Customer Reviews for

NOS4A2

Average Rating 4.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Pages aren't cut off.

The end of certain chapters are purposely left as unfinished sentences because the title of the next chapter finishes the sentence which isn't hard to figure out if you're actually paying attention to what you're reading. However there is missing artwork that can be fou...
The end of certain chapters are purposely left as unfinished sentences because the title of the next chapter finishes the sentence which isn't hard to figure out if you're actually paying attention to what you're reading. However there is missing artwork that can be found in the print edition and not the ebook. Its absence doesn't take too much away from this amazing story. Filled with action, terror, humor and heart this is a fantastic supernatural journey from a master storyteller. Be warned though, you will never look at Christmas the same away again after reading this.

posted by 4157005 on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Great book, nook version incomplete

Im about 60 pages in and the book itself good. However, three of the chapters so far have been cut off, literally the same as if pages were missing. Unacceptable digital copy that b&n released, very unprofessional.

posted by 6359186 on May 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Pages aren't cut off.

    The end of certain chapters are purposely left as unfinished sentences because the title of the next chapter finishes the sentence which isn't hard to figure out if you're actually paying attention to what you're reading. However there is missing artwork that can be found in the print edition and not the ebook. Its absence doesn't take too much away from this amazing story. Filled with action, terror, humor and heart this is a fantastic supernatural journey from a master storyteller. Be warned though, you will never look at Christmas the same away again after reading this.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    The best release ever for this author. Instantly grabs you in t

    The best release ever for this author. Instantly grabs you in the first paragraph and does not let you go. The story is very well crafted with tight characterization and brilliant storytelling. Should be an award winner.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Amazing!

    I am reading this book as an ARC. Simply put this novel is terrifying!
    Well done Joe Hill.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    4.25 stars. Well, I really wanted to give this novel five stars

    4.25 stars.

    Well, I really wanted to give this novel five stars, but I just can't. There is so much to like here: the characters are memorable, the horror is creepy, and it's a cool story. But a few flaws take away from what could have been a masterpiece.

    The novel centers on Vic, a girl who uses her bike to ride through the "inscapes" of her mind and find lost things and go strange places. She winds up in Christmasland, the home of Charles Talent Manx, who is a notorious child abductor and owns a Rolls-Royce Wraith with license plates that read NOS4A2, short for Nosferatu. In Manx's inscape, Christmas ornaments hang in the pines and firs near his home, Christmas Carols play continuously, and children -his victims- are turned into what amounts to soulless demons.

    Vic is haunted throughout life by her encounter with Manx, and isn't able to function as a mother or would-be wife. She convinces herself the "inscapes" never happened, that it was all a delusion, but then weird things start happening, like Manx's body disappearing; like a girl Vic had met in her childhood delusions showing up at her door and telling her Manx has escaped from a hospital, despite the fact he's dead.

    Thus begins Vic's showdown with Manx, which takes up the rest of the novel.

    Everything in this novel is excellent but for a few things that began to grate on me after a while. One, it's obvious Hill set out to write a very long novel, and it becomes clear after a while that pages are padded out just for length. Second, and most of all, Charles Manx comes off much more cartoonish than scary in the second half of the book, which dilutes the tension and takes away from the horror the reader is supposed to be experiencing. Additionally, the padded length makes scenes that should be intense feel flabby and bloated during the climax.

    Still, this is a very fun horror novel with many dark themes, and is worth the ride. I'm really looking forward to Hill's next one.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No formatting errors. The chapters end as they are supposed to.

    The formatting is fine. Chapters end with "unfinished" sentences that are concluded by the title of the next chapter. You are supposed to turn the page and keep reading.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Loved it!

    For horror to really work, you have to care about the characters, and Joe Hill created a stellar set of characters in NOS4A2. I laughed, cried, held my breath, grimaced & cringed, and twisted my hair out during this 700page gem. I am so sad it's over for me, but, wow, what a ride!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    The chapters...

    ...are not cut off. It is intentional. Go back and read again and you will see they segue into the next chapter's title and then continue the story. Excellent read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Clarification

    Very good. For those concerned, the chapters don't end mid sentence exactly. They continue onto the title of the next page. A bit awkward, but not a mistake or corruption.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Excellent book by Joe Hill. I have really enjoyed his previous b

    Excellent book by Joe Hill. I have really enjoyed his previous books, but this one puts him on another level. The characters are well developed, the story fast-paced and hooks you from the first page. Extremely original as far as horror novels go, particularly vampire novels. Highly recommended.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Heart Shaped Box and Horns were excellent, but NOS4A2 is on a wh

    Heart Shaped Box and Horns were excellent, but NOS4A2 is on a whole different level.

    I can't wait to see what's coming next from Joe Hill!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Great book, nook version incomplete

    Im about 60 pages in and the book itself good. However, three of the chapters so far have been cut off, literally the same as if pages were missing. Unacceptable digital copy that b&n released, very unprofessional.

    7 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    They say don't judge a book by it's cover, but I will admit seei

    They say don't judge a book by it's cover, but I will admit seeing the cover of this book, with the spelling of the title as it were, is what first drew me to this book. I was looking for something new and a new author and eventually I decided on this one. I was not disappointed. Very well paced and dark Joe Hill has certainly shown himself to be a talented writer. The characters truly come to life in this story and I am finding it hard to put this one down. If you are a fan of Stephen King (yes, they are related I know) and Koontz you will surely enjoy this one. Hill stands on his own as a great horror/dark fantasy writer.

    Oh, and not to kick a dead horse, but nothing was misprinted or left off of any editions. The trailing off was done intentionally and it is quite apparent the title of the next chapter flows with the 'cut off' sentence. and anyway, giving a book a 1 star review based on anything B&N did or did not do is ridiculous. This is about the book, not the website.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Nook version not incomplete

    Its meant to be that way. When the chapter ends you can pick up the last few words of the sentence on the next page in the title of the chapter.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great

    This book is awesome. The chapters cutting off at the end like that is on purpose. It shows how the characters are jumping from one spot to the next. The chapter name following the previous chapter name finishes the previous chapters sentence. Know what you are talking about before you say a company is unprofessional

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Joe Hill has done it again!!! ( son of Stephen King ) He has now

    Joe Hill has done it again!!!
    ( son of Stephen King ) He has now made his own mark in fiction writing. 
    Simply the best read of the summer.
    Have 2 days ready to read this book of 700 pages, you will NOT be able to put down for very long!
    Thank you Joe! Your now right up there with the big boys!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Given time will surpass his dad.

    Dark and gripping. Already anxiously awaiting a new novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    @ Anonymous who reviewed the ebook as having chapters cut off a


    @ Anonymous who reviewed the ebook as having chapters cut off and called Barnes & Noble "unprofessional" all digital versions of this book and actual print editions of this book have the errors you mentioned. Many chapters in the book end mid-sentence. The publisher has been notified of the problem. We should expect a reprint and an updated ebook file. Or, who knows, maybe Joe Hill intended the chapters to end that way. We will find out.



    Recommendation: Check your facts before calling a company "unproffesional"

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    NOS4A2 ( nosferatu) is a crazy creepy Christmastime thriller fro

    NOS4A2 ( nosferatu) is a crazy creepy Christmastime thriller from Joe Hill. It's a dark journey for young Vic as she travels between two worlds via her bike. Manx is a maniacal nutcase that keeps kids locked up at Christmas land. Vic is on a mission to end his wickedness.

    Contrary to some of the reviews, the chapters look like they are cut off, but in fact they are continued and completed with the chapter title on the next page. It's just more of the creative genius from Joe Hill. .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    His best yet.

    I don't even know what to say except it was a scary thrill ride on every page. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Joe Hill has earned his place on my favorites shelf with this on

    Joe Hill has earned his place on my favorites shelf with this one. Wonderfully creepy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13