesn't care enough about its consumers to rectify the problem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord cont

    I am also ordering my 4th cord for my Nook color. This cord continuously breaks at the connection that goes into the Nook. B&N needs to fix this problem or even start giving their customers a free cord after the 2nd on breaks. This is becoming very expensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2015

    I am on my 3rd charging cable. I went to the store and they did

    I am on my 3rd charging cable. I went to the store and they didn't have any there. So I ordered one on line. I guess this is just a sign of the times. I would hate to see the only book store in our area go out of business, but if they can't stand by their product, how can they expect to keep their customers. I had choices when I bought my eReader. I chose the Nook partly for loyalty to the book company. I am not sensing they don't have any loyalty to their customers. The gentleman at the store said that they know it is a fautly product. If so, then why aren't they replacing them for free, or at least at cost?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Contact the Better Business Bureau and fill out a complaint. It

    Contact the Better Business Bureau and fill out a complaint. It is amazing what kind of response you get from businesses when you do this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6